Summer Days and Summer Nights by Stephanie Perkins

28817799Genre: YA Romance
Pages: 384
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Source: Bought
Format: Mini Hardback
Rating:
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Blurb:
This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. Includes: Leigh Bardugo, Nina LaCour, Libba Bray, Francesca Lia Block, Stephanie Perkins, Tim Federle, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, Brandy Colbert, Cassandra Clare, Jennifer E Smith, Lev Grossman.

Review:

I am going to lay out this review similarly to how I laid out my review for My True Love Gave to Me so I’m going to give a short review of each story with a rating for each and figure out the average score for the overall rating.

Head, Scales, Tongue, Tail by Leigh Bardugo

I was quite skeptical of this story because I’ve never read any of Leigh Bardugo’s work. I started reading Shadow and Bone but I couldn’t get into it. I must admit, I struggled with this story as well at the start. I felt that the beginning part about Ruth and the river was slightly unnecessary and we could have done without it. However, after that it did pick up and I enjoyed it a lot more. The romance was cute but I felt like the story needed more. It would have been better as a fully fledged novel I think because it was slightly confusing and the end felt slightly rushed.

Rating: 3/5

The End of Love by Nina LaCour

Nina LaCour is another author that I have yet to pick up a book from but I have wanted to for a while so I was excited to read her story in this anthology and it did not disappoint. She created a great LGBT romance in her story whilst not fully focussing on the romance and bringing in family dynamics. Yes, it would have been good to have more development of it all but it’s a short story so you don’t really expect it to be fully developed.

Rating: 4/5

Last Stand at the Cinegore by Libba Bray

This one was really quite strange. I actually really enjoyed it at the start and I found it interesting and cute but then when the whole thing with the film went down, I lost all interest I had in it. It was too crazy and wacky for me as it lacked sense. I did want more romance from the story because I felt like it seriously liked that aspect of it.

Rating: 2.5/5

Sick Pleasure by Francesca Lia Block

I really didn’t like this one. All of the character’s names were just letters and I could not get into it. It was too sexual for my liking and it just felt random, rushed and weird. I still don’t really get it. I also did not like the writing style or the characters because they felt like cardboard cut-outs instead of real characters.

Rating:1/5

In Ninety Minutes, Turn North by Stephanie Perkins

Trust Stephanie Perkins to write another fantastic romance. This short story follows on from her story in My True Love Gave to Me which makes me so happy because North and Marigold stayed with me for so long. I liked the fact that it showed the characters after the ‘happily ever after’ and showed that sometimes there are rough patches in relationship. North was as cute as he was in the first one and I already want more. Give me a full novel please.

Rating: 5/5

Souvenirs by Tim Federle

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this story since I haven’t even heard of the author but I ended up really liking it. It was a realistic portrayal of relationships and whilst it was still quite sad, I enjoyed it. I also loved the fact that it was an LGBT romance but that wasn’t the part of the story. With a lot of LGBT books, the focus has been on the fact that it is LGBT so it’s nice to have a change.

Rating: 4/5

Inertia by Veronica Roth

I was very skeptical of this one. I wasn’t a fan of Allegiant and this scared me. However, I actually really really loved it. It was definitely sad throughout but it was just so cute and realistic. I wanted more and more and more and more. It did confuse me slightly because of the piece of futuristic technology used but I still loved it.

Rating: 5/5

Love Is The Last Resort by Jon Skovron

I really really loved this one. It doesn’t just have one romance, it has three! I loved how all 3 connected with each other and each was cute in it’s own way. I loved the setting of the holiday resort(it reminds me of HSM2!). I didn’t really like the direct address from the writer to the reader at the start but I really grew to like it towards the end. I think this is definitely one of my favourites.

Rating: 5/5

Good Luck And Farewell by Brandy Colbert

I also really enjoyed this one. I liked the fact that it also dealt with family relationships as well as romance. Whilst I wanted a little bit more from the romance and I wanted to see more cute moments, it was still a good short story.

Rating: 4/5

Brand New Attraction by Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare is one of my favourite authors so I was obviously expecting a lot from this story. Whilst it didn’t quite live up to those high expectations, it was still incredibly good and I loved it! I liked the supernatural aspect of it as well as the main story of betrayal. I think the romance could have also done with more development but it’s a short story so of course it wasn’t going to be perfectly developed.

Rating: 4/5

A Thousand Ways This Could Go Wrong by Jennifer E Smith

Jennifer E.Smith isn’t one of my favourite authors but I often enjoy her books. This story was definitely my favourite of hers that I have read. I loved the representation of mental health issues and the setting of the summer camp. I wanted more and more. Definitely one of the best.

Rating: 5/5

The Map of Tiny Perfect Things by Lev Grossman

I really enjoyed this one. It was cute and I enjoyed the aspect of repeating time and finding ‘perfect things’. It wasn’t amazing but I think it was pretty cool. Mark, the main character, was slightly irritating but that’s the only main complaint I had.

Rating: 4/5

So that’s my review for all 12 of the short stories in Summer Days and Summer Nights. If I average out the rating it would be 3.875. Whilst there were some that I really really loved(especially in the later half), I can’t give it more than a 3.5 simply because of the ones that I didn’t like. It didn’t live up to My True Love Gave to Me but it was still good and I’d recommend it.

2 thoughts on “Summer Days and Summer Nights by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Ooooh. I love yhe the layout of this review! More efficient. I hadn’t finished My True Love Gave To Me but I had enjoyed the stories I did read. Summer Days & Summer Nights looks like there’s more fun and fluffy stories! I may have to pick this up. The hardback is gorgeous! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

