January 2017

2017 is upon us. The year of big changes for me since it is the year that I finally go to university in September. The changes started this month with me turning 18 but to be honest with you, not much changed since I don’t drink so turning 18 means nothing to me. I did a lot of work and revision this month because I’ve started to really focus on my a levels that are coming up soon. I did manage to read quite a bit though but I didn’t do much else.

Read:

The first book I read this year was King of Bollywood: Shahrukh Khan and the Seductive 422464World of Indian Cinema by Anupama Chopra. I started this book almost a year ago but then put it down. I finally picked it back up and read it all in 2 days. I found it really interesting obviously as a SRK fan to see his journey to becoming an actor. However, there was quite a lot of irrelevant information about stuff like the economic situation in India and the Indian Mafia that made it so that it was boring at parts. Also, Anupama is a well known film critic who is known for using a lot of big, complicated words for ordinary things so thank god I was using my kindle to read this so I could quickly check what some words meant. I therefore gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

17844678Next I read The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine which is just your typical YA romance. I did not like this book. It started off well but the insta-love irritated me a lot. Also the main guy was a downright prick and Wren forgave him too quickly for all the idiotic things that he did. I gave it 2 out of 5 stars and I do not recommend it.

25336218Next, I picked up Songs About A Girl by Chris Russell which is a UKYA book that everyone was raving about last year. It follows Charlie, who becomes the backstage photographer for the latest boy band taking over the world. I really got addicted to this book and I read almost 500 pages in 2 days which is a big deal considering I haven’t been reading at all recently anyway. I really loved it but I thought it was a standalone so I wasn’t ready for a cliffhanger. Dying for the sequel now please. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

16056408Then I read a book that I’ve heard everyone rave about for years and finally decided to pick it up and that is Easy by Tammara Webber. This is a college romance that deals with the issues of rape and consent. I really loved this book. It had a cute romance yet still dealt with a serious topic. None of them overtook the other in the book and I loved that. I was addicted to this book and I read it in a day. I strongly recommend this book. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

17314430After that I picked up Wait For You by J Lynn which is another new adult college book. I’ve been in a big new adult mood recently and this book was the perfect new adult read for me. I loved Cam and Avery as well as all of the side characters. My only issue was the fact that he kept calling her sweetheart. I don’t know why but pet names irk me so much. Other than that, it was great so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. (I also read The Proposal which is a VERY short novella (it was originally in tweets) about these characters which was okay but it seemed kinda pointless so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

17558817Then I read the companion novel to Wait For You which is Be With Me by J Lynn. I enjoyed this probably just as much as I did with Wait For You but I had the same problem that I had with Wait for You. If you like new adult romance, then you’ll love this series but there is quite a lot of sex in it so if you’re younger/not ready for that, be aware. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

19501672After that I picked up the next book in the series which was Stay With Me by J Lynn. I think this may be my favourite in the series so far(tied with Wait for You). It was really compelling and I liked the non-romantic plot as well. Again, another annoying pet name that also irked me but I really liked this one. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I posted quite a bit this month but most were in the first week and were 2016 wrap up posts which were a given:

Received:

I got sent Freeks by Amanda Hocking so massive thanks to Pan Macmillan for sending this book my way.

I also received The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas which everyone is raving about so thanks to Walker for sending it to me so that I can finally see what all the fuss is about.

I also received Ink by Alice Broadway from Scholastic which is another book that everyone has been raving about that I’ve been dying to pick up.

Bought:

I actually bought a book this month! I bought (with a gift card) Songs About A Girl by Chris Russell and I can’t wait to pick it up after numerous recommendations.

Movies:

udta-punjabThis month,  I finally watched Udta Punjab which is about the war on drugs in Punjab and follows the lives of 4 different characters with 4 different stories around drug abuse. A lot of people called this the film of last year and I agree that it was an amazing film. What made this film as amazing as it was definitely the performances. All 4 actors were spot on especially Shahid and Alia. Alia is one of my favourite actresses and this was her best performance yet. Shahid was perfect as the unstable rockstar. Kareena was very good, as expected. I didn’t know what to expect from Diljit as I’ve never seen a Punjabi film and this is his first Bollywood venture but he was incredibly good. The characters made this film. This film made me emotional at parts which is obviously a good thing. The ending was too open for my liking so for that so I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

dr-strangeI then finally watched Doctor Strange which I think everyone knows about. I love Marvel films (though I’ve probably only seen like half of them) so I was dying to watch this one. I did quite enjoy it but it’s definitely not my favourite Marvel film. It was just too trippy and confusing for my liking. I did enjoy the acting and the story was cool. The humour inserted in was also pretty funny. I therefore gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

raeesAfter that came the release of one of my most anticipated films of the year, Raees (Wealthy). This is the new SRK film which is about a bootlegger in Gujarat and the opposition he faces from a police officer. This film was blooming amazing. It definitely lived up to the hype for me. I love seeing SRK in evil/negative roles because he pulls them off with such conviction. Nawazuddin was fantastic as always. I’ve never seen the man give a bad performance. Mahira was stunningly beautiful and I’m so happy she’s in the film. There were problems with over the top, unbelievable action sequences and really long scenes, especially the climax scene which lasted way too long. There were also issues with continuity and small plot holes and issues with pacing but it didn’t stop me loving the film. I loved the soundtrack ,especially Zaalima which is one of my favourite songs right now. This is a pure Bollywood masala film with a good story and amazing characters so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. (Have to wait 7 months for the next SRK film now)

hum-tumhare-hain-sanamThen I watched Hum Tumhare Hain Sanam (I am yours, love) which is essentially about a marriage that begins to fall apart due to suspicion and the husband being possessive. It was an okay film. It’s an early 00s film so it’s dramatic af as well as being quite sexist, which is to be expected from that era of Indian films. SRK was a fantastic actor as the possessive, crazy obsessed husband and Madhuri is as beautiful and fantastic as always. Salman on the other hand was well…. Salman. I can’t say I’m a fan of his but he was bearable in this film. I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

TV:

My TV shows mainly came back this month but my favourite one is definitely Crazy Ex Girlfriend. It is so good and there is only one episode left in the season (It is on Netflix and you should watch it if you haven’t)

Events:

I actually didn’t go to any this month. Anti-social little me.

Favourites:

Book:

Easy by Tammara Webber

Movie:

Raees

TV show:

Crazy Ex Girlfriend

Song:

Zaalima – Raees

Thing That Happened:

My birthday probably because I always love my birthday.

So that’s it for January. I’m running out of things to say at the end of these wrap up posts so see you next month I guess.

Leave a Reply

