10 Favourite Bollywood Actresses

So a week ago, I did a blog post on my top 10 favourite Bollywood actors so obviously the clear follow up post to that is my top 10 favourite Bollywood actresses of course. This list was a lot harder to compile because I love most actresses in Bollywood but after a lot of deliberation, I got to my final 10.

10. Madhuri Dixit

madhuri-dixitI haven’t seen many of Madhuri’s films as she was a prominent actress in the 80s and 90s but the few films of hers that I have seen have shown me her absolutely amazing acting skills. She is one of the reigning queens of Bollywood, especially when it comes to Bollywood dance. Many actresses have amazing dance skills but Madhuri is on a next level.  She truly is the queen of Bollywood dance.

9. Parineeti Chopra

I didn’t realise that Parineeti was one of my favourites until I ended up watching all of her parineeti-choprafilms in a row and loving her. Her bubbly personality comes through on screen. I loved how she wasn’t your traditional ‘skinny’ actress yet she still rocked the screen and looked fabulous af.

8. Priyanka Chopra

priyanka-chopra-desi-girlIs anyone shocked to see Priyanka on here? Priyanka is probably the most popular Bollywood actress due to Quantico but I fell in love with her long before Quantico. Through films such as Barfi, Dostana and Bajirao Mastani, she showed that she is a force to be reckoned with in the industry and I can’t wait to see her take over the whole world.

7. Kareena Kapoor

As a young girl, there were many actresses I loved but Kareena was my absolute favourite. kareena-kapoorThrough playing the bubbly characters in KKKG, Jab We Met and Mujhse Dosti Karoge (a terrible film that I loved as a kid), Kareena made me want to be her. I wanted to have that awesome and cool self-obsessed confident personality of her characters. Also she is currently looking SO awesome with her baby bump, especially when she walked down the catwalk recently.

6. Rani Mukherji

rani-mukherjiRani Mukherji (or Mukherjee as she was before) was another one of my favourite actresses when I was young. Her popular on-screen jodi with Saif Ali Khan meant that I watched a lot of their films. Recently, she hasn’t been acting a lot since she had a baby last year but she is apparently making a new film next year which I’m already incredibly excited for.

5. Preity Zinta

Here is another great actress who I loved when I was younger yet doesn’t make as many preity-zintafilms now due to getting married to an American guy. Preity, along with Kareena, was one of the bubbliest actresses in the industry hence why I was a bubbly kid (nowhere near that anymore but still). Her movies generally make me feel all the emotions, especially Kal Ho Naa Ho and Veer Zaara.

4.Anushka Sharma

anushka-sharmaAnushka is a kick ass actress that I have loved ever since I saw Band Baaja Baaraat earlier last year. She tends to make awesome movies and she just has this amazing on-screen presence. It’s hard to describe. Her face just shows all the emotions without her even needing to say a word. She isn’t afraid to fully act so for example she will have the ugliest cry in a movie instead of having a ‘pretty cry’ in order to still look good. I loved her recent performances as well, especially in Sultan and Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

3.Deepika Padukone

Deepika is another kick ass actress who is getting ready to take over the world with her deepika-padukoneupcoming Hollywood movie. Deepika didn’t blow me away in her first movie (I was too distracted by Shah Rukh Khan in it tbh) but when I watched movies like Cocktail and Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani, I realised how amazing she is. More recently in Bajirao Mastani, she showed her versatility as an actress as her role was quite difficult to do.

2.Alia Bhatt

alia-bhattI did not like Alia at all in her first movie, Student of The Year but that was mainly due to my disappointment in the movie as a whole. However, when I watched her other films (I have now seen all but 1), I couldn’t believer that it was the same person. In the space of 4 years, she came from an emotionless actress who no one really noticed fully in SOTY except for in the dance sequences to one of the best actresses in the industry. She’s taken risks in her career in her career with films such as Highway and Udta Punjab and they have mostly paid off. I love when she does commercial films such as Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania because they are the reason I love Bollywood so much to be honest.

1. Kajol

SRK was at the top of my favourite actors list and Kajol had to be on the top of my favourite kajol-mnikactresses list. Together they make an awesome jodi but even separately, they are bloody awesome. She has shown that she isn’t just another part of SRKajol but she is her own fabulous actress with movies such as Fanaa and We Are Family. I love her off-screen personality and I also quite love the fact that she takes long breaks between her films and waits for the right script. She’s a timeless beauty and I hope she never stops acting.

So those are my top 10 favourite actresses. Any that you love too? Also, let me know if there are certain things that you’d like to see me blog about. I want to know what you guys think.

 

 

Leave a Reply

