January Wrap Up

So we are officially one month into 2016 and this month went way too quickly. I got incredibly caught up in college work as I was constantly doing homework or doing revision for the ridiculous amount of tests I have coming up.  I did manage to read a fair few books and watch a fair few films so lets get into that now.

Read:

DIMINYThe first book that I finished this month was Did I Mention I Need You? by Estelle Maskame which is the sequel to Did I Mention I Love You?. I got sent this book for review from Black and White Publishing but I probably won’t end up doing a whole review simply because I didn’t really enjoy it. I liked the first book, it was fun and interesting. The first half of this book, however, dragged for me and I had to literally force myself to read it. The second half was a lot easier and I read the whole second half in one sitting. But I still didn’t like it simply because of the cheating aspect behind it. I hate cheating in a book. Tyler and Eden were also way too angsty and annoying so I’d probably give it 2.5 out of 5 stars.

facelessNext I read another review book and that was Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel. This follows a girl who after an accident, her face is partially destroyed. She then gets a face transplant and it is mainly about her coming to terms with the fact that she doesn’t look the same as she did before and that as a whole, she isn’t the way she was before. I really enjoyed this book. I wasn’t expecting much as I hadn’t heard much about it but I now love it. I wrote a whole review on it so click here to read that.

the sleeping princeThen I read my most anticipated book of 2016, The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury which is the sequel to The Sin Eater’s Daughter, my favourite book of 2015. I absolutely loved the sequel, even more than the first one! I won’t go into too much detail about the book as I have a review for it coming up in February but just know that I loved it!

Next I read Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover which is basically about 17788403two musicians who fall in love with each other but it is also so much more than that. This was my first Colleen Hoover book and I absolutely loved it! It was everything that I wanted it to be and more. I loved the main characters because they were just so complicated. Ridge was just the best guy to have ever existed and I hate Colleen Hoover for giving me another bookish boyfriend. I hate myself for not reading any Colleen Hoover books any sooner. I definitely gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

ugly loveI then decided to read another Colleen Hoover because why not? I picked up Ugly Love which is about two people who dislike each other but immediately form a enemies with benefits bond but he’s hiding a secret that stops him from loving her. It’s an amazing book. It made me laugh and also cry. But however, if you’re young, it’s probably best to skip this one as it has quite a lot of sexy times in it. I still loved it, just not quite as much as I loved Maybe Someday so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

confessI then read Confess also by Colleen Hoover which is about an artist who paints based on people’s confessions and it follows his love story with a girl named Auburn. I really enjoyed this book. I love the mystery aspect that Colleen Hoover puts into her novels to keep us reading because I just could not put this book down. I also gave this one 4 out of 5 stars.

never neverNext, I read Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Taryn Fisher which has a supernatural aspect to it as well as a romance aspect obviously. Colleen Hoover is officially queen of writing fabulous romance books. I really enjoyed this first part because it was just super confusing and mysterious so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars as well.

 

Posted:

I was terrible at blogging this month! I don’t even know why but after my month of blogging in December, I was just kinda burned out this month. I was also ridiculously busy this month so I’m sorry guys! I did however post:

Bought:

None actually! How strange is this?

Received:

I was lucky enough to receive a copy of The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury for early review and that makes so so incredibly happy as The Sin Eater’s Daughter was my favourite book of the year last year!

It was my birthday this month and for my birthday my brother bought me three books that were on my TBR which were Changers by T Cooper and Allison Glock-Cooper, Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom, Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff and All of the Above by James DawsonI also got the Harry Potter colouring book from two of my friends which I was incredibly happy with because I’ve wanted it for ages!

Movies:

looteraThe first film that I started off the year with was Lootera(Robbers) which is about an aristocrat’s daughter  who falls in love with a visiting archaeologist, but he holds a secret that could drive them apart. It was a good film. I understand why this film is so critically acclaimed because it is different and unlike anything I’d ever seen before. However, I did find it quite boring in parts and also very very depressing. To be honest, the only reason I watched it was because I adore the main actor, Ranveer Singh. He was amazing in this film, playing a completely different role than he usually does. The main actress, Sonakshi Sinha did an amazing job. I’ve never seen her in anything else before but she was really good. I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars.

Next I watched Dum Laga Ke Haisha(Carry That Load) which is set in 1995 and follows an uneducated guy whosedum laga ke haisha family forces him to marry an educated but over-weight girl. I love the fact that we now have films about this and I loved the underlying message behind this film. I loved the main girl, she was unapologetic for the way she was and I loved that. The main guy was incredibly irritating but as the film went on, he definitely redeemed himself. I wish we had seen more of them falling in love in this film because I just wanted more development of their relationship and also they could have gone about this story in a much different way thus I only gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

heropantiNext I watched a film called Heropanti(Heroic Attitude) which has a somewhat complicated story to explain but the basics of it is that a man loves a woman, who’s family does not believe in love. It’s very reminiscient of the 90s Bollywood romance movies, especially DDLJ and because of that I liked it. Yes it has major major flaws and there are quite a lot of awkward parts but on the whole, it’s a hilarious and all round good movie. The two debut actors are fabulous in it. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because of this.

pikuNext I watched Piku which is a film about a quirky comedy about the relationship between an ageing father and his young daughter, living in a cosmopolitan city, dealing with each other’s conflicting ideologies while being fully aware that they are each other’s only emotional support. I really liked this film. I have never seen anything quite like it because when has there ever been a movie that has a man who is obsessed with his bowel movements and about 80% of the film discusses his bowel movements? Crazy, right? I love the actors and I think they did an absolutely amazing job in this film. I therefore gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

the lunchboxThen I watched another indie Bollywood film called The Lunchbox which is about a lonely widow and a lonely housewife who begin to communicate with each other when the lunchbox delivery service in India delivers the lunchbox to the wrong person. It was an okay film. I quite enjoyed it and I understand why a lot of people loved it but for me it was just a little bit too boring. The ending was also a bit open ended as well so I only gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

kismat konnectionLastly, I watched a Bollywood film called Kismat Konnection(Fate Connection) which is honestly your typical fun happy Bollywood romance film. It was fun and interesting which is what I wanted so I liked it. It was narrated by Shah Rukh Khan which was a happy surprise and it stars Shahid Kapoor and Vidya Balan who are two very good actors. Shahid, in particular, was very good in this film as his acting constantly reminded me of Shah Rukh Khan’s acting. The romance is very reminiscent of the romance between Ted and Stella in How I Met Your Mother mixed with a bit of Just My Luck(more HIMYM though). I therefore gave the film 3.5 out of 5 stars.

TV:

This month, I man's worldwatched a 4 part mini Hindi web series(with English subtitles) called Man’s World which is about a guy who thinks that girls have it easy in the world but then he wakes up in a world where the roles are reversed. It’s absolutely amazing. It really does teach you a lot about gender inequality especially how bad it is in India. I love the fact that a show like this exists especially in India, which is one of the worst countries in the world for gender equality. I strongly recommend that you all watch this. Here is the link to the first episode if you’re interested in it.

sing it onI also bingewatched a show on Netflix called Sing It On which is a reality show about collegiate acapella groups competing against each other. It was a really interesting show because I definitely got invested in finding out how each groups do. It was interesting to see how much hard work it takes in order to be an acapella group. I would recommend it and I’m excited for the next season to come on so that I can watch it.

degrassi next classI also binge watched another TV show(don’t blame me) called Degrassi: Next Class which is a Netflix original TV show that is a spin off of another long running Canadian show which I probably should have watched first. It was a short 10 episode season that I finished in less than 24 hours. It was fun, addictive and entertaining. I am excited for the next season to come out, if there is a next season. I’m also interested to watch the earlier seasons, if I ever get around to it. Also why are all the pyschopaths all so attractive? Not fair.

Most of my TV shows came back this month as well which was incredibly exciting. I was incredibly happy about the fact that Flash and Arrow returned. The new Arrow and Flash spin-off show, Legends of Tomorrow, started this month and I really enjoyed it. It’s very similar to Doctor Who but with superheroes as well. I can’t wait to watch the rest of it.

Events:

I went to YA Book Club this month at Waterstones Birmingham where the book of the month was The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey. But we ended up mainly talked about other books and general stuff. It was a lot of fun!

TBR Jar:

My TBR Jar challenge for January was to read a review book and I’m happy to say that I did this! The first three books that I read this month were review books and whilst I only actually reviewed two of them, I’m still very proud of reading three. My TBR Jar challenge for February is:

Start a new series

Favourites of the Month:

Favourite Book:

The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

Favourite TV Show:

Legends of Tomorrow

Favourite Song:

Nagada Sang Dhol – Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela

Favourite Movie:

Heropanti(If I don’t count my rewatches of Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham and Kal Ho Naa Ho)

Favourite GIF:

eating muffins because I'm unhappy

Favourite Thing That Happened:

I turned 17 and did loads of awesome stuff to celebrate my birthday!

So that was my first month of 2016! Still weird to think that the first month has gone already! How was your month?

One thought on “January Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

