August 2017

Ew August is over which means it is September which means I move to university in around 10 days. I’m totally not freaking out about this at all. August was a packed month. I did a week’s internship in London, went to see Wicked and Dreamgirls and got my A Level results whilst preparing for uni so it’s been manic but a lot of fun. I didn’t read much or watch many movies because I was so busy.

Read:

34946853The first book I finished this month was A Change is Gonna Come which is a YA anthology from BAME writers. It was a fantastic anthology that was incredibly necessary but I’m not going to talk about it much here as I did a whole review of it so check that out. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

I also read Windfall by Jennifer E Smith this month which tells the 32048554story of a girl who buys a winning lottery ticket for her best friend who she is also in love with. This was a cute fun read with an adorable slow burning romance. I really wish that there were more romantic scenes between the two as I felt like the romance came out of nowhere on Teddy’s end but I still enjoyed it so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars. Also can I just say I have no idea how I went from reading 0 books about winning the lottery to reading 2 within a month.

35584289Next I read Taming the Rebel by Dawn Klehr which is another Entangled Teen Crush novel that is based around a summer camp. This was a fun read but honestly, I hated both main characters and I think their romance moved way too quickly so I only gave it 2.5 out of 5 stars.

I then read I’m Not In The Band by Amber Garza and Artificial Sweethearts by Julie L Hammerle which were also Entangled Teen Crush novels which were cute, fun, entertaining quick reads but nothing really substantial so I gave them both 3 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I actually managed to post quite a few this month including 2 reviews and one random rambly post so I’m proud of myself:

Received:

This month, I did an internship at Stripes Publishing in London and they were kind enough to give me 3 books when I left which were Following Ophelia by Sophia Bennett, Charlotte Says by Alex Bell and And Then We Ran by Katy Cannon. Whilst at the internship, I stayed with David and Robin Stevens who were lovely enough to give me copies of The Explorer by Katherine Rundell and Indigo Donut by Patrice Lawrence so massive thanks to them!

I also got sent a copy of The Loneliest Girl In the Universe by Lauren James for review from Walker Books which I am very excited to get around to!

Bought:

This month, I went to the works and picked up The Young Elites boxset for £6 and the Chronicles of Narnia boxset for £10.

Movies:

JHMSThe first movie I watched this month was the latest Shah Rukh Khan release, Jab Harry Met Sejal (When Harry Met Sejal) which is a romantic comedy based around a tour guide and a girl who has lost her engagement ring. I really enjoyed this film. It has been getting a lot of negative reviews and I agree with some of the points made, especially the point made that the characters are underdeveloped so you can’t connect or understand them well. But I do think it was a great romantic comedy with absolutely fantastic performances from both SRK and Anushka Sharma as well as an almost perfect soundtrack. I do wish the writing of the characters had been better and the characters were more developed because then the film would have been amazing. I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars and I can’t believe I have to wait until December 2018 for the next SRK film. 😦

Then I finally got around to watching Baahubali: The Beginning as it got added to baahubaliNetflix. It’s an epic fantasy film revolving around royalty, war, lost children etc. It’s a very well loved film and honestly I don’t get why? I found it to be sexist, racist and also way too unbelievable. Also, too many things were left unanswered and unexplained so it was confusing in parts. I know that everyone says the sequel is so much better and I did want to see where it goes next but I was just underwhelmed with this installment so I gave it 2.5 out of 5 stars.

baahubali 2After that I decided to watch the sequel which was Baahubali: The Conclusion and I can now say that I understand the Baahubali hype. This sequel was pretty damn good and entertaining. The story of Baahubali’s father was much more interesting though I did find it confusing because the son had the same name as the father and was played by the same actor so it did confuse me at parts. Also, at parts it was way too unbelievable and fantastical to believe. The fact that the characters seemed to have some insane superpowers was just way too ridiculous at some points, especially a scene involving flying in groups off of palm trees.  But it was a great film that was shot beautifully so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

dance academyThen I finally got around to watching Dance Academy: The Movie which is a sequel to an Australian TV show about ballet dancers. I was addicted to Dance Academy around 2/3 years ago and I have been excited to watch the movie since it was announced, I really enjoyed this sequel as I enjoyed seeing more of the characters I haven’t seen in a while. I still dislike the main character but it was still a good film. A lot of different things happened but I liked the overall story and it almost made me cry when one of my favourite characters almost died! I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

TV:

I don’t think I watched anything new this month but I did re-watch a lot of my old favourite TV shows such as Crazy Ex Girlfriend and Humsafar.

Events:

I didn’t go to any book events this month but do west end shows count? I went to see Wicked and Dreamgirls this month and they were both fantastic. Dreamgirls is officially my favourite show that I’ve seen on West End (excluding Cursed Child, obviously) but they were both fantastic.

Favourites:

Book:

A Change Is Gonna Come

Movie:

Baahubali 2

Song:

Bandook Meri Laila – A Gentleman

TV Show:

Humsafar

Thing That Happened:

I did a week’s worth of work experience in publishing which was so exciting as I got to do my dream job for a week! Also I got my A Level results and all of my hard work finally paid off!

So that’s it for August. I’m not sure how much I will blog at university but I will definitely try to keep it up as much as possible. I am very excited for uni but incredibly nervous. I just can’t wait to go now. Also, the day I’m uploading this post it will be Eid so Eid Mubarak to all of my Muslim followers!

Leave a Reply

