Lauren Reviews Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge

It’s no secret that I love Bollywood and I’ve been trying to get my Twitter friends to watch Bollywood movies for months now with no success. So I thought I’d make it into a blog post series. I contacted a bunch of my Twitter friends and I asked them to watch a Bollywood film that I specified and review it for me, in any way, shape or form. For the Bollywood movie, I picked Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge(The Big-Hearted Will Take Away His Bride) as for my generation it is probably THE classic Bollywood movie. This year it is 20 years old but it is still shown in Indian cinemas. It is also on Netflix so it was easy to access for most people. So here I am with the next review which is by Lauren James who is the author of The Next Together which is one of my favourite books(It was number 2 on my 2015 list!) I will now pass onto Lauren to tell you her thoughts and opinions on DDLJ.

I’ve loved seeing Sofia’s posts about Bollywood, so as soon as I got a Netflix account this christmas, watching her favourite film was the first thing I did. It’s a big one for a beginner – it’s three hours long! I ended up watching it in two halves, which worked out well because the film is split into two sections. The first half is a rom-com travelogue around Europe, with a lovely sweet slapstick sense of humour. The section half is set in India, and it’s a LOT more angsty and dramatic. I think I preferred this section because I learnt so much about the culture – Indian weddings are amazing! I loved both the characters, although at the end I felt like Simran got a bit lost in the drama and became just the ‘prize’ for brave Raj to compete for, which is a shame because at the beginning she was such a strong character in her own right. Raj (as everyone else has said too) is such an excellent character and actor. I’m definitely going to be checking out more of Shah Rukh Khan’s films. A really excellent choice by Sofia, and I’m so glad I gave it a chance. As Netflix keeps recommending me other Bollywood films to watch, I’m definitely going to be returning to the genre in the future!

So that was her review! I’m so happy that people are actually really enjoying and loving DDLJ. It makes my heart very happy.

2 thoughts on “Lauren Reviews Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge

Leave a Reply

