June Wrap Up

This month was very mixed. I was free for the first half of the month but then I went back to college. I also started fasting this month which impacted my reading because I struggle to read whilst fasting. But I did manage to read a lot and watch a lot of films so let’s see what I did get up to this month.

Read:

26094860This month, I finally got around to reading Head Over Heels by Holly Smale which is the 4th book in the Geek Girl series which follows Harriet, a clumsy Geek as she gets involved in the modelling and fashion world. I love this series because they’re quick to read and they will make you laugh out loud constantly. This installment was one of my favourites so far for many reasons. I feel conflicted though because I jumped ships as I LOVE Jasper so I don’t even know anymore. I had to give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

28817799After that I picked up Summer Days and Summer Nights which is a YA romance anthology set around summer edited by Stephanie Perkins. I had mixed feelings about the stories in this anthology but I won’t go too much into it as I did a whole review so click here to go read that. I ended up giving it 3 out of 5 stars.

27209626Then I picked up Sunny Side Up by Holly Smale. This is a short novella in the Geek Girl series set before Head Over Heels. It isn’t actually out yet but I received an early copy from Netgalley. It was set during Paris Fashion Week and it followed Harriet doing her usual clumsy, embarrassing things. I love these books because they are absolutely hilarious but you get a lot of second hand embarrassment from them! I still loved this novella and gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

30318306After that, I read Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff which is the sequel to Illuminae. My friend Sally borrowed me her copy as it isn’t out until October and I was dying for it. I bloody loved this sequel so much more than Illuminae for many reasons but I won’t go into too much detail because I have a review for it coming up but just know that I gave it 5 out of 5 stars and it’s one of my favourite books of 2016.

21018154Then I picked up Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira which is a YA romance book about a girl who constantly reads fictional romances and is stuck when it comes to real life romances.  I loved this book so much. It gave me Fangirl vibes as Phoebe was a socially awkward reader and the book featured excerpts from the character’s favourite books. The love interest, Dev, was one of my favourite love interests and not just because he liked Bollywood (definite pro for the book though!). It was a very slow burning romance and I loved that about it. I loved it so much. I can’t stop thinking about it and I need the sequel now. I couldn’t give this book less than 5 out of 5 stars.25664525

I then picked up Romancing the Nerd by Leah Rae Miller which is a companion novel to the Summer I Became a Nerd. It follows Dan, who went from nerd to popular kid and is now trying to become friends with one of his old friends, Zelda. Zelda however now hates Dan for many things that he’s done over the years. It was a typical, fun and cute romance book. It wasn’t anything special but it was definitely cute and I read it in one sitting so I did like it. I therefore gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I’m slowly getting back into blogging so I’ve made quite a few posts as shown below:

Bought:

I bought a copy of Summer Days and Summer Nights which is an anthology of 12 summer short story romances edited by Stephanie Perkins. I loved the previous winter collection, My True Love Gave to Me and some of my favourite authors are in this one so I had to pick it up.

Received:

Melinda Salisbury, author of The Sin Eater’s Daughter,  kindly sent me a proof copy of her book after I tweeted about how I was a massive fan of her books and that I wanted to collect every copy of it because she’s awesome.

Movies:

devdasFirst this month, I watched Devdas which is a Shah Rukh Khan movie about Devdas who becomes an alcoholic after his family stop him from marrying his childhood sweetheart due to status and honour and all that crap. I expected to really love this film because it’s SRK and also because it’s a well loved film. I enjoyed it but I didn’t love it mainly because I feel like it was over dramatic and over cheesy. The storyline and romance also had flaws and it was a bit boring. So I only gave it 3 out of 5 stars but most other people love it.

me before youI then went to the cinema to watch Me Before You after reading the book last month. I think it was actually quite a good adaptation because whilst there were quite a few things left out, that’s understandable with a book to movie adaptation especially when the book is quite long. I think the cast was great especially Sam Claflin(one of my favourites!), Emilia Clarke, Matthew Lewis and Jenna Coleman so I’d give the film a 3 out of 5 stars.

ki and kaThen I watched Ki and Ka which is a Bollywood film that follows a married couple where the man is the house-husband and the wife is the breadwinner and deals with society’s expectations and how this role reversal affects their relationship. I found it interesting and quite funny. I appreciated the topic and whilst it could have been handled better, the director dealt with it fine. The characters just always seemed to have the same argument again and again so it felt unnecessary. I’d therefore give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Next I watched Main Tera Hero(I’m Your Hero) which is a Bollywood rom-com film. It was main tera heroa very typical Bollywood masala film which means that it was fun, enjoyable but had it’s flaws. It was cheesy but not too cheesy. The storyline was a bit odd but it had great songs with fab actors. I really enjoyed watching it and it made me laugh a lot so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

 

heroI then watched Hero which is a Bollywood film that follows the love story of an outlaw and the police inspectors daughter. It wasn’t a good film. I watched it even though I knew that not many people liked it and I agree with them. The storyline was ridiculous because the love story just seemed fake. The two main actors were also terrible at acting so it was hard to watch them do these dramatic scenes. I couldn’t give it higher than 2 stars.

After that, I watched Neerja which is based on the true story about an air hostess who neerjasaved the lives of 359 people after the plane was hijacked by terrorists. This is a heart-wrenching film that will make you cry. The actors were fantastic, especially Sonam Kapoor. I’ve seen Sonam in a few films but this was definitely her best one. It was a perfect tribute to a fantastic real life hero. I had to give it 5 out of 5 stars.

I, Me Aur MainI next watched I, Me Aur Main (I, Me and Myself) which follows a player who learns the importance of relationships. It is a typical bad-boy-turned-good-boy love story and there was nothing really special about it. It was fun when I was watching it but that was about it. There’s nothing outstanding in it so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.fanaa

I then watched Fanaa which follows a blind girl who falls in love with a tour guide who has a dark secret. I think it was a good film with fantastic actors and great songs. I mainly watched it because I love the main actress, Kajol. Anti-hero stories can be a bit problematic but this is one of the best ones I’ve seen. I’d probably give it 4 out of 5 stars.

TV:

This month I caught up on New Girl, which is a show that I absolutely love! I can’t wait for the new season to start.I also caught up on Supergirl which is a good show but definitely my least favourite of the Greg Berlanti shows. I did start watching The Mindy Project again but I haven’t caught up.

Events:

I didn’t go to any this month 😦

Favourites of the Month:

Favourite Book:

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff/ Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira (I love them both for completely different reasons)

Favourite TV show:

New Girl

Favourite Song:

Sun Saathiya – ABCD2

Favourite Movie:

Neerja

Favourite GIF:

main tera hero

Favourite Thing That Happened:

I don’t know actually!

So that’s it for this month. How was your June? It feels crazy to be halfway through the year now. Closer to Christmas 2016 than New Years 2016. Weird.

One thought on “June Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

