July 2017

July is already over, what the hell? It feels like yesterday that I had my last exam. As expected, I have not done even half of the things that I wanted to do this summer due to falling ill and trying to meet up with friends as much as possible. But I did manage to read more than I thought I would considering I didn’t read anything for the first half of the month though I did mainly watch a lot of movies rather than read.

Read:

32470593First up this month, I read Coming Up For Air by Miranda Kenneally which is the latest book in her Hundred Oaks series and this one was focused on swimming. Swimming is actually my favourite sport and I wish I had the facilities near me to swim but I love reading about it. I love this series because every book is super cute and entertaining. They aren’t my favourite books and I tend to forget about them quickly but I have so much fun reading them and this one was no different. Maggie and Levi were both so cute together and I really enjoyed it so I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

34197480Then I read Dare to Fall by Estelle Maskame which is a YA romance about two people who reconnect after she has been avoiding him for a year because he went through a massive tragedy. I enjoyed this book. It kept me hooked and I thought it was pretty cute. A full review on this book will be coming in August so I will elaborate further on my opinions then but I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

33630993After that, I picked up Songs About Us by Chris Russell, which is the sequel to Songs About a Girl which I read earlier this year. I actually really love this series because it’s fun and entertaining. Each book so far has been over 400 pages but I read them both in a day each. My only issue is that I need the sequel right now because this one ended on a cliffhanger. I don’t think the final book will be out for at least another year though. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars and I would recommend this series to anyone who likes YA romances and boy bands.

32078787Next, I read Once and For All by Sarah Dessen which is a love story centred around wedding planning. I have only read one of Sarah Dessen’s previous work and wasn’t really a fan of it but decided to give her another go and I actually really loved this one. I think I might give her other books a try because I think the first time around, it was due to timing and maybe not liking YA romance at the time. I enjoyed this story as I thought it was cute whilst also still being real and sad at times. I didn’t like the fact that it kept jumping from flashbacks to present because it wasn’t clearly indicated and it kept confusing me. I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

30285562Then I read Lucky in Love by Kasie West which is a YA romance based around a girl who wins the lottery. Kasie West is one of my auto-read authors so I usually drop everything to read her latest book. This one was cute and adorable and I really enjoyed the romance. My problem was with Maddie as a character. I found her to be very annoying and she always did stupid stuff which got on my nerves but I still enjoyed the book so I’d give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I managed to post a number of new posts this month and it isn’t just blog tour posts and a wrap up so I’m proud of myself!

Received:

This month, I won a copy of A Change is Gonna Come as well as a pin and a print related to the book so massive thanks to Ramadan Readathon and Stripes.

I also received a copy of Dare to Fall by Estelle Maskame from Black and White publishing so big thanks to them.

Bought:

I bought two books this month which were Songs About Us by Chris Russell and This Beats Perfect by Rebecca Denton.

Movies:

SwadesFirst, this month I watched Swades (Homeland) which is about a scientist who returns to India and ends up rediscovering his roots. When I asked on twitter about iconic SRK roles post 2000, I had seen all of them except for this one so I knew that I had to watch it. I really enjoyed it and I loved the message behind it all. I did think it moved a little bit too slowly at the beginning but once the real story began, it was really amazing so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

After that I watched Hindi Medium which follows a couple who will do anything to get hindi mediumtheir daughter into an English medium school as they believe that it will help her progress in life. I really loved this film. It was the perfect kind of humour that had a heart to it and just worked. Both Irrfan and Saba were fantastic actors and the message of the film is very beautiful. It perfectly highlights the problems in India around how English has become not just a language but a class too. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Baby driverThen my friend dragged me along with her to cinema to watch Baby Driver. This is not my type of film but I found it enjoyable. I just personally really dislike Ansel Elgort as I don’t think he can act very well so he irritated me in this film. I also think it was too long,  especially the car chase scenes and the ending which dragged on too much. The love story also really got on my nerves. I would gave it 3 out of 5 stars because it was still enjoyable.

SpidermanThen I went to see the new Spider-Man: Homecoming movie which was god damn fantastic. I love Marvel and Spider-Man is actually probably my favourite superhero so I’ve been excited for this film for a while. I think this was a perfect version of Spider-Man and Tom Holland pulled off the character perfectly. There was a perfect mix of humour and action which is what I love about Marvel. It was just slightly too long for my liking so I gave it 4.5 out of 5 stars.

ho mann jahaanThen I watched Ho Mann Jahaan which is about three college friends who want to pursue a career in music but face many obstacles. This is in fact my first Pakistani film that I have ever seen and as soon as it was added to Netflix, I watched it because I loved the Pakistani dramas that I have seen. I enjoyed this film because I thought it was a good coming of age movie. I thought it was a little bit stereotypical, slightly too long and the love triangle aspect of it was unnecessary but it was still a fun film to watch so I’d recommend it. I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

APKGKAfter that I watched Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani on Netflix which is about a guy helping the girl of his dreams get with the boy of her dreams. It was a cute and fun Bollywood rom-com that was silly and stupid at times but still really funny and entertaining. It’s exactly the kind of film that got me into Bollywood. Ranbir and Katrina were both super cute in the film and it kept me laughing so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

Jagga JasoosThen I went to watch the Bollywood film that everyone has been waiting for which was Jagga Jasoos. This follows the story of a boy who is in search of his missing father. It was so good. It was produced by Disney India and made as a family film and it definitely had that Disney vibe to it. I loved the story, the songs and I loved the whole vibe. It was a beautiful and stunning film and I really need a sequel, especially after that ending. Please don’t make me wait another 4 years.  This is a proper musical film which is why some may not like it as they sing throughout most of the film but I love musicals so I loved it. There were things that weren’t  great about it, mainly the length and the dubbing of Katrina Kaif took me out of the film because of the major difference between the two voices. But, I definitely gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

After that, I watched Rocket Singh: Salesman of the Year on Heera which follows Rocket SinghHarpreet, who joins the world of sales and discovers corruption at the heart of it. He tries to follow his own honest methods to become an excellent salesman. I really enjoyed this film. I watched it because I’ve come to really love Ranbir, especially after Jagga Jasoos and his performance was amazing, as always. I do think the film dragged on a bit in places but it was such a unique and interesting film that I had to give it 4 out of 5 stars.

TV:

I caught up on all of Shadowhunters this month and it’s actually not as bad as I thought it would be to be honest. Season 2 is a lot better than season 1 but still not great. It’s got me hooked though and I want to know what is going to happen next.

Events:

There weren’t any this month really. Sadly Waterstones Birmingham doesn’t have as many anymore and I didn’t go to YALC this year so my month has been deprived of any bookish events.

Favourites:

Book:

Songs About a Girl by Chris Russell

Movie:

Spider-Man: Homecoming

TV Show:

Shadowhunters

Song:

The whole Jab Harry Met Sejal album so far but especially Haawaiyen.

Thing That Happened:

Not sure to be honest. I did meet up with my friends a lot and secured a publishing work experience for myself which is exciting but that’s it really. I also went to see School of Rock and An American in Paris with my family

So that’s it for July. August has the ability to be the best month ever as I have trips to London, work experience and results day which can go well or horribly so my mood at the end of August can be very different. But we shall see in a month’s time, I guess.

Leave a Reply

