Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

So, it finally happened. On the 2nd October 2016, I went to go see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in London. It’s been a week and I’m still not over it. Today I’m going to talk about my opinions on the play and the script book as well, with no spoilers.

 

I booked my tickets almost a year ago now and I’ve been dying to see it ever since then. I even put off reading the script when it was released in July because I wanted to experience the play fully without knowing anything about it beforehand. I’m so happy that I decided to wait because it just made the whole play experience 1000 times better.

I fell in love with the play. I honestly don’t think I’ll ever watch anything else live that is that magical and special. It is impossible to describe the feeling that I got as soon as I entered the theatre. Harry Potter is such a big part of my life as it is with most people so to be able to see a new Harry Potter story live on stage just made it even better.

I don’t think there was ever going to be a chance that I wouldn’t like the play. Even if I hated the story, I still would have loved it simply because of nostalgia and also because of how god damn perfect the production was. The actors were all so amazing, especially Anthony Boyle and Jamie Parker. I had already seen Jamie Parker in a musical called Assassins that I saw on New Year’s Eve in 2014 so I already knew that he would be god damn awesome in it and he was. I was wary of other actors playing the characters that I had seen previously acted out. The movie cast were THE cast for me but the play cast is just as good, if not better.

I knew that I would love Scorpius as a character as soon as I heard that he was in it because I love the Malfoy family but I didn’t expect to love him just as much as he did. I think the fact that Anthony Boyle was such a good actor made it even better. I am now obsessed with Scorpius. I want everything Scorpius please, especially a Scorpius pop figurine.

img_3482
Excuse my horrible face but I got to meet Anthony Boyle and many of the other actors at stage door!

I loved all of the other actors. I didn’t see the normal guy who plays Albus as he was on holiday but the guy who played Albus in my production was also god damn awesome. I loved how spot on the adult actors were at their roles since it must have been hard to step into roles that have already been played and loved by many but they were all perfect. I mean seriously, this cast was god damn awesome.

img_3436
My photo with Paul Thornley who plays Ron at stage door

What makes the play as awesome as it is is obviously the staging, effects and music. The way that they do the magic tricks is clearly magic itself. I just could not figure out how they did some things. Whoever figured out how to do the magic tricks should just take a bow because clearly that person is a magician. The music just transports you into the world even though it doesn’t use the normal HP music, yet it is still so HP. It’s difficult to imagine. I just want the score on my phone now please, thank you.

If you’ve only read the script and you were disappointed, I understand why completely. If I had read the script myself beforehand, I wouldn’t have liked it as much but believe me when I tell you that in the play, it works. It really does work. They’ve missed out things in the script that made the play what it was. The way that they act, the way that the lines are said and honestly all of it just works in the play. If you ever get a chance to see it live, I strongly suggest you do because it’s worth the ridiculous amount of money, especially if you’re a massive Potter fan like me.

I want to go watch the Cursed Child again. And again. And again.

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

