February 2017

2017 is moving too quickly for my liking. Exams are getting closer which scares me. However, university is getting closer which is really exciting for me! I have already been given my uni flat and room and that is both terrifying and exciting. I didn’t get up to much this month because of a level revision but hey, can’t really blame me. I’m trying to really focus on my exams so that I will do well in them. Those are my top priority right now. But I did manage to do some other things this month.

Read:

20980781First I read the 4th book in the Wait For You series which was Fall With Me by J Lynn. This one was okay. The romance was meh and nothing really special. I liked the mystery aspect of it but I did predict who it was from the start. These books are good if you want a good bit of addicted ‘crack’ reading but they aren’t books that will leave a big impact on you so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

Next, I read By Your Side by Kasie West which is about 2 people who get 30256248trapped in a library for the weekend. I love Kasie West’s books and I’ve read them all so whenever she releases a new one, I immediately drop everything to pick it up. She writes beautiful romances with fabulous characters and cute interactions and this one was no exception. I liked the idea behind them being trapped in a library and I thought that part of the book was great. here was a lot more potential for scenes full of sexual tension but that part kinda just fell flat. I just wish there were more cute moments between them so I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

31291543Next I read the final book in the Sin Eater’s Daughter Trilogy which was The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury. I can’t believe this series is over. I’ve been a massive fan since the first book came out and it’s weird that the final book is coming out soon. This was a perfect trilogy and the ending was perfect too. It may even be my favourite book in the series but honestly I need to re-read the other two. I only have 2 complaints; not enough Silas and also I would have preferred a more closed ending. An epilogue set a few years later would have been perfect but honestly this was a fantastic book. If you haven’t read this series yet, what are you even doing on my blog? Get off and go buy the books now. I obviously gave this book 5 out of 5 stars

32613366Then I read The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas which is a hard hitting debut novel about the Black Lives Matter movement. I loved this book. Important does not even begin to cover how necessary this book is, especially now. I won’t talk about it too much here as I did a whole review on it but everyone needs to pick this book up when it comes out in April in the UK  (It is already out in the US). I definitely gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

31941371Next I finally got my hands on An Unsuitable Boy by Karan Johar which is his autobiography. He is one of India’s biggest filmmakers and my personal favourite person in the whole industry. I loved this book. I loved knowing more about his life through his novel, especially about the background of some of my favourite films. I just wish there was more on Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham. I also wish there was more about the recent events with Ae Dil Hai Mushkil. But you know, always room for another autobiography since his life is always so interesting. I obviously gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Next I read When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon which is a YA contemporary about 28458598two Indian Americans. I got sent this from the author herself because it isn’t being published in the UK. I absolutely love this book. This may be one of my new favourite books of all time. I love YA contemporary and to read a YA contemporary about my own culture (even though I’m Pakistani not Indian but the cultures are similar(don’t kill me and say that I’m anti national)). I feel like I’m both Dimple and Rishi in one, which is odd since they are so different but I definitely see myself in both of them. I loved the references to the Indian culture and especially the Bollywood references (thanks for putting Dance Pe Chance back into my head). I can’t wait for everyone else to read this book and I hope it gets a UK publisher because it’s a fun and beautiful book. I obviously gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I didn’t post that much this month because college work is killing me but hey I posted some:

Received:

From Pan Macmillan, I received Who Runs The World? by Virginia Bergin and Masquerade by Laura Lam (which is the 3rd book in a series that I have not read).

I got sent a great package from Scholastic with popcorn, a card popcorn holder and a proof copy of Show Stopper by Hayley Barker which looks fantastic.

From Chicken House, I got a copy of Moondust by Gemma Fowler which I can’t wait to read.

Bought:

I managed to buy an early copy of The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury aka my most anticipated release of the year as Waterstones are delivering copies already! YES.

Movies:

love-aaj-kalI watched Love Aaj Kal (Love Nowadays) which is about an old-fashioned romantic telling his love story to a modern man who has broken up with his girlfriend and this impact this has on their relationship. I enjoyed this film. I love Saif’s acting and Deepika was fabulous as always. To me, this film was nothing really special. It just seemed like your same old love story which I don’t mind but this wasn’t a very interesting and fun version. The music kinda sucked as well which slightly ruined my view on the film (music is very important to me for Bollywood movies). The old fashioned love story was stalkerish and just not as interesting as the modern one but I gave it 3.5 out of 5.

Then my sister took me to see Newsies: The Broadway Musical which was in cinema for one day and she had a spare ticket. I really loved it. I really enjoy musicals when I watch them but I only tend to watch them when my sister makes me. I liked the upbeat music in Newsies and the fabulous dance breaks. Of course, Jeremy Jordan was fantastic as well as the music and the supporting cast. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

TV:

Crazy Ex Girlfriend finished this month and I’m so sad. Most of my other TV shows are just background shows for me now whilst I’m revising because they aren’t intriguing me fully.

Events:

I attended the Waterstones Birmingham Falling In Love and Fandom event with Maggie Harcourt, Lauren James, Miranda Dickinson and it was chaired by Chelley Toy from Tales of Yesterday. This was a great event that was hilarious and I loved catching up with a lot of people.

Favourites:

Book:

The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury

Movie:

Newsies: The Broadway Musical

TV:

Crazy Ex Girlfriend

Song:

Tamma Tamma Again – Badrinath Ki Dulhania

Thing That Happened:

I don’t know really, this month has kinda been a shit fest for me.

So that was February 2017 for me. Nothing exciting happened and to be honest, I don’t think many exciting things will happen until I’m done with a levels on the 27th June but hey that’s the life of an a level student.

Leave a Reply

