My Favourite Books of 2016 (so far)

I’ve been in a reading slump for about a month so hence I haven’t been blogging much either. Whilst trying to come up with some ideas for a new blog post, I realised that we are now over half way through the year so I just thought why not do a top 10 books of the year so far? So that’s what I’m doing. This will be in order from least favourite to favourite but I loved them all.

10. How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

How Hard Can Love Be? is the sequel to Am I Normal Yet? and it follows Amber as she goes to a camp in America and finds love. I love this series because it’s so fantastically feminist and wonderful. I think I actually might have preferred this one to Am I Normal Yet? but that’s just because I’m a sucker for romances and this one had a fantastic romance.

9. Starflight by Melissa Landers

Melissa Lander’s Alienated series is one of my favourites so when I saw that she had a new book out, I automatically picked it up and I loved this book so much (possibly more than Alienated). I mean it’s about space pirates and it has a fabulous slow burning hate to love romance. What’s not to love? I can’t wait for the next one.

8. Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

Honestly, I didn’t think I’d like this book. Yes I loved Solitaire by the same author and yes everyone and their mother had fallen in love with this book. But it didn’t have any romance. And yes it may be annoying and cliche but romance in books is my favourite thing. But I was really pleasantly surprised that I ended up loving it so much even without romance. I loved the characters and the message it sent. If you’re currently in the education system and hate it, read this book.

7. Vendetta/Inferno by Catherine Doyle

(I’m combining these two books into one as it is one series). I was also sceptical of this series. I don’t like Romeo and Juliet and this is a Romeo and Juliet story so I put it off for over a year. But then I read it and got sucked into it. I couldn’t stop reading and reading and reading. And after the way the love story seems like it’s going in the second book, I can’t wait for the finale.

6. The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout

I haven’t read many Jennifer L Armentrout books but the cover alone for this new one drew me in and I absolutely fell head over heels in love with it. I’ve already read it twice. It’s a romantic book with a fabulous romance and it also deals with child abuse as a topic. I loved this book.

5. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

This was my first Colleen Hoover book and I do not regret it one bit. It was absolutely amazing. All I knew about it before going in was that it was a romance and it had something to do with music but I did not expect to become as obsessed as I did. This is honestly one of the best romances I’ve ever read.

4. Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

I picked up this book on a whim thinking that it’d be a quick short romance book that I’ll forget about within a week but boy was I wrong. I haven’t related as much to a main character since Cath from Fangirl. An obsessed reader who is incredibly awkward but Phoebe is still different from Cath. Also the main love interest is obsessed with Bollywood so you know, he’s mine.

3. Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae was one of my favourite books of last year and hearing everyone’s reviews of Gemina gave me the feeling that I’d love Gemina even more than Illuminae and I did. The new characters we follow are just fantastic. I mean Nik. All I have to say is Nik.

2. The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

The Sin Eater’s Daughter was my favourite book of last year and The Sleeping Prince was just as fantastic. I don’t know how Mel still manages to shock her readers on every page with plot twist after plot twist. However that ending killed me so I’m just dying for book 3.

1. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Any surprise that a Cassandra Clare book is on this list? She’s one of my favourite authors and Lady Midnight is probably one of my favourite books by her. The new characters and the new enemy sucked me in straight away. It’s hard to fault this book, it really is.

So what do you think of my list? Any that you love too? What’s been your favourite book of the year so far? Let me down below in the comments.

One thought on “My Favourite Books of 2016 (so far)

Leave a Reply

