October Wrap Up

Ahh October. I miss you already. You were an absolutely amazing month for me filled with loads of bookish fun as well as the release of my most highly anticipated Bollywood film of the year. I saw Cursed Child, met Rainbow Rowell, passed my theory test and did so much more. Check out what I did in more detail below.

Read:

29056083The first book I read this month was Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany. This is obviously the script for the play and I waited until I’d seen the play to read the script because I had a feeling that reading it beforehand might have ruined my experience of the play. The play was god damn perfect so therefore I loved the script. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars but I wrote a whole spoiler free post on the play and the script so check that out here.

Next, I picked up All Laced Up by Erin Fletcher which is another cute Entangled Teen 32057113Crush novel about a hockey player and a figure skater. I really enjoyed this one because it was incredibly cute. Fake online profile romances are a hit and a miss and this one was a definite hit for me. I liked the two main characters and their romance was quite cute but I don’t have much else to say on it but I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

18982194After that I read My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill which is the story of a normal girl falling in love with a popstar on a movie set. It was a very cliche novel. Nothing about it really stood out for me. For me, it was too short as well. Not enough happened. Plus, I did not like the main girl because she was incredibly irritating. I therefore gave it 3 out of 5 stars.30197201

Then I picked up A Quiet of Thunder by Sara Barnard which is the love story of a girl who is a selective mute and a guy who is deaf. I really loved this book but I won’t talk more about it here because I’m going to write a whole review of it. I definitely gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

25116429Next I finished #Famous by Jilly Gagnon which is the story of Rachel who took a photo of Kyle, her longtime crush and it ends up going viral, forcing both of them into fame. I was really looking forward to this book because the idea showed a lot of promise in terms of being a modern romance. It was okay but not as good as I wanted it to be. I wasn’t really a fan of the way that the story went and I think Kyle wasn’t even that good of a character. He needed more development as well as their relationship so I only gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

This month I only posted 2 posts:

Received:

This month I was lucky enough to get 3 books from Pan Macmillan/MyKindaBook which were A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard, Heartless by Marissa Meyer and What Light by Jay Asher so massive thanks to them. I received a duplicate copy of A Quiet Kind of Thunder from Lovereading4kids so thanks to them. I also received #Famous by Jilly Gagnon and Allegedly by Tiffany D Jackson from Harper360UK so big thanks to them. From Walker I got a finished hardcover copy of Tales from Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sara Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson and Robin Wasserman. I loved these stories so I’m really glad that I have a finished copy now.

When I went to meet Rainbow Rowell, the publishers gave me a paperback copy of Carry On by Rainbow Rowell which is one of the only UK editions that I didn’t have so massive thanks to them. They were also incredibly nice and gave my mum 3 books since she was dragged along with me which were The Paris Secret by Karen Swan, The Forgetting Time by Sharon Guskin and The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton so big thanks to Kat and Jess at MyKindaBook.

Bought:

Shockingly, I didn’t buy any! I was so tempted by the illustrated Chamber of Secrets and the new Holly Bourne book but I just don’t have the money at the moment. I’m trying to save as I’m going to the HP Studio Tour in December.

Movies:

tamashaFirst, I watched Tamasha (Drama) which is a very odd and confusing story that I can’t explain. It stars Deepika Padukone and Ranbir Kapoor who are two good actors and it is written by Imtiaz Ali who wrote Jab We Met which is a great film but this film just did not work. I really do understand the story they were trying to tell but the way they told it made it confusing and also boring. Deepika’s character was the only interesting character so when she disappears for most of the second half, it falls through and gets very boring. I just could not get into it and I ended up skipping bits so I only gave it 2 out of 5 stars.

Then I watched PK which follows an alien who comes down to Earth and asks the pk-jagguquestions that no one thinks to ask and challenges people’s beliefs, especially about religion. I really enjoyed this film. It is well known as one of the best Bollywood movies ever made and I agree. Rajkumar Hirani films are always a lot of fun but with a key message that you’ll take away from it. I didn’t love this one as much as I loved 3 Idiots but it’s still very good. Aamir Khan is a fantastic actor who plays PK so well. Anushka Sharma was amazing and so was Sushant Singh Rajput. The one way that this did beat 3 Idiots was the romance. The romance in 3 Idiots was terrible and the worst part about it. In this film, it’s so cute and adorable. It made me smile a lot. I definitely gave this film 5 out of 5 stars.

ae-dil-hai-mushkilAfter that, I FINALLY got to watch my most anticipated Bollywood release of the year which was Ae Dil Hai Mushkil (This Heart is Difficult). This story follows Ayan and Alizeh and the main theme is unrequieted love. I was expecting A LOT from this film and it did not let me down. Karan Johar is my favourite director of all time, his films are always the perfect balance of happiness and sadness (because you know kabhi khushi kabhie gham) and this film was no different. Ranbir and Anushka were amazing in their roles. Ranbir carried the film perfectly and Anushka was also god damn awesome. The special roles by Fawad Khan and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan were good and helped the film progress. Shah Rukh Khan’s cameo was amazing as well. My only issue was the ending. The last 30 minutes or so felt rushed. I didn’t have a problem with the plot twist but it just happened too abruptly and then ended too abruptly. I wish Johar had just added on a 20 more minutes to make the ending seem more realistic and emotional as because it was so rushed, it failed to hit me as emotionally as it should have. Or the end plot twist should have just not happened if he didn’t want it to be too long but his films tend to be around 3 hours and this one was only 2 and a half so he could have extended it and added more scenes to make it seem more real. I still gave it 4 out of 5 stars and I will be watching it again as soon as I get the chance.

happy-bhag-jayegiNext, I watched Happy Bhag Jayegi (Happy Has Run Away) which is about Happy who is planning to elope from her wedding with the guy she really loves but she gets into the wrong truck and ends up in Pakistan. I enjoyed this film. I found it funny and I think the acting was good, especially by Jimmy Shergill and Abhay Deol. My main problem however was with the character Happy. She was less of a character and more of a plot device to help the characters around her progress. Because of this, I only gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

TV:

All of my shows came back and that makes me so happy! I didn’t start anything new but I’ve been catching up on my shows instead.

Events:

As I’m part of the UK Rainbow Rowell Fangirl team, I got invited to have tea and cake with Rainbow Rowell in London (!!!!!!!!!) which was absolutely amazing. I can’t believe I was able to go and that I was invited. The chance to sit in a room with Rainbow with 6 other big fans and talk about her books was crazy. I sadly only got to be there for the last 45 minutes or so because of the damn trains and google maps failed me but it was still amazing.

Favourites:

Book:

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

TV Show:

Crazy Ex Girlfriend

Movie:

PK

Song:

Channa Mereya – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil (or just this album in general because it’s damn awesome)

Thing that Happened:

I got to go see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child which was god damn amazing. I can’t believe that I got to see it live because it was perfect. Scorpius Malfoy for life. Also meeting Rainbow Rowell was probably tied as the best thing this month.

So that was my month. How was yours? What did you get up? Do anything exciting? I want to talk to you all so let me know how you are. Tweet me!

Leave a Reply

