Books I Didn’t Like

Yes, today I’m going to talk about books that I didn’t like. Yes, there may be books on this list that you love. But what to do? Everyone has some books that they don’t like and I love reading blog posts about books that they don’t like. So, I just thought screw it, let’s talk about some of the books I don’t like. I’m sorry if some of these are your favourites but everyone has their own opinions I guess. Some people hate some of my favourites and I may hate yours so sorry but here are some of the books that I didn’t like.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Yes, I didn’t like a John Green book. I love YA Contemporary so obviously John Green is known as one of the main authors in that genre. I’ve only read 2 of his novels and I don’t think I’ll be reading anymore of them. I loved The Fault In Our Stars when I first read it but looking back on it now, it wasn’t that great. I do tend to retrospectively change my ratings for books and The Fault In Our Stars was one of them. But I hated Looking for Alaska from day one. I thought it was predictable, stupid and boring. It also seemed incredibly similar to The Fault In Our Stars and I’ve heard that most of his novels are quite similar so no thank you.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Everyone hates this book, right? I haven’t met anyone who thinks it was a great ending. To be honest, I think I’ve realised that I don’t even really like this trilogy anymore now that I look back at it. I loved Divergent and I think I always will but I can’t remember Insurgent at all and Allegiant was a bloody mess. Plus after meeting Veronica Roth, I did start liking this series less but that’s a whole other thing.

Just One Day by Gayle Foreman 

I loved Gayle Foreman’s If I Stay duology so I picked up this duology thinking that I’d like it. But I really did not. This is another book that I found boring. There were no cute moments between the main two and honestly, their relationship was so boring.

Crossed and Reached by Allie Condie

I really enjoyed Matched, the first two books in this trilogy. But the other two were a hot mess. I honestly can’t tell you anything about these two books because nothing happened in them. I’m not even sure if I finished the final book which is shocking for me because at that time I refused to stop a book halfway through.

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

I read this whole trilogy (God knows why) and the books got worse as they went on. They killed off the only good character at the end of the first one and he was the only good thing about this series. The plot, world, characters and romance were all just flat and boring.

Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han

This is yet another trilogy that I read all the way through for some unknown reason. I love Jenny Han’s other series, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before but this series was a big no for me. Love triangles with 2 brothers just never work for me. Honestly, me and my friends were just reading this series as a joke because we just laughed at how ridiculous everything was. It sucks since I love her other work but this series was terrible.

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

This is another trilogy that had such potential yet it was completely ruined. I loved The 5th Wave and I loved the world. Therefore, I obviously picked up The Infinite Sea when it came out. But nothing happens in this book. It definitely suffered from middle book syndrome and I thought that the finale would be okay hopefully. Then I heard about what happened in the last book and I refused to read it because I was so angry.

Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas 

This was the hardest one to admit to. I was the biggest fan of Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight and The Assassin’s Blade. I read Heir of Fire and convinced myself that it was good because I wanted it to be good. I loved the world and the first few books are still some of my favourites. But when Queen of Shadows came around, I couldn’t pretend anymore. Empire of Storms is out now and I will not be reading that because I know what happens and just nope. I’m done with this series. I think I’m done with her books overall to be honest. I hated how the main character’s personality just completely changed and she became a different person. I hated the new characters. I hated the fact that every male character in this series was either a relative or a love interest. I hated what she did to the original main characters. Just nope.

So those are some books that I didn’t like. Let me know some of the books that you hate in the comments and let’s start a conversation about them. I love seeing what other people don’t like so let’s talk!

Leave a Reply

