Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

30318306Genre: YA Science Fiction
Pages: 672
Publisher: Rock the Boat
Source: Borrowed from The Dark Dictator/(Finished Copy for review from Publisher)
Format: Paperback Proof
Rating: 5 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Blurb:

Hanna Donnelly is the station captain’s pampered daughter and Nik Malikov is the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. Together they struggle with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, blissfully unaware that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall with news of the Kerenza invasion.

Picking up about five minutes after Illuminae ends, Gemina is the electrifying sequel to the hottest YA novel of 2015.


Review:

Illuminae was one of my favourite books of 2015 so when Sally from the Dark Dictator borrowed me her copy of Gemina, I freaked out but then automatically start reading. And now here I am, less than 24 hours after starting it, writing the review even though I still can’t get over what happened in this book. My head is still processing what the hell went on in here.

I didn’t think Kaufman and Kristoff could do any better than Illuminae. Illuminae was bad-ass and just bloody perfect. I am always scared when I learn that sequels won’t be in the same POV as the original book just because I became invested in the original characters. However, Gemina blew Illuminae out of the water in terms of EVERYTHING including characters. I don’t think you could get better protagonists than Nik and Hanna. Hanna was the epitome of bad-ass heroines. She reminded me of Celaena from Throne of Glass but a lot better in my opinion. And Nik. Ahh Nik. The ultimate bad-boy yet good guy. I was obsessed with him from page 1 onwards and now I can’t stop thinking about him. I can’t talk about great characters in Gemina without mentioning Ella, the most fantastic bad-ass sassy teenager. She reminded me a lot of Felicity Smoak from Arrow and that makes me so happy because Felicity Smoak is one of my ultimate favourite characters ever.

This book felt like one big action-packed chase and that’s what I loved. I was on the edge of my seat throughout and I just couldn’t turn the pages quick enough. Plot twist after plot twist,  heartbreak after heartbreak, I felt it all. I didn’t even have time to fully process everything because I just needed to know more and more. The authors kept shocking me with every single decision they made. I couldn’t see any of the plot twists coming. I just got lost within this book with no way out.

So in short, Gemina blows Illuminae out of the game with just how perfect it is. On the list of perfect sequels, this would be near the top. I need the third book now and I can’t believe I have to wait until next October for the next one. If you haven’t picked up Illuminae, do it now. Don’t think about how big it is, you will fly through so quickly you won’t even realise. And to everyone who is patiently waiting the release of Gemina, you guys are in for a treat.

 

Leave a Reply

