End of 2016 Book Survey

For the previous 2 years, I have done the end of year book survey created by the Perpetual Page Turner so obviously, I was going to do it again this year. Without further ado, here is my end of 2016 book survey.

2016-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-768x738

reading-stats-2016-1024x278-768x209

Number Of Books You Read: 

80

Number of Re-Reads:

I don’t know, probably about 5.

Genre You Read The Most From: 

YA Romance/Contemporary For Sure

best-ya-books-2014-900x244

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

Either The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury, Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare or Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Not many let me down this year. Maybe Did I Mention I  Need You? by Estelle Maskame. Also I didn’t pick up the 2 Sarah J Maas releases this year because I knew that I wouldn’t like them after hearing reviews and spoilers so maybe them.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

Probably, Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira because I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Shockingly, I didn’t do as much book pushing this year. I pushed 2 more people into reading Fangirl so Fangirl.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Series started:  The Dark Artifices

Sequel: The Sleeping Prince or Gemina

Ender: Mafiosa

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

I FINALLY read Colleen Hoover’s books so definitely her though I did discover a lot more new authors.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

This year I went further into my comfort zone, reading practically only YA Romance so I don’t think I read one out of my normal genre.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

The whole Blood for Blood trilogy by Catherine Doyle which was amazing.

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

 26721568

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Luca from the Blood for Blood trilogy by Catherine Doyle ❤

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

Unboxed by Non Pratt

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Maybe Someday/Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

I’m so bad at passages! I never remember them 😦

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Shortest: The King of Rats by Melinda Salisbury

Longest: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Emma and Julian from Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

The relationship between the girls in the Spinster Club trilogy by Holly Bourne.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Dev from Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

I didn’t read many 2016 debuts, sadly. However, I read Wing Jones by Katherine Webber which is a 2017 debut that I loved.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

I don’t really cry at books, at all.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle because seeing what other characters were doing to my favourites, made me angry.

book-blogging-900x244

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

It’s hard keeping track of which ones I discovered in 2016!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Aha, writing reviews practically went out of the window this year.  However, I did quite like my Wing Jones review.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Probably one of Bollywood related posts like my top 10 favourite actors/actresses/on-screen couples.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

YALC, for sure!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Again, going to YALC.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Finding the motivation and keeping the balance between my interests.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My most popular posts on my blog this year are all posts from previous years….

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Any of my Bollywood ones probably.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Hmm… idk. Maybe just further discovering the twitter community.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I completed my Goodreads challenge but not much else.

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

My So-Called Bollywood Life by Nisha Sharma because it is a YA Romance based on Bollywood, aka my 2 favourite things.

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Get back into it really. Find the motivation. Get a schedule. Keep it up.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

Wing Jones by Katherine Webber, Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle, A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard and Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt.

So that’s my end of year survey for you. A lot of the answers are repeated but what can I do? I love those books very much! Let me know if you do the survey!

Leave a Reply

