November Wrap Up

Okay, can someone please tell me how 2016 is almost finished already? This is absolutely crazy! We’re in the last month of the year, December which is one of my favourite months because it’s just such a happy, cheery month plus 2 week holidays from college. November has been like most of the past months. I did a lot of homework and revision whenever I wasn’t in lesson and didn’t actually read/blog/watch a lot.

Read:

29093326The first book that I finished this month was What Light by Jay Asher. This book follows Sierra, whose family owns a Christmas tree lot farm in California. Due to this, they move down every Christmas. Whilst down in California this year, she falls in love with Caleb but she isn’t sure what to do as she may not be coming back again. I enjoyed this book. It was cute and it made me feel Christmassy. However, I do feel as if everything happened too quickly. It’s as relatively short book at 250 pages so when the romance started developing, it just went from 0 to madly in love in like 10 pages. Whilst the book was okay, I don’t think it’s a book that I will ever really think about again or re-read because it made no lasting impact on me so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

30360631Next, I picked up …And A Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne which is the concluding novella for the spinster club series. I read this in Waterstones in one sitting whilst waiting for an author event and it was such a bittersweet moment. I loved this concluding novella so much but I’m really going to miss reading about these girls and their mishaps. I felt like a part of their friendship group and it pains me that I will never read something about them again so hopefully, Holly can write a new one. I definitely gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

25756328Next, I read Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch which is about Lina whose mother passed away but told her to go live with a guy in Italy. It’s Lina’s journey through grief, love as well as finding out why her mother wanted her to go to Italy and why she’s living with this guy. It was actually really intriguing and good. I found quite a lot of the mother’s story predictable, even when Lina couldn’t figure it out but I still loved the journey of finding out nonetheless. It had a cute romance and it definitely made me want to go to Florence. Therefore, I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

29610595Finally, I picked up Too Late by Colleen Hoover. This follows Sloan who is forced to stay in an abusive relationship with Asa for her brother’s sake until Carter comes along and changes their world around. Asa in the book compares other people to drugs and if I followed that, this book was like crack cocaine. I read it in less than 24 hours which is a shock considering that I haven’t really been reading much lately. The situation was just so intense and it kept developing so I just couldn’t put it down. I just needed to know what happened next but there were issues with this book. The book just kept having endings yet then kept carrying on but that is explained at the start of the book with the letter from the author but I would recommend this book. Just beware, it is a very graphic novel so if you’re young or not at that stage where you want to read something incredibly explicitly sexual then this is not the book for you. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I posted more this month than I have for the past few months but two extra posts were Bollywood related and not blog related sooo…….

Received:

I received a proof copy of Waking in Time by Angie Stanton from Curious Fox so thanks to them. I also received a copy of Wing Jones by Katherine Webber from Walker Books UK/LoveReading4Kids which is one of my most anticipated reads so massive thanks to them!

Bought:

When I went to Waterstones for the Jennifer Niven and Lauren James event, I picked up a copy of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling and ...And A Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne.

Movies:

highwayI first watched Highway which is about a rich girl who gets kidnapped but then learns what freedom is. I had high expectations going in and I was severely disappointed. The overall message and story was good but I just didn’t like the way that they got to it really. It felt quite a lot like Stockholm syndrome as she fell in love with her kidnapper, who wasn’t even a nice guy. He was never nice to her really and he was abusive. The last half an hour so saved it slightly for me and I did like the ending but the rest of it, I wasn’t really a fan  of. The child abuse side storyline was amazing and I wish there was more of it in the film.  The acting was amazing especially from Alia Bhatt who is one of my favourite actors in the industry. Her acting was outstanding, especially considering that it was only her second film and her first one was not good at all. I ended up giving it 2.5 out of 5 stars.fantastic-beasts
Next, I obviously went to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I really really loved this film. Obviously, it was nowhere near as good as the Harry Potter films but it was still bloody good. I loved all the new characters and I really like the direction that it is going in. It was only the first film in the series so it’s only setting up for future films but it was still great. I obviously gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

dear-zindagiNext, I watched another one of most anticipated films of the year which was Dear Zindagi (Dear Life) which follows Kaira who is going through a lot of emotional problems and having mental breakdowns so she decides to seek professional help from a pyschologist, who teaches her to love her life in unconventional ways. I really really loved this film. Mental health is such a stigma around the globe and I like how Bollywood films are beginning to talk about it. Alia Bhatt was absolutely god damn amazing in her role as Kaira. Her breakdowns felt so realistic and her panic attacks seemed like the ones that I have sometimes gone through. She had a 5 minute monlogue scene in which she broke down in her therapist’s office and it was amazing that it even lead me to tears. She was so good that she outshone Shah Rukh Khan who plays her therapist. SRK was obviously his usual charming adorable self but he was definitely outshone by Alia’s god damn perfect acting skills. Look out Bollywood, Alia Bhatt is going to become the next big powerhouse. I therefore gave this film 5 out of 5 stars.

TV:

I’ve been keeping up with all of my TV shows as the new episodes have been airing surprisingly. Usually by this time, I usually end up forgetting about one or getting bored with it but I’m really enjoying them all. The one that has surprised me the most was Supergirl because I didn’t really like the first season but I’m in love with the second season so far.

Events:

I actually went to an event this month! I went to the Waterstones Birmingham event with Jennifer Niven and Lauren James which was chaired by Chelley Toy, a blogger who I love so much! It was an amazing event that made a lot of people tearful. I love both authors and their books are amazing so it was great to meet them both again.

Favourites:

Book:

….And A Happy New Year?

Movie:

Dear Zindagi

TV Show:

Supergirl

Song:

Ude Dil Befikre – Befikre (This whole album so far is amazing)

Thing that happened:

Hmm.. I don’t know. No one thing really stood out.

So that was my November. Does anyone even really read these wrap up posts? Or is it just for me? Let me know if you do even read them because I’m thinking of changing my blog around possibly.

Leave a Reply

