December Wrap Up

It is not 2017. It is not 2017. It is not 2017. Is it 2017? What is this? I don’t believe this. It seems like I’ve done nothing in 2016 yet done everything. It’s always a weird feeling when one month ends but it’s even weirder when one year ends. And obviously, at the start of every new month, I wrap up the last month so lets see what I got up to in the last month of 2016.

Read:

25909375First, I read Wing Jones by Katherine Webber which tells the story of Wing who discovers her love for running after a tragedy strikes. I really loved this book. Like really really loved this book.I would talk more about it but I actually wrote a review for the first time in forever so if you want to know my thoughts, click here to go to my review. Obviously I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Next, I read another amazing 2017 UKYA release which was Mafiosa by 25059637Catherine Doyle. This is the final book in the Blood for Blood trilogy and it may well be the best book in the trilogy so far. It was an almost perfect ending to the trilogy and I loved every second of it. I could not put it down. I also did a review of this book so click here to see my full opinions but my review does contain spoilers for the first two books in the trilogy, but not this installment. I definitely gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

32820770After that I read another amazing 2017 UKYA release which was Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt. This is the story of Lexi who is a ‘convention kid’ as she has helped her dad run conventions for her whole life and Aidan, an arrogant up and coming author. I really loved this book. I wasn’t a hardcore fan of Maggie Harcourt’s debut novel but this book was god damn perfect. It reminded me so much of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell which just shows exactly why I loved it. I want to be Lexi, is that weird? I want her crazy busy convention lifestyle because it sounds like something I’d be perfect at. I definitely think that everyone should look out for this in 2017, especially if you are fans of Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins. Obviously, I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Next, I picked up We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan which is a story 25310356told in verse about Jess, a troubled teen and Nicu, a Romanian immigrant. I loved this book. I love stories told in verse because they’re so easy to get obsessed with and read non-stop. This story was beautifully heart-breaking as well as being relevant. I loved the depiction of the racism that European migrants experience in the UK, especially after Brexit. If this book isn’t on your list for 2017 releases, it should be. I  definitely gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I actually did quite well with posting this month, shockingly. I didn’t just post 1 which is great so yay. This month, I uploaded:

Received:

I was lucky enough to receive a finished copy of Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle, the final book in the Blood for Blood trilogy this month from Chicken House.

When I went to the Waterstones Book Club, I got a proof copy of Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt which is a book that everyone has raved about and I was very excited for it.

I also received a copy of We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan from LoveReading4Kids/Bloomsbury so massive thanks to them. Also from LoveReading4Kids, I received The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas which is a MyKindaBook release so I am incredibly excited for it.

Bought:

I didn’t buy any this month shockingly however, I did get £10 worth of book gift cards at Christmas so I definitely will be buying some soon.

Movies:

befikreThe first film that I went to watch this month was Befikre (Carefree) which is a Bollywood rom-com set in Paris. I enjoyed this film because of Ranveer Singh, the humour and the songs. However, I didn’t love it. I won’t talk about it much here as I did a whole review on it, so click here to go read that.click here to go read that. I gave the film 3.5 out of 5 stars. (Also I had to use this gif because Ranveer Singh is bae)

dangalNext, I went to go watch Dangal (Wrestler) which is the biopic of a former wrestler who forces his 2 daughters into wrestling. This film has been called the film of the year and I agree that it is one of my favourite films of this year. Aamir Khan always delivers great films and Dangal is no exception. His character isn’t likable due to the fact that he forces his children into something they don’t want to do. But the girls in this film make it what it is. All 4 debut actresses pulled out of the park, especially the 2 that played Geeta. I definitely think this is one of the best films I’ve seen this year. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

bahAfter that I watched Bachna Ae Haseeno which tells the story of a player who realises his mistakes when he falls in love with someone for real. It was okay. Honestly, it was nothing really special so whilst it was fun whilst I was watching it, I won’t remember it after a while or re-watch it. The songs are good and Ranbir and Deepika were both pretty good. I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

After that I finally watched Pink which is being marvelled as one of the best films of the pinkyear. It tells the story of a retired lawyer who helps 3 women in their court case after 3 men attempt to rape them. I think this is a great film with fantastic performances and I loved it. The message is very well told and I think it’s a film that you can’t miss. However, I had some problems. The main problem was with the way that the feminist message is told and my thoughts on that are summarised in this Buzzfeed article that I read. Also, I feel like it was slightly boring at times and the pacing was a bit off which stopped me loving it as much as I could have. I therefore gave it 4 out of 5 stars and you should watch it.

TV:

humsafarThree Pakistani dramas, two of which star Fawad Khan (one of my ultimate babes), got added to Netflix this month. So obviously, I bingewatched Humsafar (Companion) in the first 3 days after it was uploaded. Humsafar tells the story of two people who are forced to get married, then fall in love but  it seems as if no one wants them  to be together as everyone intervenes to try and break them up. It’s a typical Asian drama story but I loved it because Fawad and Mahira Khan were both amazing. I already knew that Fawad was an amazing actor but I was shocked at how awesome Mahira was. She is going to be the main actress in the upcoming SRK film so now my excitement has risen even higher for it.

After that I watched Fawad’s other drama on Netflix, Zindagi Gulzaar Hai (Life Is zindagi-gulzaar-haiWonderful) which tells the story of a working class woman who is pessimistic about life and an upper class rich arrogant man. I really enjoyed it but not as much as Humsafar. I liked how the romance was very slow burning but it was irritating at times as they just kept misreading signs or not trusting each other. However, my biggest problem was with Fawad’s character, Zaroon who is the most sexist, chauvinistic pig ever. I was waiting for him to change throughout the series and he did slightly but he was still quite sexist which did really bother me, especially since he is played by Fawad Khan.

Events:

I went to the Waterstones Birmingham YA Book club for the first time in forever and had a lot of fun discussing Illuminae.

Favourites:

Book:

Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle

TV Show:

Humsafar

Song:

Channa Mereya – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil (Still obsessed with this song!)

Movie:

Dangal

Thing That Happened:

I went to the Warner Brothers Studio Tour on Christmas eve and it was the most magical thing ever.

So that’s the last wrap up of 2016. Wow. This is getting too weird to think about so let’s just end it there because otherwise I’ll go off talking philosophically about all the stuff I did do and I didn’t do this year so no, let’s stop now.

Leave a Reply

