Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel

facelessGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 400
Publisher: Chicken House
Format: Paperback
Source: Chicken House
Rating: 4
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

When Maisie is struck by lightning, her face is partially destroyed. She’s lucky enough to get a face transplant, but how do you live your life when you can’t even recognize yourself anymore? She was a runner, a girlfriend, a good student …a normal girl. Now, after a single freak accident, all that has changed. As Maisie discovers how much her looks did and didn’t shape her relationship to the world, she has to redefine her own identity, and figure out what ‘lucky’ really means.


Review:

I received this book for review but it did not affect my review at all.

I did not have high expectations for this book prior to reading it simply because I had never heard much about that. But I requested it for review simply because it sounded completely new and unlike anything else that I had ever read before. I ended up really enjoying it.

The main reason that I loved this book was because I found Maisie to be a completely realistic lead. I understood why she was acting the way she was because honestly, I would act the same way if I was in her position. Not only did the accident have a physical impact on her, it affected her pyschologically. For that reason, I loved the novel. It was completely amazing.

I learnt a lot about medical procedures in terms of burns and transplants which I really enjoyed because it made it incredibly intriguing. I have never been interested in medicine but I found that part of the novel incredibly interesting.

Alyssa Sheinmel wrote this novel beautifully and I especially loved the way that the whole novel progressed and ending.  It’s an amazing story about identity and how the way you look affects your view of the world. It’s just bloody fantastic.I definitely think that a lot of people would love this book so you should all go pick up a copy asap.

 

3 thoughts on “Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel

  1. When I first read the synopsis to this, I wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy it. To be honest, it sounds a lot like some of the books I’ve had to read for school! Though after reading your review, I think I might enjoy this one. The cover is very pretty too, so I’ll add it to my to-read shelf!

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂
    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

