July Wrap Up

This month has been a busy month full of random stuff. Fasting, Eid, finishing college, weddings, YALC etc. All of this means that I’ve hardly read or watched anything. But let’s see what I did actually do (spoiler alert: not a lot)

Read:

22846823To try and get back into reading, I read the new romance book by one of my favourite YA romance writers and that is Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally. This book follows Taylor who gets kicked out of her posh private school for a scandal and has to join the local public school. She also reconnects with one of her brother’s friends who she’s always loved. I enjoyed this book but it’s definitely not my favourite in this Hundred Oaks companion novel series. I just felt like the love story was a bit rushed and I wanted more development so I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

25447694Next I read Playing Defence by Cate Cameron which is about a nerd who falls in love with the most popular hockey player in school. It’s a very cliche romance book but that’s just what I wanted to read. It was entertaining so I read it all in one night but it wasn’t perfect or even great so I’d only give it 3 out of 5 stars.

29284789I then read the next book by Cate Cameron which is called Winging It. This story follows Nat who ropes in her ex best friend Toby to play her boyfriend in order to make his cousin Scott fall in love with her. It was the typical fake relationship turns to real relationship romance story but it was still good. I liked the characters so I’d probably give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

I then read The Girlfriend Request by Jodie Andrefski which follows Emma who is in love 28356657with her best friend Eli. She creates a fake facebook profile in order to make him fall in love with her. It was an okay read. It was fun and definitely had some cute moments but the pacing and the development in the story wasn’t great. Eli’s feelings for Emma came out of nowhere so it felt a bit random. Also the love triangle that was randomly added in was unnecessary. It either needed to not exist or be a bigger part of the story. Emma was also slightly annoying but I still enjoyed it so I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.

25819482Next I picked up Playing the Player by Lisa Brown Roberts which follows the organised Trina who is forced to nanny along with Slade, the resident playboy. I actually really liked that one. Slade was your ultimate bad boy with a good side YA romance hero but not in the horrible cliched way. I enjoyed the romance and I found it really cute. I liked the added aspect of the kids in the story who added humour and awkwardness to the situation. I therefore gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

On the same day I also picked up and read Not Okay Cupid by Heidi R 28356550Kling. This follows Hazel who finds out that her boyfriend has been cheating on her with her best friend. To get the perfect revenge plan, she teams up with her best friend’s brother to make them insanely jealous and then she starts to fall in love with the brother. I enjoyed it because it was cute and fun. It did have the typical issue of people not talking to each other and just assuming stuff like oh no he could never like me so it was cliched but still good and enjoyable so I’d give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I haven’t been blogging much this month because of being busy but I did post a few:

Bought:

When I went to meet Jennifer L Armentrout, I bought her latest release, The Problem With Forever, to get signed because I had already read it and loved it.

Received:

This month, I was lucky enough to receive an early review copy of Replica by Lauren Oliver who is one of my favourite authors so this is one of my most anticipated releases of the year.

Melinda Salisbury also knocked it out of the park again this month by sending me the American hardback edition of her book The Sleeping Prince, the sequel to The Sin Eater’s Daughter (one of my favourite books!)

I also received two books for review from Hodder Books which are Frostblood by Elly Blake and Caraval by Stephanie Garber.

When at the WriteBites event at Waterstones Birmingham, I got given a proof copy of Cell 7 by Kerry Drewery and I also won a proof copy of What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne.

Movies:

SultanI first went to the cinema with my mum to watch Sultan, the latest Salman Khan film which follows the journey of a washed up wrestler in India trying to get back into the game. I don’t like Salman Khan so at first I didn’t want to watch it. But then everyone started saying that it’s his best acting in his life and that he actually does act in this one for the first time so I decided to go watch it. I really did like it. It had a good romance with a kick-ass female character, Aarfa played by Anushka Sharma, one of my favourite actresses. Salman surprisingly acted well in this but I just think there were too many love songs (I love the songs but just too much) and too many slow motion wrestling scenes. I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Next I watched a Bollywood film that I’ve been wanting to watch since it came out in Aprilbaaghi and this month I finally got around to watching it and that is Baaghi (Rebels). This film is about two ‘rebels’ who fall in love. Shit happens, they hate each other but then she gets kidnapped and he goes to save her. It’s a very fast paced action romantic drama film which is not fantastic. I mean it’s good. It’s fun to watch, has some fantastically choreographed action and dance scenes and Tiger Shroff is a good male lead but Shraddha Kapoor wasn’t that great. It was also a pretty predictable film so I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.

TV:

I didn’t really watch much TV this month. I have however been getting into Dance Moms so I’ve been watching that slowly but not much else.

Events:

This month I met Jennifer L Armentrout at Waterstones Birmingham which was a great event. Jennifer is a fabulous person!

I went to the WriteBites event at Waterstones Birmingham with Kerry Drewery, Emma Pass, Bryony Pearce, Liz De Jager, Sharon Jones and Helen Maslin which was a nice informal event.

I also went to YALC this month!

Favourites of the Month:

Favourite Book:

Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally

Favourite TV show:

Dance Moms

Favourite Song:

Jag Ghoomeya – Sultan

Favourite Movie:

Sultan

Favourite Thing That Happened:

I went to YALC (I’m writing this before I go since it finishes on the 31st July but I just know that it’s going to be badass and fabulous!).

So that’s the little that I did this month. Did you do a lot more than me? (probably) Did you do less than me? (probably not). Let me know down below.

One thought on “July Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

