March Wrap Up

College has taken over my life! This month, I read a lot less than I wanted to and watched hardly any movies. But let’s see what I did get up to this month.

Read:

24638201This month, I finally got around to reading a much loved UKYA book and that was Vendetta by Catherine Doyle. This is the first in a Romeo and Juliet inspired trilogy about the mafia and I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would! I really don’t like Romeo and Juliet but this book was really gripping and interesting, though I am a much bigger fan of Luca than Nic. I ended up giving it 4 out of 5 stars.

25022128Next I read Inferno by Catherine Doyle which is the sequel to Vendetta. I read this whole book in one sitting. That’s crazy considering that I’ve been in a reading slump! I loved this one more than the first one and I now cannot wait for the third book. More Luca please. I had to give it 5 out of 5 stars.

27268882Next I read a book by another well love UKYA author which was Spot the Difference by Juno Dawson. This is her World Book Day short story and the first book of hers that I have read. I really enjoyed this story because I think it had some great messages about body confidence and popularity. Therefore, I would give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Radio SilenceThis month has clearly been the month of UKYA as next I read Radio Silence by Alice Oseman which is about a girl who is a study machine and has her one goal of getting into Cambridge. She befriends her neighbour Aled and she is then torn between who she has been her whole life and who she wants to be. I absolutely loved this book. As someone who is currently doing her A Levels and is stressing out intensely because of them, I related to Frances so much. This book has amazing messages about the importance we place on education and how it affects our mental state. I absolutely love Alice Oseman right now. I had to give it 5 out of 5 stars, nothing less would have done.

Posted:

Bought:

This month, I finally received by special edition UK signed hardback of Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare which is a stunning book. I also bought Radio Silence by Alice Oseman because I couldn’t resist buying her next book. I bought one of the World Book Day £1 books which was Spot the Difference by Juno Dawson because everyone says it is amazing.

Received:

This month I received a proof copy of Children of Icarus by Caighlan Smith so big thanks to Curious Fox for that! I received an early finished copy of The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski which is the final book in the winner’s trilogy and  I cannot wait to dive into it! Titan Books sent me a copy of A Gathering of Shadows by VE Schwab as well as Arrow: Vengeance by Oscar Balderrama and Lauren Certo.

Movies:

bajirao mastaniThis month, I finally got around to watching Bajirao Mastani which is a Bollywood film that I’ve wanted to watch since it came out in December. It is an epic historical romance and I really loved it. The main three actors are some of my favourite Bollywood actors and this film emotionally wounded me. I loved the story and the direction. The sets and costumes were stunning. The songs are also amazing. It was a big step up for me from the director’s previous film (Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela). I have to give it 5 out of 5 stars.

khoobsuratI then watched a Disney India film, Khoobsurat (Beautiful) which is about a woman who becomes the King’s physiotherapist and completely stands out in the royal palace but falls in love with the Prince. It’s a very Disney film and a very Bollywood film but I quite enjoyed it. It was funny and it had a good romance. The main actress, Sonam Kapoor, is an actress that I don’t like but she was bareable in this film and the main actor, Fawad Khan, is very attractive, thus I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

zootopiaI then went to the cinema to watch Zootropolis (Zootopia in America) which follows a bunny trying to fulfill her dream of becoming a police officer. I loved this film. Inside Out disappointed me so I was wary of this film but I completely loved it. The fact that it was about a female character who was going after her dream job and it had no love story in it, made it amazing. It has some great messages about racism and it’s blooming hilarious. Thus, I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

TV:

This month I binge-watched all of Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt in a week and I loved it. It was hilarious and I cannot wait for the next season to come out.

Events:

None I think 😦

TBR Jar:

I failed at reading a Sophie Kinsella book this month so I’m going to run that over to next month which means that later in the year, I will end up picking out two in one month.

Favourites of the Month:

Book:

Radio Silence

Movie:

Bajirao Mastani

TV Show:

The Flash

Song:

Deewani Mastani – Bajirao Mastani

Gif:

I don’t have a new favourite this month, however I have been using this one more because I’m slightly obsessed with Ranveer Singh.

we love you

Thing That Happened:

We finally broke up for Easter and I got a holiday!

So that was my March, filled with a lot of school work and little else! How was your March?

One thought on “March Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

