August Wrap Up

I hate the fact that August is over because that means September is coming which means college is back on. This month was a mix. I read quite a bit but I watched basically nothing. I got my AS results and did my theory test(failed it). I went out quite a bit with my family. So it was a mix of a month so it’s that time when I tell you what I did this month.

Read:

25486998The first book I finished this month was P.S I Like You by Kasie West, which is the latest book by one of my favourite authors so obviously, I had to pick it up. This book follows Lily who starts writing lyrics on the table in her Chemistry class and then someone starts writing back. They quickly form a bond but she then finds out that it’s the one person she hates the most. I really loved this book. Lily and Cade were amazing characters as were all of the side characters. The romance was adorable but I did want some more adorably cute moments but I still gave it 5 out of 5 stars. Kasie West’s books are must reads if you love YA romance.

31303411I then read The King of Rats by Melinda Salisbury which is a short story in the Sin Eater’s Daughter trilogy. We all know that I love this trilogy a lot so when I saw this at YALC, I immediately picked it up. I read it all in one sitting and it was amazing. Mel has created such an addictive world with such interesting characters. This story follows the Sleeping Prince who is the villain in the story and I just love the way Mel writes villains. Of course, I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

25721422Next, I read Waiting for Callback by Perdita and Honor Cargill which follows a 15 year old girl called Elektra as she gets an agent and gets into the acting world. I’m not going to talk much about it because I did do a full review of it but just know that I did really enjoy it and I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Next, I read Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven which follows holding upLibby, an overweight teenager who is rejoining school after being homeschooled. There she meets Jack, who can’t recognise and remember people’s faces. I enjoyed this book. It was good for sure but not as good as All the Bright Places but I will hopefully maybe be doing a full review on it, if I ever get around to it. I can see why some may see this book as problematic but I enjoyed it so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

25648276After that, I picked up Unboxed by Non Pratt which is about four teenagers who come together after several months apart. In previous years, they had put together a time capsule about their best summer with a friend who was dying. Now that their friend has passed, they reunite to open the box. It was such a beautiful book. It’s only around 150 pages but it’s so emotionally beautiful. I loved everything about it and I just want more. You should all definitely read this book. I definitely gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Then I read It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover which tells the story of Lily and Ryle’s 27362503relationship. I don’t really know what else to say about it without spoiling it but just note that this is not a light-hearted happy romance book. It’s a dark, emotional and sometimes depressing read but it is so good. Colleen Hoover dealt with the topic at heart really well and made the internal conflict in Lily obvious and relatable. I began to question my opinions on situations like Lily’s and I started placing myself in her shoes to see what I would do. I had to give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

25206843After that, I decided to pick up all of the books in the Backstage Pass companion novel series which were Aimee and the Hearthrob by Ophelia London, Mia and the Bad Boy by Lisa Burstein, Daisy and the Front Man by Rebekah L Purdy, Anya and the Shy Guy by Suze Winegardner and Abby and the Cute One by Erin Butler. They all tell the love stories of the 5 members of Seconds to Juliet, a boyband. I quite enjoyed them all as they were cute, fun reads. I did find that there was a similar structure style between all 5 of them but that was fine with me. I gave every one of them 4 stars.

29740718Next, I finally read What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne which is the final book in the Spinster Club trilogy. This book follows Lottie who decides that for one month, she is going to call out every act of sexism that she encounters. This trilogy is amazing as was this book. I loved the way that this book dealt with feminism and how not every feminist is perfect. This book taught me a lot about feminism and I loved that. However, it wasn’t just an information dump. It was entertaining and educational at the same time. This was probably my least favourite book in the trilogy because I don’t like Lottie as much as I liked the other two girls but it’s still amazing. It’s definitely a 5 star read.

30824193After that I picked up another Entangled Teen Crush book called Resisting the Rebel by Lisa Brown Roberts. This tells the story of Caleb and Mandy who form a fake relationship in order to get her crush to notice her and to get his ex off of his back. I really enjoyed this book. It was fun and insanely cute. It reminded me a lot of Sky High as Mandy and Caleb are a lot like Warren and Layla in Sky High. After reading the acknowledgements, I realised that this book is actually inspired by Sky High which is awesome because I thought no one liked it. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.

25927107Next I picked up The Blackmail Boyfriend by Chris Cannon which follows Haley who blackmails Bryce into being her fake boyfriend after he makes up a fake rumour about her. I must admit this is the first Entangled Teen Crush book I didn’t like. I hated the characters and I didn’t believe the romance. It was so fake and forced by Haley. I couldn’t give it over 2 stars.

Posted:

It was a low blogging month(It’s been a low blogging year, let’s be real) so I only posted a few things this month:

Received:

I am including books from YALC in this wrap up because whilst it did take place in July, I didn’t get myself together enough to put all of these books in my July wrap up.

At YALC, we got given copies of Kook by Chris Vick in our goody bags. Also, I got given a copy of Waiting for Callback by Perdita and Honor Cargill from Simon and Schuester for review. I also picked up a copy of the Romantics by Leah Konen from the freebies table because it sounded exactly like my kind of book. I took two books along to the Hot Key Books book swap but only got one book out since I wasn’t interested in any of the others. The one I got out was a proof copy of The Duff by Kody Keplinger from 2011! I then went to the Penguin stand and was lucky enough to get a proof copy of Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven. Finally, Lily from sweetlovebooks gave me her copies of the first three Falling Kingdoms novels by Morgan Rhodes so thanks to her!

I received copy of Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi in the post from Penguin Random House so thanks to them because I love Tahereh Mafi’s other works.

Bought:

At YALC, I bought 3 books which were Unboxed by Non Pratt, Inferno by Catherine Doyle and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling.

On my AS level results day, I bought Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton and The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood.

Movies:

U, Me Aur HumThis month, I watched U, Me Aur Hum (You, Me and Us) which tells the love story between Ajay and Piya and how what happens in their lives affects it. I must admit, I didn’t like the first half. It was boring and the romance was a bit of a mess. However, the second half was a lot better and more unique. Kajol shines in this film, just as she does in every other film. Ajay Devgan was okay. I’ve never seen a film of his and I wasn’t in love with his performance in this film. I don’t think he acted very well in the romantic scenes in the first half of the film which is shocking considering that Kajol is his real life wife. Ajay Devgan also directed this film but I didn’t love the direction. Some of the shots were random and it just didn’t really work for me. If it wasn’t for the better second half, the rating would have been much lower but as it picked up, I’ll give it 3 out of 5 stars.

airlift 2I then watched Airlift which is a 2016 Bollywood release that recently got added to Netflix. It tells the story of a man who gets 170,000 Indians home after they are trapped in Kuwait when Iraq take over the country. I really loved this film. Akshay Kumar is an absolutely amazing actor who can do many different roles. This is the first film of his that I’ve watched that isn’t a comedic role yet he still pulled it off excellently. I don’t really like the fact that it focused on just getting the Indians out of Kuwait as it meant that they abandoned the rest of the country’s citizens. However, it is based on what actually happened in real life so they couldn’t really change it. Overall, I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars.

TV:

Weirdly, I haven’t watched any TV this month really except for the Olympics and Great British Bake Off. Most of my shows are on break.

Events:

I didn’t go to any bookish events this month even though there were loads of events happening. They always ended up being on days that I’ve been busy.

Favourites of the Month:

Book:

The King of Rats – Melinda Salisbury

TV Show:

Great British Bake Off

Song:

Samjhawan – Humpty Sharma Ki Dulhania (such a beautiful romantic song)

Movie:

Airlift

Thing that Happened:

Maybe the fact that it as the whole month of holidays!

So that’s it for this month. I don’t know what September will be like because it’s the start of my second year of A Levels and my focus will be on my education. I hope that I have time and energy to keep posting on my blog and posting some more. I’m really sorry about my lack of cool, original blog posts but I’m trying to get back into it.

 

One thought on “August Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

