April Wrap Up

Exams start next month and currently my whole life is revolving around those exams! I have had very little time to do much this month other than work so this wrap up will be quite short.

Read:

HeartbreakersFirst this month I read The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak. This is a YA romance book about a girl who falls in love with the main guy in the worlds biggest boy band but she doesn’t recognise him as she doesn’t like the band. It was an okay, cutesy fun romance book which is exactly what I wanted to read but it wasn’t the best book ever. I’d give it a 3.5/4 out of 5 stars.

The other book that I read this month was A History of Notable ShadowhuntersShadowhunters by Cassandra Clare, illustrated by Cassandra Jean. This was a quick book with art work about every character in the Shadowhunter World told in the language of flowers. Obviously, it was beautiful and of course I loved it so I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I only posted one post this month and that was:

Bought:

This month, I finally got my copy of A History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare with illustrations by Cassandra Jean. I’m obsessed with the Shadowhunter world so obviously I had to get this book even though it cost me a shit ton of money.

I also brought the new book in the Geek Girl series, Head Over Heels by Holly Smale. I absolutely love this series so far because they are fun, enjoyable and quick reads.

Received:

I randomly received a copy of Storm Sisters: The Sinking World by Mintie Das which is about female pirates and sounds really cool, yet I’ve heard no one talking about it. The book also came with a message in a bottle which is awesome.

Movies:

dolly ki doliFirst, I watched Dolly Ki Doli ( Dolly’s Palanquin) which follows a woman who marries men and on the wedding night, runs off with all of the money and jewellery. It was an okay film. It was funny and interesting but not really the sort of film that you get obsessed with. The ending and the songs were pretty shit but other than that, it was okay so I’d give it 3 out of 5.

Kapoor and SonsThen, I finally went to the cinema to watch Kapoor and Sons which follows a dysfunctional family with a lot of secrets trying to sort out all of their problems. It’s bloody fantastic. I knew that I would like it but I didn’t know that I would love it as much as I did. I cannot stop thinking about how good it was. It was full of surprises and emotions and I just loved it sooo much. The acting was fantastic by the whole crew as well as the songs. I am slightly obsessed with Fawad Khan because that guy can act and he is also quite attractive. I would definitely give it 5 out of 5 stars and it’s one of my favourite films of the year, for sure. If this isn’t on my top 16 films list at the end of the year, it will be a complete and utter shock.

FanThe new Shah Rukh Khan film, Fan, came out this month so obviously I went to the cinema to watch that. It follows Gaurav who is a massive fan of Aryan Khanna, the biggest superstar in India (based off of SRK himself) but after he realises that Aryan isn’t the man he thought he was and Aryan ‘wrongs’ him, he decides to get revenge thus making the film a pyschological role. SRK plays a double role as he plays both Gaurav and Aryan. The makeup and VFX done on SRK to make him look younger for Gaurav was outstanding. I personally think this is one of SRK’s best films in terms of acting in a long time. He really shows off in this film that he is a fantastic actor, especially when he is acting as Gaurav. I could not even fathom that it was SRK playing Gaurav. I really enjoyed this film because it was intense and also because it was very character driven. There is no hero or villain as both Gaurav and Aryan are flawed people. There is also no romance or any songs so it really isn’t your typical Bollywood film. I would give it a solid 4 out of 5 stars, I’m only knocking a star off for the slight plotholes in the second half and the action scenes may have lasted a little bit longer than necessary but it is still fantastic.

Civil WarThe final film I watched this month was obviously Captain America: Civil War. I am a massive fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe so I have been hyped for this film for ages and I of course went opening weekend. I think this may be my favourite Marvel film so far and that’s saying something! I just loved seeing all of them together and I loved the introduction of the new Spider-Man and Black Panther. I just can’t get over how amazing it was and I already want to see it again and again and again and again. Obviously, it’s getting 5 out of 5 stars.

TV:

I have had hardly any time to watch my TV shows this month, especially in the second half of the month after the Easter holidays.

Events:

I went to see Cassandra Clare this month which was amazing because she is one of my two ultimate favourite authors. The event itself was irritating due to a few things (mainly because of stupid annoying people) but it was worth it just to meet her!

TBR Jar:

Yeah, no this did not happen this month and it probably won’t happen next month. I may have to give up on this.

Favourites of the Month:

Book:

A History of Notable Shadowhunters

Movie:

Captain America: Civil War

TV Show:

I haven’t really watched any of them this month….

Song:

Kar Gayi Chull – Kapoor and Sons

GIF:

khoobsurat

Thing That Happened:

Meeting Cassandra Clare!

So that was the little I did this month. Next month will probably be much of the same but my exams finish on the 20th May so hopefully I shall be reading, blogging and watching movies again after that.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “April Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

