Inspirational Hijabi Women by Yasmin Rahman

Today, I am absolutely honoured to be taking part in the A Change is Gonna Come blog tour. If you haven’t heard of A Change is Gonna Come, you must have been living under a rock. To bring you up to date, A Change is Gonna Come features eight established writers and introduces four exciting new voices. This anthology of stories and poetry from BAME writers is a long-overdue addition to the YA scene.The authors each interpreted the theme of change in their own unique and compelling voice. It covers a wide variety of genres and messages and I for one have been excited to read it since it was first announced. As part of my post in this blog tour, I have a guest post from Yasmin Rahman on some of the most inspirational hijabi women to her which ties in to the theme of her story ‘Fortune Favours the Bold’ in A Change is Gonna Come.

My mum

I am so in awe of my mother. Her selflessness, her sacrifice, her willingness to catch spiders.She’s super old fashioned and we disagree on a lot but I know she’s always got my best interests in heart.Everything she does seems to be for the benefit of others.I want to be her when I grow up.

Nadiya Hussain

nadiyaIt’s totally normal to cry at a cooking show, right? I bawled at Nadiya’s acceptance speech on the finale of The Great British Bake Off 2015 – “I’m never going to put boundaries on myself again. I’m never going to say I can’t do it. I can and I will.” I repeat these words to myself sometimes when I need a pep talk.

Ayisha Malik14082906

I always thought being a writer was something reserved for white people. Ayisha is proof that my dream is achievable. I love that she writes about normal Muslim protagonists, rather than issue-based novels. She’s also just an adorable person and I’m honoured to be in ‘A Change is Gonna Come’ with her.

Malala Yousafzai

1cc9066f-6026-4a4f-9e2e-0cc687e9827aI can’t very well talk about inspirational hijabis without talking about Malala! She has achieved so much at such a young age and in the face of adversity. Proof that terrible things can be overcome. I love that she is so determined to better the lives of others.

Saimasmileslike/ Dina Tokio/ Amenakin/ Basically any hijabi Youtubertumblr_ms4crtpKNg1sf5eppo1_500

I am so HERE for hijabi vloggers. I love that teens can have these relatable icons who celebrate their faith. Also they’re mostly hilarious and really informative. I wouldn’t know how to wrap my scarf without Amenakin!

 

I loved her list of inspirational hijabi women because as a hijabi woman, I find them all so inspirational too. You guys should all definitely pick up a copy of A Change is Gonna Come as well as check out all of the other stops on the blog tour because I for one can’t wait to read everyone’s posts.

Change Blog TourBuy the book on Waterstones, Amazon or Book Depository or check it out on Goodreads.

 

One thought on “Inspirational Hijabi Women by Yasmin Rahman

Leave a Reply

