May Wrap Up

So May is over and with it, my exams are done! They went terribly and I’m pretty sure I failed them all but at least they’re done. They finished late May so I didn’t have that much free time for the month but now I’m completely free and life is good. I did manage to read a few books and catch up on a lot of TV shows though this month.

Read:

17235448First this month I read The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne which follows a girl who finds out her dad is the Republican Presidential candidate and she is brought into the political world. It was a cute book to read one night and I loved it whilst I was reading it but it’s not one that I’d think about a lot afterwards and fall in love with but that’s exactly the kind of book I wanted to read at the time because of my exams. I therefore gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Next I read the final book in the Selection series which was The Crown by Kiera Cass. I’m 26074181probably in the small minority of people who still likes this series but I’ve stuck by it since I read the first book 3/4 years ago. This one was my least favourite in the series because it was quite predictable but it was fun, quick and addictive read so I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars.

23459509Then I read a YA romance called Center Ice by Cate Cameron which follows a girl who moves to a small town and falls in love with an ice hockey player. I don’t really remember much of this book but it was a cute romance that helped me get through my exams so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

Next, I picked up Jennifer L Armentrout’s new book called The Problem 26721568with Forever which follows a girl called Mallory who goes to public school for the first time in her life. She is a quiet person with many problems from her past and at school she runs into the guy who helped her survive through her childhood. I actually really loved this book. I read most of it on the train back from London and it was great. I loved the characters and how they were perfectly flawed. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars and I highly recommend it.

14744489Then I read The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller which follows Maddie who is one of the most popular people in school but she is hiding her secret comic book obsession. She then meets Logan and everything changes as it always does. I enjoyed it because it was cute but I think there could have been a lot more character development and relationship development. It just needed a bit more so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

After that I picked up Three Day Summer by Sarvenaz Tash which 23232396follows a 3 day summer romance as it says in the title. I didn’t really like this one mainly because it had cheating in it and I hate that. Also the main guy Michael was a bit of an idiot and I really hated him so I gave it 2 out of 5 stars.

12649718Finally I read Me Before You by Jojo Moyes which is about a girl who becomes a carer for a quadriplegic man and falls in love with him. I won’t say much about this book as I plan on writing a whole review but just know that I loved it. I was close to crying which is unusual for me. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars and keep an eye out for my upcoming review if I actually write it.

 

Posted:

I’m just getting back into blogging so I posted very little last month. BUT expect more from me this month:

Bought:

I don’t think I actually bought any this month! Yay me!

Received:

I received a copy of A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas from Bloomsbury which is the sequel to a much loved first book.

Movies:

cluelessThis month, I finally watched Clueless on Netflix which is a 90s cult classic and I was slightly disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, I liked it but it wasn’t as amazing as I thought it would be. I expected more. That may be down to the lack of nostalgia it gave me because I know that if I had watched it when I was younger, I would have loved it so I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

TV:

I’m currently in the process of catching up on all of my TV shows. I’ve caught up on the Flash, Arrow,Legends of Tomorrow, The Big Bang Theory, Quantico and Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt but I have a lot more to catch up on.

Events:

I didn’t go to any bookish events this month but I did go see Busted in concert and I’ve already booked to go see them against because they were just that good! My sister also took me to go see In The Heights in London and I really liked it actually but don’t tell her that….

Favourites:

Book:

The Crown by Kiera Cass

TV show:

The Flash, always and forever.

Gif:

Song:

I’ve really become obsessed with Penn Masala’s Antakshari Project. Penn Masala are an American collegiate acapella group that sing in Hindi and do mash-ups of Hindi songs with English songs. Antakshari is basically the Indian version of a riff-off and their version is fab.

Thing that Happened:

I went to see my childhood favourites Busted in concert! I also finally finished my exams!

So that’s it for May. What did you do this month? Hopefully I’ll be back in full swing soon with more posts.

One thought on “May Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

