December Wrap Up

December has come to an end which means 2015 has come to an end. How weird! It seems like only yesterday that I was sat at my desk writing my 2014 wrap up posts and now here we are in 2016. December was a month full of blogging and I got quite a lot of things done! Let’s check out what I did last month.

 Read:

All wrapped upThe first book that I read this month was All Wrapped Up by Holly Smale which is a Christmas novella related to the Geek Girl series. I love this series because it’s a lot of fun. It’s so easy to get lost in these books and completely forget about the outside world and this one was no exception. This novella tells the story of Harriet’s first date over Christmas and it was as adorable, cute and hilarious as all of the other books in this series so far. I cannot wait for the fifth book in the series now.

I also finally finished reading The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde this month. I Importance of Being Earnest.have been reading this slowly since September in English Literature and we finally finished it this month. I really love this play. It was absolutely hilarious and undeniably clever. I just loved everything about it and I love studying it. I ended up giving it 4 out of 5 stars.

Beautiful Broken ThingsThen I got a copy of Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard from my friend Michelle and I immediately started reading it. I read 3/4 of it in one day because it was that good. I loved this book because it was completely different to anything I’d ever read before. It was about female friendship and we never really get books just about female friendship. I loved it and you guys should definitely all look out for it when it comes out in early 2016. I ended up giving it 5 out of 5 stars and I may end up reviewing it if I feel up to writing a review sometime soon.

After that I read Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy which I really enjoyed. I loved the setting, the characters, the plotdumplinand everything about it. I especially loved the messsage behind it all. We never really get books about ‘fat girls’ and I hate that because I am not a skinny girl myself so I want more books that I can relate to and this was one of them. I had one or two issues with it overall but I will go into that in my review which should probably be up in January. I ended up giving it 4 out of 5 stars.

Posted:

Last month, I did my month of blogging which meant that I uploaded a post every day. The posts that I uploaded were:

Bought:

I actually didn’t buy any this month, how weird!

Received:

This month I received Faceless by Alyssa Shienmel for review from Chicken House and I cannot wait to get around to it. I also received a finished hardcover copy of Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy for review from Harper Collins and I’ve already read it! Also from Harper Collins, I received a review copy of This Is Where The World Ends by  Amy Zhang which I also cannot wait to read. I also received a copy of Did I Mention I Need You? by Estelle Maskame from Black and White Publishing and I cannot wait to go back into this world and find out what happens next. My friend Michelle from Tales of Yesterday also gave me her spare copy of Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard which I have already read and loved.

Movies:

ram-leelaThis month, I finally got around to watching Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela(A Play of Bullets: Ram-Leela). Yup, I finally watched it. This is a very popular current Bollywood film that everyone talks about and I finally watched it all the way through. And I didn’t really like it. It is a Romeo and Juliet re-telling so I was destined to hate it from the beginning because I hate Romeo and Juliet but somehow I didn’t hate it. Yes, I had a big problem with the overall storyline but the rest of it was good. The acting, the songs, the directing were all fabulous. I did think it was a bit too sexual for a Bollywood film but hey that’s personal preference. I know that a lot of people will end up loving this film.

I then watched another Bollywood film called Cocktail which is basically about 3 friends and the problems they facecocktail in their friendship. I loved it so much. It was a fantastic film with a great storyline. The acting was just amazing and it kept me entertained throughout. I also cannot stop thinking about it now which is a good sign that it’s a fantastic film.

wuthering heightsIn college we watched Wuthering Heights with Ralph Fiennes as we are studying it after the holidays. I really didn’t like it. I found it really boring and the storyline was a bit odd and weird. I’m really hoping that I like the book a lot more because I really didn’t like the film.

east is eastThen in Sociology in our last lesson of the year, we watched East is East to study hybrid identities. I had already watched this film when I was young but I couldn’t remember most of it. It was an entertaining film but it was quite racist and it had a very hyperbolic portrayal of a Pakistani family in the UK.

Then Dilwale(Big- Hearted), my most anticipated film of the year finally came out and I geruawent to watch it in cinema. It was fantastic. A lot of critics have been saying that it isn’t very good but I loved it. They wanted to make a big entertainer and that is what they achieved. It was pure entertainment at its best. I cannot tell you how much I laughed during that film. Out loud. In a cinema, which is something I never do. Yes the plot had a lot of errors but you cannot fault the songs, acting, locations and direction. I’m sad that I have to wait ages now for the next Shah Rukh Khan film.

Next, I watched Finding Fanny which is a Bollywood film about a group of 5 people who go on a road trip to find finding fannythe lost love of one of them. I thought it was an okay film. It was slightly boring in parts but I think that’s due to the fact that at that time, I wanted to watch a big commerical fun Bollywood film as I had just seen Dilwale. It was still interesting and the acting was great. However, the story was a bit odd in places for me but I ended up giving it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

aurangzebNext I watched a Bollywood film on Netflix called Aurangzeb which is about a cop who in order to take down a big gang, swaps out the leader’s son for his twin brother to infiltrate the gang. It was a good film. It was intense and it kept me entertained. It also brilliantly showed how corrupt the police in India are, which was quite shocking to me even though I knew that it was a very corrupt system.

shaandaarThen I watched a film called Shaandaar(Fabulous) which is set during a destination wedding, during which two people fall in love as two families try to solve their money problems through this wedding. This film was fun. It wasn’t the best and at times I found it to be a bit silly but it was a lot of fun. A young me would have really loved this film. Like REALLY LOVED. It also had some great morals in it as well as some okay songs but it was just a bit too silly at times for me.

TV:

All of my TV shows went on winter break this month! 😦 The winter finales were very dramatic especially the Arrow one and the Quantico one.

Events:

I didn’t go to any this month 😦

TBR Jar:

Currently, I’m not feeling like picking something out of my TBR Jar of books because I am just recovering from a reading slump so I don’t want to pick one out and force myself to read it. However, I will pick one out of my TBR Jar Challenge and the one I picked out was:

Read a review book

Hopefully, this one should be easy since I have a lot of them that I haven’t read!

Favourites of the Month:

Favourite Book:

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

Favourite TV show:

Arrow

Favourite Song:

Gerua- Dilwale

Favourite Movie:

Cocktail

Favourite GIF:

gerua

Favourite Thing That Happened:

I met up with some of my old friends from my secondary school and it was bloody awesome!

So that was my December. What did you guys do this month? Had a good Christmas? Let me know down below!

2 thoughts on “December Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

