October Wrap Up

It’s the end of October and I’m kind of just sitting here wondering where the month went! I feel like this month went incredibly fast and the end of the year is fast approaching. Anyway, I read 8 books this month and I’m quite proud of that despite the fact that I’ve read much more before because my mocks are fast approaching and revision has basically taking over my life. Let’s get on with the actual books I read.

The first four books I read this month were the 2nd,3rd,4th and 5th books in the Covenant series by Jennifer L.Armentrout; Pure, Deity, Apollyon and Sentinel. I really enjoyed all of these and this series is just a whole load of fun. I wrote a whole series review of it so click here if you want to read that. I gave each book 4 out of 5 stars because while I enjoyed them, they weren’t some of the best books I’ve ever read.

The next book I read this month was The Blood Of Olympus by Rick Riordan, the final book in the Heroes of Olympus series. I really loved this book because Rick Riordan can do no wrong. He wrote another fabulous book that was amusing yet still heart breaking at times. However, one complaint I did have about the book was that even though it was a great book, it wasn’t the best conclusion to the series. I felt that it was too easy at the end and we also didn’t really get to see happy endings for our favourite characters. The only character whose ending I was satisfied with and that I felt had a nice ending was Nico. I still ended up giving this book 5 out of 5 stars because I did really love it.

The next book I read was My True Love Gave to Me by various authors but all edited by Stephanie Perkins. This was one of my most anticipated books of the year and it did not disappoint. I loved most of the stories and I didn’t want them to end. I wrote a whole post about it so if you are interested, click here to read it but I of course gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

The next book I read was Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle which was another book that I was looking forward to reading and it was great. I loved the story and it was the perfect romance book however the ending did slightly annoy me because it was quite open. However, Rebecca Serle did tweet me saying that there was going to be a sequel so I’m very excited for it. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars and I did a whole review on it so click here if you are interested.

The final book I read this month was Half Bad by Sally Green. After my friend kept recommending this book to me, I finally picked it up and to be honest I’m not sure how I felt. It was interesting and the story line was great however I didn’t feel anything towards the characters at all. Also at the start it kept changing from first person to second person narrative and that really bugged me. I ended up giving this book 3 out of 5 stars because I’m unsure about how I felt towards it.

Favourite book of the month: My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins.

Books at each star level:

1 star: 0 books

2 stars: 0 books

3 stars: 1 book

4 stars: 5 books

5 stars: 2 books

Overall, this was a good reading month I think because I enjoyed most of them. Hopefully I’ll read some great books in November too. I’ll see you soon with another post.

Sofia

 

Leave a comment