Befikre Movie Review

befikre-movie-posterGenre: Romantic Comedy
Director: Aditya Chopra
Writer: Aditya Chopra
Producer: Aditya Chopra
Cast: Ranveer Singh, Vaani Kapoor
Rating: 3.5. out of 5
IMDB
Blurb:
On a whirlwind affair in Paris, Dharam and Shyra are both completely Befikre (Carefree). And to ensure they don’t spoil the fun, they’ve agreed to never say “I love you”.
It’s the most romantic city in the world, and they’re having the time of their lives. Neither of them wants things to turn emotional and sentimental, and they’ve resolved to keep daring each other to go bigger and bolder – they’re going to live life to the fullest, and nothing will get in their way.
Be Befikre with Ranveer Singh and Vaani Kapoor, on a thrilling romantic adventure from director Aditya Chopra.


Review:

Befikre to me is a classic romantic Bollywood love story with a slightly modern twist, so I was expecting to love it and I did really enjoy it but not as much as I wanted to.

The reason that I loved this film was definitely because of Ranveer Singh. If he wasn’t in this film, I wouldn’t have gone to watch it and I wouldn’t have loved it as much. Ranveer Singh is his character Dharam. As Aditya Chopra said himself, if Ranveer Singh didn’t exist then this film wouldn’t have happened. Ranveer is one of my favourite actors of all time and he showed in this film how amazingly versatile he is. After coming off of a period war film last year in Bajirao Mastani, going into a happy free spirited rom com after may have been a risk but it worked as it showed how wonderful it is.  Ranveer just has the perfect facial expressions and he portrays Dharam perfectly.

Vaani Kapoor on the other hand failed to impress me. I watched Shuddh Desi Romance last year and I was unimpressed with the film as a whole. When I heard that Vaani was cast in Befikre, I thought maybe I haven’t seen her full potential if Aditya Chopra casted her in his own film. However, I still don’t think she is that great. Her acting was a bit bland and meh. Maybe it was because Ranveer just owned the screen and overshadowed her but she didn’t stand out. I will admit though that she can dance incredibly well. She matched Ranveer very well in terms of dancing ability. To me, she just seems a lot like Katrina Kaif but she is a slightly better actor than Katrina.

I love Aditya Chopra films. His debut film was Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge which is one of my favourite films of all time. He followed that up with Mohabbatein which I also loved and Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi was okay. However, Befikre to me is his worst film but that’s not to say that it is a bad film. He had a lot to live up to and it slightly faltered, compared to hi previous film.

One of the other reasons besides Ranveer that I really loved this film is due to the amazing soundtrack provided by Vishal – Shehkar. I’m obsessed with the songs, I’ve had them on repeat since they dropped except for Labon Ka Karobaar which I’m not really a fan of. The videos to the songs are also amazing due to the amazing dance skills of the two leads.

Another reason why this film was great was because of the humour. If nothing, this film will make you laugh your head off, purely due to Ranveer’s comic timing and the great jokes written into the script.

 

The first half of this film was great, except for the back and forth time jumps that occurred. I would have preferred it to have happened in chronological order. Following that the second half was slightly off towards the middle/end. As the humour disappeared, the film faltered. However, it picked up again when the humour kicked back in. The dramatic sections just failed to work for me.

The film is set in Paris and it has made me want to go there and see all of these sights. What Yash Chopra did for Switzerland, Aditya Chopra has now done for Paris as I assume that there will be a flux of Indian tourists to Paris now.

Can we just talk about how this film didn’t get censored? How did it not get censored? The Indian censor board is well renowned for cutting out even the slightest kissing scenes in films yet this one passed perfectly fine with 20 + kisses and Ranveer’s butt making an appearance. What’s up with this?

It is hard to place why I didn’t love this film. The trailer was slightly misleading as they all portrayed it as a light hearted romantic comedy but as with most Bollywood love stories, it had melodrama in it. For me, Befikre is a fun film that I would watch again and again to cheer me up but that’s about it. It hasn’t become one of my favourite films of all time but it’s definitely funny and you will have a fun time whilst watching it.

 

Leave a Reply

