May 2017

May is over and now I’m scared since most of my exams are in June. I didn’t really do much this month because I’ve been revising my butt off so this wrap up is going to be short and slightly boring but hey, my exams finish in June so hopefully my summer will be a lot more fun!

Read:

30312891First this month I read Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare which is the sequel to Lady Midnight and also my most anticipated read of the year. I got it early in the month but wasn’t allowed to talk about it until after the release date on the 23rd but now I can talk about how much this book killed me. If you want to know how much I loved this book, check out my full review but obviously I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Then I read Pushing the Boundaries by Stacey Trombley which is 27282169about Myra who goes to Haiti to help out her mother at the clinic but she really is going to take a photo to win a scholarship. Whilst there, she meets and falls for Elias, a Haitian who is working as their translator. I enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would. First off, I was shocked when I found out that Myra was a Pakistani Muslim and that her religion and faith actually played a part in the story. I thought the romance was super cute but I just wanted it to be a little bit longer with more cute scenes so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I only posted 2 this month but one of them was a review and I hadn’t written a review for a while so it was exciting!

Received:

Early on this month, I received a copy of Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare from Simon and Schuester and I wasn’t allowed to talk about it until release date which killed me inside!

I also received a finished copy of Show Stopper by Hayley Barker from Scholastic so now I have 2 copies so I must get to it ASAP.

Bought:

I pre-ordered the special edition of Lord of Shadows months ago so I finally received that this month and it’s stunning.

I had to pick up a finished physical copy of When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon when I saw it in Waterstones because it is one of my favourite books of all time.

Movies:

Kabhi Haan Kabhi NaaThis month they added a number of old Bollywood movies to Netflix, most of which feature SRK so I started off by watching Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa (Sometimes Yes, Sometimes No) which follows a love triangle between 3 members of a band. It was cute and I especially liked the ending but it wasn’t a film that I’ll be obsessing over for ages because it wasn’t amazing. I still really enjoyed it but I did feel like it was too long and not much happened so I’m going to give it  3 out of 5 stars. (Also this is the only gif online that I could find of it)

Next I watched Ram Jaane (God Knows) which is about Ram Jaane who becomes one of Ram Jaanethe biggest criminals in the city and it follows how this affects him and those around him. I didn’t really like this one that much which is shocking for an SRK film. I hated Ram Jaane as a character and I really wanted him to die. Also, I didn’t think I’d be saying this about a Bollywood movie, but it had way too many songs and the songs were way too long. I ended up skipping some of the songs. I could only give it 2 out of 5 stars.

EBDMThen I read English Babu Desi Mem (English Sir, Desi Madam) which is a very complicated story to explain so I’m not even going to try. I did actually really enjoy this one.The story itself was really good and interesting but it did fall into the cliches and tropes that most 90s Bollywood movies did but that’s the times I guess. SRK is always a winner anyway. I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Also this month I got Heera which is an Amazon Prime add on channel for Indian entertainment. I was mainly excited to get it for the exclusive stand up specials on it so obviously I watched some of those this month. I watched Keep It Real by Kanan Gill, Don’t Be That Guy by Kenny Sebastian and Biswa Mast Aadmi and I loved them all. I also watched Hasan Minhaj: Homecoming King on Netflix which was absolutely hilarious and probably my favourite of them all.

I also rewatched a number of my favourite films including Veer Zaara, Dangal, Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania, Badrinath Ki Dulhania, Hum Tum and Kuch Kuch Hota Hai.

TV:

Also on Heera, I watched SNG: Don’t Come Last which is an Indian stand up comedy game show hosted by the SNG boys which I really loved. It’s a short show but incredibly funny and good to watch at the end of a day (even though I watched all of them in less than a day)

I haven’t really watched anything else this month but I have been re-watching Crazy Ex Girlfriend to unwind at the end of the night.

Events:

I didn’t go to any sadly 😦

Favourites:

Movie:

Hasan Minhaj: Homecoming King

Book:

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

TV show:

Crazy Ex Girlfriend

Song:

You Stupid Bitch/It Was a Shit Show – Crazy Ex Girlfriend

Thing that Happened:

Nothing much really. My last official day of college was fun but that was about it.

So that’s it for May. My June wrap up will probably be boring because EXAMS but after that, it’s going to be great. I can’t wait for this summer!

Leave a Reply

