Covenant series by Jennifer L Armentrout

For the last two or three weeks, I have been reading the Covenant series by Jennifer L Armentrout. I got the first book, Half Blood, for review and I was meant to review it but I almost immediately starting reading Pure, the second book in the series. I started binge-reading the series and I couldn’t remember what happened in which book so I thought I’d just do a series review. Now my overall opinion of this series is that it is a good solid 4 star series. It wasn’t the best series in the world and it was quite predictable some times but I did keep reading it because I just wanted to know what happened. Now let’s talk about some of the main characters.

Alex is the protagonist and she is very much like Rose from Vampire Academy. Actually, the first book in this series was basically almost an exact copy of the first Vampire Academy book which made me like it a lot less but as the series progressed, it started becoming its own thing. Anyway back to Alex. I did really enjoy her as a character because she was strong and kick ass. However, she did make so many stupid decisions and I was just facepalming a lot of the time because she just did stupid things. She also forcused a lot on Aiden when she should have really been paying attention to the horrible situations she was in.

Every time she thought about Aiden in the middle of a fight,
Every time she thought about Aiden in the middle of a fight,

Aiden was quite a swoon worthy main character. At first I didn’t like him because he was quite like Dimitri from Vampire Academy. However, as the series went on, I started falling slightly in love with him. He isn’t one of my favourite fictional crushes but I did like him quite a lot. He kicked ass. Whenever she described him when he was fighting, I was just shocked at how perfectly he fought. I loved him as a character but one thing I didn’t like was the fact that every time him and Alex were together, they were constantly making out. Like seriously, could they not just spend some time just talking and not having sex?

Every time they were making out.
Every time they were making out.

The other side characters were quite interesting. I loved Seth as a character which you might not agree with if you read the series but I loved him. I also loved Caleb, Olivia, Deacon and Luke as well as all the other characters whose names I’m just blanking on. They all brought a different thing to the series and I loved them all.

The plot line of the whole series was actually quite interesting and action packed. I didn’t enjoy the first one as much but the rest of the series was just unpredictable(most of the time). I didn’t want to stop reading because I just wanted to know what happened. I do recommend this series if you are looking for something fun to read because it is just basically a series that is fun and not much else(in my opinion).

I would give the overall series 4 out of 5 stars and each book also got 4 out of 5 stars from me as well. I will be picking up Jennifer L Armentrout’s lux series because her writing was really addictive.

Plot: 80%. It was predictable at times but I did really enjoy it.

Covers: 90%. The new UK covers are so stunning and I want to own them all.

Protagonist: 75%. She was kick ass but sometimes so annoying.

Characters: 85%. They were all generally good supporting characters.

Love story85%. It was great but they made out too much!

Writing: 80%. It was addictive but it wasn’t very beautiful

Pacing: 85%. I was completely hooked the whole way!

Overall: 82. 86%.

Thanks for reading this review and I’ll tell you soon.

Sofia

2 thoughts on “Covenant series by Jennifer L Armentrout

Leave a Reply

