September Wrap Up

So this month, I surprisingly read a lot but they were all Entangled Teen Crush romance novels. I’ve been an extreme romance mood for the last couple of months and I seem to have unexpectedly made it my goal to read every Entangled Teen Crush book, god knows why (I have now read all the ones that are currently out so yay). I did manage to watch some films and actually put some blog posts up this month so let’s see what I did this month.

Read:

25877185First this month, I read Finding Perfect by Kendra C Highley. This book follows Paige who is a perfect student and daughter but when she begins to fail Calculus, she gets tutoring help from Ben in exchange for setting him up with her best friend. However, they begin to fall in love with each other. I really enjoyed this book. It was cute and adorable but also relatable because of Paige’s struggles with school, stress and pressure. Overall, I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

30824171Next I read Defying Gravity by Kendra C Highley which is a companion novel to Finding Perfect. It follows Zoey who is at her holiday home and is on a mission to finally win over Luke Maddison, the guy her family holidays with every year. But it’s his brother and her best friend that she ends up in love with. I enjoyed this book but not as much as I enjoyed Finding Perfect. I just don’t like love triangles with 2 brothers. It’s just weird to me. Zoey was also very annoying so I only gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

28220968Then I picked up The Replacement Crush by Lisa Brown Roberts. This book follows Vivian who decides to find a ‘replacement crush’ who she won’t fall for after her heart gets broken by a guy. But during this time, she meets and begins to fall in love with Dallas, a cute nerdy boy who is helping out at her mum’s store. I found this book to be really cute. I liked the bookish aspect of it and Dallas was incredibly swoon worthy. However, Vivian was slightly irritating but then again, no one is perfect. Overall, I gave it 4 out of 5 stars and I would recommend it if you like cute contemporary reads.

29851667After that, I read Pieces of You and Me by Erin Fletcher which is about Chase who moves back to his old town after 5 years away and reconnects with his old best friend, Rylee. I had high expectations of this book because I loved the Problem with Forever which had a similar concept but this one kind of fell a bit flat for me. I just think not enough happened. It wasn’t long enough and not enough happened in it but I still gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

26101040After that, I picked up Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru by Tera Lynn Childs which is the love story of Sloane and Tru after she moves to Austin from New York because she got into trouble in New York. It was fun and cute and there were no major problems with you but to be honest with you, I can’t tell you what even happened in it right now because I’ve forgotten all about it so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

Then, I picked up How Willa Got Her Groove Back by Emily McKay 28871512which follows Willa after she finds out that her dad is engaged to marry a famous actress. She then meets her soon-to-be step brother and develops a crush on him. I didn’t like this one. I don’t like step-brother-esque romances but this is probably my least favourite one so far. Willa was childish and annoying. The romance was practically non-existent and no one informed that it was a series and that it’d have an open ending so I only gave it 2.5 out of 5 stars.

29067842Next I picked up Crazy Stupid Fauxmance by Shellee Roberts. This is the story of Cabot and Mariely who are both dumped on the same night so they decide to form a fake romance in order to show everyone that they are okay and they end up falling in love in the process. I enjoyed this book because it was really cute. Cabot is the typical romantic male lead that you can’t help but swoon over and Mariely is the classic romantic female lead. There’s nothing amazing or special about this book but it was good so I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.

123After that I picked up The Secret Life of a Dream Girl by Tracy Deebs which is the story of Dahlia who is a big popstar hiding out in a school in order to experience a normal life. Here, she meets and falls for Keegan. I enjoyed this book because I found it super cute for similar reasons as with Crazy Stupid Fauxmance but it wasn’t a particularly memorable romance so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars too.

1234I then picked up The Truth About Jack by Jody Gehrman which has a complicated story to explain quickly but just know that it’s the romance between Jack and Dakota. Similarly to most of the other books I read this book, it was cute and adorable but not very memorable so I gave it 3 stars too.

Next, I read Daring the Bad Boy by Monica Murphy which is about a nerdy30332862 girl who goes to summer camp to open up and be more social. Again,  I enjoyed this book but in a few months time, I probably won’t remember it. The main character, Annie, was a little bit irritating and I have no idea when/why Jake fell in love with her so I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.

31058127I then picked up The Boyfriend Bet by Chris Cannon. I honestly have no idea why I read this because I didn’t like the first book in this series and I didn’t like the sound of this one but never the less, I picked it up and as expected I did not like it. The two characters were annoying and ridiculous and the romance was incredibly forced so I could only give it 2 out of 5 stars.

After that, I read Falling for The Wrong Guy by Sara Hantz which is the story of Ruby and26599240 Drew. Drew has come back to school after a horrific accident that has caused him to feel guilty and Ruby is the sister of his ex best friend. I enjoyed it but again, it was not memorable. I feel like this book should have been longer and more should have happened so I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I posted 4 posts this month which is crazy for me because I’ve been in an extreme blogging funk for the past couple of months but maybe I’m finally getting back into it.

Received:

This month I was lucky enough to be sent a finished copy of Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff for review from Rock the Boat so big thanks to them! I also received a finished  copy of Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake from MyKindaBook which I really do need to get around to reading. I also was lucky enough to receive a proof copy of The Deviants by C J Skuse from Mira Ink which I can’t wait to read because everyone has been raving about it non-stop. I also received 2 copies of The Last Beginning by Lauren James which I can’t wait to get around to.

Bought:

I saw the original yellow cover version of City of Bones by Cassandra Clare in a charity shop so I picked that up because I clearly like to collect multiple editions of her books.

Movies:

dhoom-2The first film I watched this month was Dhoom 2 which is about 2 cops trying to catch a notorious thief. I didn’t watch the first one because the plotline of the second one intrigued me more. I enjoyed this film. Hrithik Roshan is always an amazing actor and he is mesmerising to watch on screen (Also the man has crazy af dance skills). However, I felt like this film had two unnecessary characters in the form of Uday Chopra and Bipasha Basu. The Dhoom films are a staple for Bollywood watchers and I enjoyed it but I didn’t LOVEEEE it. It’s still a fun, cop/thief film so I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

bad-neighours-2Next I watched Bad Neighbours 2 because I accidentally rented it for the weekend so I thought I might as well just watch it. I enjoyed it but it’s just a little bit too rude and awkward for me. I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as the first one but it was still okay. But tbh, Zac Efron was enough of a reason to watch it and enjoy it so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

449206-dhanakAfter that I watched another Bollywood film on Netflix which was Dhanak (Rainbow). This film is about a 10 year old girl and her 8 year old blind brother who are on a journey to meet Shah Rukh Khan as she believes he can help her brother get his sight back. This film was so cute. The kids really do make this film, especially the little boy who is an amazing actor already. This film sends you on an emotional rollercoaster; you will cry at times and laugh at times but overall it is an incredibly heartwarming film and I highly recommend it if you have Netflix. I gave it 4.5 out of 5 stars. (There are no gifs for Dhanak online sadly)

dil-chahta-haiThen on a day that I was ill and bedridden, I watched Dil Chahta Hai (The Heart Wants) which is about 3 friends and their completely different approaches to love and how it tears them apart. This film is a Bollywood cult classic so I was expecting a lot and whilst I enjoyed it, it wasn’t amazing. It might have been because I was ill and I really wanted a good rom com to watch but I just found this film to be quite boring. The acting was good but it just wasn’t great for me so I only gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

On the same day, I then watched Dil Bole Hadippa!(The Heart Says Hadippa!) which is dil-bole-hadippaessentially the Indian version of She’s the Man but with cricket. This film was a flop at the box office and had extremely negative reviews but I really enjoyed it. It was funny, light-hearted and exactly the kind of film you want to watch when you’re ill. Rani Mukherji and Shahid Kapoor are some of my favourite actors so I loved their performances. Therefore, I gave this film 4 out of 5 stars. However, I may have just liked it because of my ill state.

dishoomAlso on the same day I watched Dishoom which is a buddy cop film about trying to find India’s best cricket player in 36 hours before the big match. This is another film that didn’t get great reviews but I really enjoyed it. Varun Dhawan is one of my weaknesses. I don’t know what it is about him but I just can’t help but love everything he does so obviously I loved this film. It was cute, funny and entertaining. I think I definitely did prefer it to Dhoom 2 actually… I therefore gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

The next day, I watched ABCD2 which is essentially like the Indian version of Step Up. It abcd2was okay but it was slightly unbelievable. It seemed too easy for them and also some of the effects were incredibly fake. The reason I liked it as much as I did was the same reason for Dishoom: Varun Dhawan. That guy man. I love him. But even though he was in it, I couldn’t give it more than 3 stars.

badlapurI then warched the only Varun Dhawan film that I had left to watch which was Badlapur (Revenge). This film is about a guy whose family are killed during a bank robbery. It is the story of him trying to avenge their deaths. It really is unlike any other Varun Dhawan film. It isn’t a commerical rom-com but it is instead an indie serious drama. He really showed in this film that he is a versatile actor and I love that about him. All of the actors in this film were great so I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

TV:

This month, I finished watching Crazy Ex- Girlfriend near the start of the month which is a fun show. I’m not in love with it but I do really enjoy it. It’s a lot of fun and I love the random awkward musical interludes(some of them are just so weird but still). I’d recommend it and the first season is on Netflix. Also some of my favourite shows finally came back so I’m incredibly happy.

Events:

I didn’t go to any because I’ve just started a levels again so I’ve been getting used to the workload as well as sorting out my university applications. Boo adult stuff.

Favourites:

Book:

The Replacement Crush by Lisa Brown Roberts ( I did re-read Fangirl this month so that would have been my favourite but I re-read it basically every month so it doesn’t count)

Movie:

Dhanak

TV Show:

Crazy Ex Girlfriend

Song:

Ae Dil Hai Mushkil from the film with the same name(which I cannot wait to see when it comes out this month!)

Thing that Happened:

Hmm, I don’t know. Probably Eid.

So that was my September. This post is going up on the 1st October so tomorrow I’m off to go see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and I can’t wait to FINALLY know everything. I’ve managed to evade spoilers until now so I cannot wait to see it all on stage.

 

One thought on “September Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

