February Wrap Up

This month was an odd month full of many things. I did a lot of college work, read quite a few books but definitely slacked on the movie end. Here’s a wrap up of what I did do this month.

Read:

never neverThe first two books that I read this month were the final two novellas in the Never Never series by Colleen Hoover and Taryn Fisher. I devoured both of these in one night. I absolutely adored them for many reasons but mainly because they had that classic Colleen Hoover addictive romance and mysterious plot. I am officially Colleen Hoover trash. I gave both of these 4 out of 5 stars.lady midnight

I was ¬†lucky enough this month to read an early copy of Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare which has been my most anticipated read for the last 3 years. I can’t say much about it but just know that I loved it and it definitely did not disappoint. A review will be coming up on the release date so look out for that.

crushNext, I read Crush by Eve Ainsworth which is about Anna, who after her mum leaves, enters an abusive relationship. This book is amazing. It’s such an important read and I loved it so much. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars and I wrote a full review for it so click here for that.

After that, I read the wonderful World Book Day 2016 short story, Kindred Kindred SpiritsSpirits by Rainbow Rowell. If somehow you were not yet aware, Rainbow Rowell is my favourite author of all time. So obviously, I was incredibly excited for this short story by her and it did not disappoint. It tells the story of Elena, who is waiting in a line to watch the new Star Wars film with only two other people. The best thing about Rainbow Rowell’s books is her characterisation and it’s crazy how even in a 50 page short story, she still writes kick ass characters. I’d love to see more of these characters. I obviously gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

how hard can love beI then read How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne which is the companion novel to Am I Normal Yet? I loved this book, possibly even more than the first. This novel tells the story of Amber who goes to America to spend the summer at a camp with her mum who she hasn’t seen in two years. I love the way that Holly perfectly entwines all of her subjects in as this book covers family issues, relationships, body image, feminism and so much more. I really love her novels and I can’t wait for the third book in this series. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.signs point to yes

After that, I read Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall. In 2014, I really enjoyed A Little Something Different by the same author so I picked up her next book and really enjoyed it too. I read it in one sitting which is great for me because I’m currently in a reading slump. It was an interesting romance novel with good characters, I just wish it had been longer so I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

starflightI seemed to have gotten into a serious reading mood because the day after I finished Signs Point to Yes, I read Starflight by Melissa Landers. I’ve really loved all of Melissa Landers previous novels so I’ve been excited for this one since it was announced and it did not disappoint. In short, it tells the story of Solara who in order to get to the outer realms of the universe, she has travel with Doran, the guy she hates the most and a crew of space pirates. It’s an incredibly fast paced, intriguing space book with a great romance, as we can expect from Melissa Landers. I cannot wait for the sequel/companion novel but it looks like I’ll be waiting a year. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

I didn’t post a lot this month but I posted a few, including a random very personal post full of insecurities. Here’s the full list of what I posted this month:

Bought:

I bought a copy of How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne¬†this month as I loved the first one and I couldn’t wait for the sequel.

Received:

This month, I received a proof copy of Crush by Eve Ainsworth which is one of my most anticipated reads of the year! I also was really really lucky enough to receive a proof copy of Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare which is a VERY highly anticipated read of mine! I also received a copy of Lois Lane: Fallout by Gwenda Bond which I cannot wait to read as I love superheroes. I received a proof copy of The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Milwood Hargrave which is just stunning.

I am part of the Rainbow Rowell UK Fangirl team and this month they sent me her World Book Day short story, Kindred Spirits as well as the Waterstones exclusive paperback edition of Carry On. This edition has a cover that you colour in yourself! How amazing. One of my blogger friends Lily (sweetlovebooks on Twitter) was incredibly kind as she sent me her spare copy of Asking For It by Louise O’Neill which is a book that I have wanted for a while!

Movies:

force awakensThis month, I finally watched Star Wars: The Force Awakens after months of people telling me that I need to watch it. I’ve never seen any of the Star Wars films before but I still went to watch this one and I quite enjoyed it. I think after months of people telling me that it was the best film ever, I had ridiculously high expectations but it was still pretty good. I want a BB8 please. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

rahul mehra darrI then watched a Bollywood film on Netflix called Darr(Fear) which is about a pyschotic guy(played by Shah Rukh Khan) who once he finds out that the girl he has been obsessed with since college is engaged, he becomes crazy and starts stalking her. It’s a crazy film. SRK’s character is absolutely crazy. It’s still odd seeing him in all of these villain/anti-hero roles that he played at the start of his career but it shows just how versatile he is as an actor. What a legend. The film was okay but a little bit long and as it’s from the early 90s, the fight scenes were very fake and the films at that time were basically very OTT but I still enjoyed it. I’d give it a 3, maybe a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

prem ratan dhan payoNext I watched a film called Prem Ratan Dhan Payo(Receive a Treasure Called Love) which is about a prince who is recovering from an assassination attempt and a heartfelt lookalike takes his place and pretends to be him. It was an okay film. It was your typical Bollywood masala film with great songs and stunning scenery but the plot was a bit fake? I’m not a fan of the main actor, Salman Khan but he was tolerable in this film. I’d probably give it a 3 out of 5 stars.

TV:

I haven’t been watching anything new this month but I have gotten into the habit of watching Pointless almost every day so there’s that.

Events:

This month, I attended Melinda Salisbury’s Birmingham launch of her second book, The Sleeping Prince. I love Mel and her books so obviously I took the chance to go. I really love her events because she’s just hilarious and it creates a fabulous atmosphere. I didn’t take many pictures but if you want to know more about it and see some photos from the night, check out my friend Michelle’s wrap up of the event.

TBR Jar:

My TBR Jar Challenge for February was to start a new series and I managed to tick this off with Lady Midnight and Starflight so yay I completed it! My March TBR Jar Challenge Pick is:

Read a Book by Sophie Kinsella

Favourites of the Month:

Book:

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Movie:

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

TV Show:

The Flash, duh.

Song:

Malhari – Bajirao Mastani

Gif:

force awakens

Thing That Happened:

I met up with so many of my favourite bloggers and people at Mel’s launch.

So that’s what I did this month! Anything that you’ve read/seen? What did you guys do this month? Let me know down below!

 

One thought on “February Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

