Least Favourite Books

I think we all have to admit that there are some books that we just don’t like. It’s natural to not like every single thing we read. Whilst I usually tend to avoid talking about the books that I just did not like, I just thought why not just write a whole blog post about some of my least favourite books? Obviously, this is just my opinion and you may love some of these books and I am not hating on you for that but I just personally was not a fan. (I hate putting that disclaimer because obviously it’s just my opinion but hey ho, it’s necessary most of the time).

The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han

I love Jenny Han’s other duology but I just really did not like this trilogy. I even read all 3 books in the hope that they would get better but they just got worse for me. I think it probably had something to do with the fact that it involved a love triangle in which the girl was constantly going between two brothers. She was also the most annoying, childish protagonist ever so I have no idea how she got two guys to fall in love with her.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Like everyone else, I liked The Fault in Our Stars. So when I picked this one up after, I was incredibly disappointed. It was predictable, boring and it was also incredibly similar to The Fault in Our Stars. I don’t know if it’s just me but to me, all of his books sound the same in terms of characters. I’ve only read Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars but I probably won’t be picking up any of his others because this book just put me off.

We Were Liars by E Lockhart

Talking of predictable books, I also found We Were Liars incredibly predictable. I went into this book in the height of it’s hype expecting a great twist and something so life-changing. Instead I got something boring with a predictable ending. I didn’t care about any of the characters or what happened to them so nope, this book was not for me.

Just One Day by Gayle Foreman

Similarly to Jenny Han, I loved Gayle Foreman’s other duology so I decided to pick this duology up and regretted it immediately. To me, the characters were boring, the romance wasn’t interesting and it just constantly lacked something. I’ve loved all of Gayle Foreman’s other novels so I don’t know why I just could not handle this series.

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

This is probably the most controversial book on this list. I was a MASSIVE Throne of Glass fan after I read the first two books. Then Heir of Fire came out and whilst I didn’t love it, it was okay. But this one was just boring and I don’t think I like the direction of this story. I am honestly shocked that I managed to finish it. I’m not 100% sure if I’m going to read on since this book has already made me wary of A Court of Mist and Fury by the same author but I was just sadly disappointed.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

This is a very well loved classic so when we had to read it for A Level, I was excited to finally understand the love for it. But I don’t. I most definitely do not understand the love for it. I found Cathy to be whiny and annoying and Heathcliff was just the devil’s spawn. How can this be one of the greatest love stories? I REALLY do not get it and I don’t like it.

So that’s a few of my least favourite books that I’ve read. Let me know down below some of the books that you’ve read that you just did not like. Just remember: it’s my opinion and it’s okay if you like these books!

2 thoughts on “Least Favourite Books

  1. I’m exactly the same with Queen of Shadows, and haven’t read ACOMAF yet because I can see the same thing happening again, especially with the spoilers I’ve seen floating around on twitter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

