March 2017

This month’s post is probably going to be really short and boring because honestly, I did hardly anything except for college work. This is probably the way that these posts are going to be until June so bear with me guys! I’m the worst with stress so exams really do make me into a boring recluse who just works constantly. However, let’s see what I did end up doing this month.

 

Read:

25707621This month,  I finally picked up Sofia Khan is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik which is about Sofia Khan, a publicist who has been tasked with writing a book about Muslim dating. I know, I really should have read this book earlier and I have no idea why I didn’t but hey at least I finally read it. I LOVED IT. However, I didn’t realise that it was a series so now I’m eagerly waiting for the sequel but I definitely read this at the right time since the sequel comes out this week. I really loved Sofia as a character and obviously her name is fantastic. I wasn’t really a fan of the writing style as I would have preferred a more traditional style but hey it was still a fantastic read and I highly recommend it. I definitely gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Next I picked up a cute YA romance called The Season of You and Me by Robin 26116514Constantine. I didn’t really like her debut but this book was a lot better. It was slightly cute and it kept me interested as I couldn’t put it down for the whole day and finished it in less than 24 hours. However, it was nothing special. I’ll forget it very quickly as it doesn’t leave a lasting impression so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

I did re-read the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare this month because I’ve had a strong need to re-read these in a while since it is my favourite series of all time but I haven’t read it since 2013. I loved re-reading them because I got addicted to them once again and couldn’t put them down despite the fact that I already knew how it ended but it was just fantastic.

Posted:

I didn’t post much this month but I was part of 2 blog tours which was great!

Received:

I was lucky enough to receive Damage by Eve Ainsworth from Scholastic and she is one of my favourite authors. Also from Scholastic, I received Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman and Noah Can’t Even by Simon James Green.

Bought:

NONE! WHOOP! (Though I did pre-order the £17 special edition of Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare but shhh)

Movies: 

BKDI went to watch Badrinath Ki Dulhania (Badrinath’s Bride) in cinema on opening day. This film is a rom com about a small town boy who falls in love with a girl with big career plans. Through this, he learns how to respect women. I really liked this film. It’s a typical Bollywood rom com entertainer but it also has a good message at its heart. The acting was fantastic as expected when you have Varun Dhawan and Alia Bhatt in the film. The second half wasn’t as good as the first half for me and there were 2 scenes in the second half that I was strongly against (I can’t say which ones because spoilers). I did appreciate the film a lot and the music is great(especially the title track and Tamma Tamma) so I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

PhillauriI then watched Phillauri in cinema which is about a man who has to marry a tree for superstitious reasons and then ends up marrying a ghost. I actually enjoyed this film. It was funny with good acting and an interesting story. The VFX was fantastic. What ruined it for me wasn’t a problem with the film but instead a problem with the cinema as after 30 minutes, the audio messed up and you couldn’t hear the dialogue for the rest of the movie which just ruined it. Thank god for the subtitles but the movie was still ruined slightly because of it and I couldn’t enjoy it fully. I preferred the ghost part of the story over the background story and I didn’t really like the climax very much but it was still an interesting film.  Suraj Sharma and Anushka Sharma made this film and they were both great actors especially when interacting with each other. I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

TV:

I have actually caught up with hardly any of my shows this month as Arrow, Legends of Tomorrow and Quantico lost my interest a bit. However, the Supergirl Flash musical crossover was just too good for words.

Events:

I actually chaired my own event this month!  I know, crazy right? Who am I? I chaired Melinda Salisbury’s Birmingham launch of Scarecrow Queen which was just fantastic. I loved chairing the event because Mel is so much fun and I’ve come to know most of the people who come to the Birmingham events very well which made it a lot easier.

Favourites: 

Book:

Sofia Khan is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik

Movie:

Badrinath Ki Dulhania

TV show:

New Girl

Song:

Running Home To You – The Flash/ Naughty Billo – Phillauri/ Badri Ki Dulhania – Badrinath Ki Dulhania

Thing That Happened:

Chairing the event with Mel for sure!

So that’s it for March 2017 from me. I know, super boring but hey what can I do? Exams, essays, work and other boring stuff have been getting in the way. After June, I will have a lot more to write about for sure.

Leave a Reply

