Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

30312891Genre: YA Fantasy
Pages: 704
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Source: Publisher
Format: Paperback
Rating: 5 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Amazon, Waterstones, The Book Depository
Blurb:
Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again?

And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters’ demands. Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear—before it’s too late.

Review:

I received this book in exchange for an honest review but this did not affect my opinion at all.  I’ve also tried very hard to not include any spoilers for the other Shadowhunters books but proceed with caution.

Guys. I am dead. It is currently the 7th May and I have finished Lord of Shadows and I don’t know what to do. I am not allowed to talk about until release day (which is the day this review should be going up) and I am struggling to contain myself. I read most of this book in one day and I need to freak out with someone but I have no one to freak out with.

Anyone who knows me knows that I love the Shadowhunter world a lot. This world means a lot to me and Lady Midnight was one of my favourite books in this world. I was very wary going into Lord of Shadows like I am with most sequels to books that I love. What if it disappoints me? What if my favourite characters die? Also, I haven’t read Lady Midnight for over a year so I didn’t know if I would remember everything but I went straight into it and I was sucked back into the world and these characters.

First, I need to talk about the Blackthorn family. I LOVE THE BLACKTHORNS. Honestly, I love each and every one for various reasons. Actually, I love all members of the LA institute including Emma (obviously), Cristina and Kit. I just love the family vibe of this series because it’s something that I feel is missing in a lot of YA books. YA tends to focus more on romance and friendship instead of the relationship between family members. Julian and Ty are my favourites for sure but I still love them all. With The Mortal Instruments, I didn’t like a lot of the main characters which affected my opinion of the whole series but with TDA, I loved every single one, even Perfect Diego in some times.

This book was action-packed and the plot kept me intrigued throughout. The writing style of this novel might put some people off because it jumps back and forth between different scenes as the characters are in different situation but I actually really loved it. At times I was slightly irritated because I wanted to know what was happening with the others but overall, I really loved it because it kept me reading.

What I love about the Shadowhunter Chronicles is the links to the other series. Lord of Shadows has a number of links to The Mortal Instruments and less to the Infernal Devices but I still really loved it. I love seeing what the other characters are doing because they aren’t completely abandoned.

The last 20 pages or so of this novel killed me. Actually killed me. I AM RUINED. The ending of this book is one of the most heartbreaking endings I’ve ever read but what makes it worse is that we have to wait 2 YEARS for the next one. I AM NOT HAPPY. I WILL BE CRYING FOR AGES BECAUSE OF THIS BOOK AND I WILL NEVER GET OVER IT. THAT ENDING KILLED ME.

Also can we please talk about how diverse this book is? In terms of mental health, sexuality and it even has some people of colour! Cassandra Clare has really taken some of her criticisms on and changed things around. I also loved how it wasn’t shoved down our throats, it was just a normal thing which was fantastic.

So this review isn’t very coherent but that’s because I can never give coherent reviews of the Shadowhunter books. I’ve tried to write this review with as little spoilers as possible from the Shadowhunter chronicles but it’s a pretty hard thing to do.

I’m so invested in this Shadowhunter world and Cassandra Clare keeps reeling me back in and breaking my heart again and again. Lord of Shadows may actually be one of my favourite Shadowhunter books of all so if you haven’t picked up The Dark Artifices, please do. You will not regret it. Lord of Shadows may be one of my favourites of all of Cassandra Clare’s books so far. It’s better than all of the Mortal Instruments put together and almost as good as the Infernal Devices (not quite there yet but still).

(Also I have some predictions and theories for the next book but I don’t know if anyone would be interested in them so if you are let me know down below and I’ll write up a blog post)

Leave a Reply

