The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

 

Today I am here to share my review of The Sleeping Prince for you as part of the blog tour! Big thanks to Faye and Scholastic for allowing me to be on the blog tour and for my copy of The Sleeping Prince!

the sleeping princeGenre: YA Fantasy
Pages: 336
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback
Source: Scholastic
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Return to the darkly beautiful world of The Sin Eater’s Daughter with a sequel that will leave you awed, terrified . . . and desperate for more.

Ever since her brother Lief disappeared, Errin’s life has gone from bad to worse. Not only must she care for her sick mother, she has to scrape together rent money by selling illegal herbal cures. But none of that compares to the threat of the vengeful Sleeping Prince whom the Queen just awoke from his enchanted sleep.

When her village is evacuated as part of the war against the Sleeping Prince, Errin is left desperate and homeless. The only person she can turn to is the mysterious Silas, a young man who buys deadly poisons from Errin, but won’t reveal why he needs them. Silas promises to help her, but when he vanishes, Errin must journey across a kingdom on the brink of war to seek another way to save her mother and herself. But what she finds shatters everything she believed about her world, and with the Sleeping Prince drawing nearer, Errin must make a heartbreaking choice that could affect the whole kingdom.

Review:

I received this book for review but this did not affect my opinion at all.

If you’ve read any of my previous blog posts or if you follow me on Twitter, then you will know that The Sin Eater’s Daughter was my favourite book of last year. It was bloody fantastic and I’m still thinking about it now. So you can bet that I’ve been excited about The Sleeping Prince for almost a year so I was so happy to receive an early copy!

I must admit I was incredibly wary of this book beforehand. As much as I loved the first one, I was very scared about this one because sequels are often not as good and also this book follows different characters to the first one but it did not disappoint. In fact, I think it may have even been better than the first one! I absolutely adored it for many reasons.

Errin is an amazing main character. My heart was yearning for Twylla, Merek and Lief but as soon as we met Errin in the novel, I forgot all about the original trio. Errin contrasted and also complimented how Twylla was in the first book weirdly. It’s weird to explain. I loved how she was incredibly independent and I especially loved how much she cared for everyone around her. Silas was mysterious, brooding, vulnerable and just basically everything that everyone wants in a YA hero. I’m still shocked that Mel made me care for a complete set of new characters when all I wanted was Merek.

Mel is a goddess at story telling. Her world building in particular is beautiful and just superb. I felt like I completely understood how the world worked and where everything was and the map definitely helped with that. She is also a master at writing. Usually I like to tag my favourite parts and quotes but I was so caught up in the story, I couldn’t even stop once to put tabs in. That’s how amazing it was! She will masterfully tear you into small pieces and you will love her for it(but also really hate her)

If you guys loved The Sin Eater’s Daughter then you will LOVEE the sequel. If you haven’t read The Sin Eater’s Daughter, what are you even doing? GET ON IT NOW. I cannot wait for the third book!

Catch up with the rest of the tour stops, everyone’s posts are amazing!

Banner-V2

3 thoughts on “The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

  1. I reviewed this book last week, I loved it too! I love how it’s sort of like a fairytale retelling…but it’s not? If you get what I mean? Agree with everything you said! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

