Top 10 Books of 2016

So 2016 wasn’t the best reading year for me. I did manage to read 80 books but most of those were just fluffy romance reads that I forgot about soon after so when I first sat down to make this list, I struggled. However, when I looked back at the ones that I did read this year, I did somehow manage to come up with 10 books of the year that were my favourites. A lot of these were probably on my favourite books of 2016 so far list that I made in July but we have some new ones too.

10. Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

This is a book that I thought would just be another random romance that I read and then completely forget about but this book has become one of my favourite romances. With a bookish heroine and a Bollywood-obsessed hero, I was destined to love it from day 1. I was obsessed with this book and I still re-read some parts now.

9. How Hard Can Love Be?/…And A Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne

I couldn’t decide which one to put onto my list so I put both (I loved What’s a Girl Gotta Do? too but not as much as these two) . The Spinster Club series is one of my favourites and I’m going to miss it. These girls have become like my friends and I’ll be sad to see them go.

8. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

2016 is the year that I discovered Colleen Hoover and fell in love. I read a lot of her standalones this year but none quite live up to the first book of hers that I read. Maybe Someday was a beautiful romance that I need to re-read ASAP.

7. A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

Last year, I loved Beautiful Broken Things but AQKOT blew that out of the park. I’m a sucker for romance and this one was incredibly cute and beautiful. Everyone should pick this up when it comes out.

6. Inferno/Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle

I binge-read this whole trilogy in 2016 and it was bloody fantastic. I was addicted and obsessed. I could not put them down. The ending was perfect but I still need more. I’m going to miss reading about the Italian Mafia.

5. Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

This book has stayed with me since I read it. It was so beautifully written and crafted that I couldn’t not love it. The story was beautiful as was the diversity and the character development.

4. Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae was one of my favourite books of last year yet Gemina has beaten it in my opinion. The new characters made me wary of this at first but it was really utterly fantastic and I can’t wait for the third book.

3. Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt

I was always going to love this book as soon as I read on the back that it is the UK’s answer to Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins. It was one of my favourite romances that I’ve read with an adorable main love interest and a main character who reminded me a lot like me with her super-organisational ways.

2. The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

Anyone who has followed my blog or twitter for some time will know my obsession with this series. The Sleeping Prince lived up to the hype and in true Mel way, broke me apart into little pieces. I’m not ready for this series to end this year.

1. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare is one of my favourite authors and Lady Midnight is one of my favourite books by her. I feel as if with every book she writes, she gets better than the last. I know that a lot of people don’t like the amount of Shadowhunter books that she writes but I will read and devour every single Shadowhunter book that she will give me.

So those are my top 10 reads of 2016. Hopefully 2017 will be a better reading year for me, especially since I will have almost 3 months off before I’m off to uni in September (that’s a really scary thought, wow). What was your top read of the year? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

