June 2017

June is over and with that, my exams are over! My A level days are done and I couldn’t be happier. It was also Ramadan for most of June and then Eid right at the end so I was a very busy and tired person all month. As you can suspect I didn’t get much done this month due to my exams but I did manage to read and watch some things.

Read:

31123249The first book I read this month was Saints and Misfits by S.K. Ali which is essentially the story of a hijabi American teenager and what she has to deal with. I really loved this book because it was so unlike anything I’ve ever read before. It was about a very realistic Muslim teen and even includes a lot about faith in general which I really appreciate. I did find it to be slightly like a teen version of Sofia Khan is Not Obliged which isn’t a bad thing! My only problem was with the ending. It was too open and abrupt for me. I wanted more of a resolution to her story or at least the promise of a sequel. Also the cover and blurb both led to me believe that photography would play a bigger role than it did so I was surprised that it didn’t turn up as much. I just feel like a lot happened in this book but not much was finished so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

32926725Then I read Dramatically Ever After by Isabel Bandeira which is a YA romance based around a speech contest in Boston. I loved her previous book in this companion novel series so I was excited to pick this one up and it didn’t disappoint. I didn’t love it as much as I loved BEA but I still loved this one because I thought the romance was super cute. I did find it pretty slow near the start but once it actually got to the contest I really enjoyed it and I had a lot of fun reading it so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I didn’t really post that many this month but I did have a blog tour post:

Bought:

I didn’t buy any this month shockingly. Though I was tempted with a lot of books and I will probably buy quite a few over summer but hey didn’t buy any in June.

Received:

I was lucky enough to get a copy of Truth or Dare by Non Pratt who is one of my favourite authors so I’ve been excited for this one for a while.

I was also lucky enough to get a copy of Moonrise by Sarah Crossan from Bloomsbury which I can’t wait to read.

This month I was super excited to receive the Happily Ever Lather Book Club Box run by Soap and Glory with MyKindaBook. I got sent this month’s box as the featured book was Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell so I got my hands on my 6th copy of Fangirl  (I totally do not have a problem). It also came with 3 Soap and Glory products: sugar scrub, tan body lotion and moisture mist as well as 3 super cute pins.

unnamed

Movies:

NoorI watched Noor on Heera this month which is about Noor, a journalist who finally gets the big story she wanted but it doesn’t quite work out for her. This movie had a lot of potential but I feel like they didn’t know what kind of film they wanted to make because half of it was goofy, funny and Bridget-Jones esque but then it just gets incredibly dark all of a sudden. Also, I found the ‘twists’ to be extremely predictable. I felt like every character except for Noor to be extremely underdeveloped despite the film being about Noor learning to be less selfish. The acting was good but Kanan Gill was not used enough. Honestly, it was just too short and the tones of the film kept shifting so I gave it 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Next I finally watched Koi Mil Gaya (I Met Someone) on Netflix which is about a disabled Koi Mil Gayayoung man who ends up accidentally communicating with aliens and an alien comes down to earth and helps him. This is a really big, well known Bollywood film that led to a spin off franchise and everyone talks about it. It was an okay film and I think the acting was pretty good. Honestly, I found it a little bit unbelievable and the bad special effects made it kinda weird to watch. But I still had a lot of fun watching it and I see why everyone loved it so I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

anastasiaThen I watched Anastasia which is a very well known animated film that most people loved and watched when they were young but I never watched it. My sister loved it and she’s been wanting me to watch it for years. I just saw it on Netflix one day and decided to watch it and I ended up loving it. I really would have loved it when I was young and I’m sad that I didn’t see it when I was young. I loved the whole princessy feel to it and I just think it was beautiful so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

I also finally watched Don which is about a criminal who is killed in a police chase but Donthen DCP D’Silva finds a lookalike to infiltrate the gang and to find out about them. This is one of SRK’s most popular films and I’m actually disappointed in myself for not watching it earlier. I had no idea what the story was before I saw it and man did this film keep me on my toes. I’m such a bad fan for not watching this earlier and I’m super late to the game but hot damn it was fantastic. I love evil and arrogant SRK, he plays it so well and I can’t wait to watch the sequel. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

tubelightAfter that, I went to the cinema to watch Tubelight which is the story of how a man uses his self belief to try to bring his brother back home from the war. I went to watch this a few days after it’s release and I’d already heard that all of the critics were bashing it so I wasn’t expecting much. I do think this film is being unfairly criticised because the story at heart was really beautiful. The problem was the acting. Salman and Sohail Khan should not have been playing the main roles as they can’t emote very well on screen. Every time Salman would have a crying scene or a self-belief sort of scene, he would just look constipated and that stopped the film from having the emotional impact it should have had. Also I found the ending to be too happy and unrealistic but it was still a good story with fabulous direction and cinematography. I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars. Obviously, SRK’s cameo was the best part.

don 2Then I watched Don 2 which is obviously the sequel to Don. Everyone said this one was better than the first so obviously I was incredibly excited to watch it. I don’t think I loved it as much as I loved the first because it didn’t shock me as much as the first one did but I still really loved it. SRK doesn’t play these kind of roles often and I loved seeing him be all arrogant and cocky. I would have preferred if there were more songs but I still really enjoyed it so I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

TV:

I have yet to actually catch up on any of my TV shows though I definitely will do so over summer.

Events:

I didn’t manage to go to any sadly.

Favourites of the Month:

Book:

Dramatically Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

Movie:

Don

TV Show:

I did watch quite a lot of Dance Moms and Say Yes to the Dress this month.

Song:

Radha – Jab Harry Met Sejal/ Galti Se Mistake – Jagga Jasoos/ Jab Se Tere Naina – Saawariya

Thing That Happened:

I completely finished my a levels and I passed my driving test!

The prospect of this summer is exciting me a lot and I have a lot of plans. I’m not just going to spend the whole summer sitting around doing nothing, I’m keeping myself busy all summer hopefully. We shall see how sucessful that is in my next few wrap ups, I guess.

Leave a Reply

