Ink Blog Tour: A Day In The Life of Alice Broadway

32827036Today it’s my stop on the Ink blog tour which is a book that everyone has been raving about that I can’t wait to read, especially because of that stunning cover. If you don’t know what it’s about, here’s the blurb:

Every action, every deed, every significant moment is tattooed on your skin for ever. When Leora’s father dies, she is determined to see her father remembered forever. She knows he deserves to have all his tattoos removed and made into a Skin Book to stand as a record of his good life. But when she discovers that his ink has been edited and his book is incomplete, she wonders whether she ever knew him at all.

For my stop on the blog tour, I’m presenting with you a day in the life of Alice Broadway!

I wrote the final words of Ink sat on a chair while one child was watching ‘You’ve been framed’ and another was acting out a fight between two of her toys. I would love to have a writing routine that seems serene and intentional, but I think my writing is a bit like the rest of my life: chaotic, unruly and a tiny bit dull.

I’m writing this at 1.15am, because apparently that’s how my brain works this week. Our eldest child turns eleven tomorrow (ugh, today) and I wonder when I last had a full night of sleep. My body has now adjusted to the point of nocturnal-ness and I spend nights wide awake, worrying about writing and days feeling tired and terrible for not writing more.

On a good day I begin by writing for an hour or until I hit 1000 words – whichever comes first. I then have a break (long-term depression has left me with a greater need for regular rest) and I may or may not do more writing later on. On a bad day I will begin by looking at facebook, then twitter and will spend most of the day faffing about.

I’m lucky enough to be able to write as my job at the moment. We have three kids and I share childcare with my husband, who is the main carer for our son who has additional needs. The best days are the ones where we ship the kids to school and drive to the coast in our camper van and I write with a cup of tea while he walks along the beach. They’re few, but all the more magical for that.

My youngest is beautifully creative and she has commandeered my writing desk. It’s actually quite nice, because I think I’ve realized I will always prefer writing curled up on an armchair with my laptop on my knee.

I’m currently trying to write book two and I’m desperately wracking my brain for the secret – how did I do this last time? I wish there was a magical way of writing that worked for me, but I think I’m realizing that my ‘process’ is to just try to keep writing while living the rest of life. Because it’s the rest of life that makes me want to write.

Make sure to go check out all the other posts in the blog tour and also make sure to pick up a copy of the book, because I know that I can’t wait until I have time to devour it.

ink-blog-tour-01

Leave a Reply

