Top 15 Books of 2015

I love the end of the year because it’s one of the most appropriate times to make lists of favourite books and it’s just fantastic. I love lists and I love books so I always look forward to the end of the year when I get to sit at my desk and figure out my favourite books of the year. It’s difficult every year but I still do it because why not? So without further ado, I present you with my top 15 books of 2015.

15. Night School by CJ Daugherty

I binge-read this whole series in September so I just had to include it on the list simply because it was fantastic. The series kept me interested throughout because it was action-packed and full of angst, just what I want in a YA book series to binge-read. I loved the main character but I must say I did want her to end up with the other person in the love triangle….

14. The Heir by Kiera Cass

Everyone and their mother hates on The Selection series, especially The Heir. But I absolutely love it. I think it’s such an addictive series that is a lot of fun but it also deals with a lot of issues. Many people didn’t like the main character or they didn’t like the representation of the story but I think it’s incredibly realistic. Eadlyn was selfish and flawed, just like everyone else is.

13. Seven Days by Eve Ainsworth

I loved Seven Days. I was excited for this book pre-release so when I finally got my hands on a copy, I read it straight away and I managed to finish the whole book in 2-3 hours. It’s a short book that has a major impact and it really shows you different views on bullying and how bullying can impact more than just the victim. To know all of my feelings about this book, click here to go see my review.

12. One by Sarah Crossan

Talking about short books with a major impact, One was definitely one of them. I read this book in probably less than 2 hours. It is a book told entirely in verse and I don’t read a lot of those so I was skeptical about whether or not,  I would connect to the story but I did. I really did. Sarah Crossan really knows how to break someone’s heart into tiny pieces. To see my whole review of this book, click here.

11. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

I love YA Fantasy so I was completely shocked that I had not picked up this series before this year but when I did, it really blew me away. I binge-read both books in one weekend and I’m now eagerly anticipating the next book in the series. A lot of YA fantasy novels end up feeling just like every other YA fantasy but this one was completely different and I loved that.

10. Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Before this year, I had never read a Holly Bourne book before but as soon as AINY? came out, I went straight to the shops to pick myself up a copy. I was in London at the time and I had two 45 minute tube journeys every day for 3 days and I read the book all the way through on the tubes. Holly Bourne has this way of dealing with sensitive topics in a way that you don’t want to put it down despite the topic area. I cannot wait for the next book in this series. Click here to go see my full review.

9. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I received this book for review earlier this year and after hearing everyone talk about it on Twitter, I had to pick it up straight away. I read it pretty quickly despite the fact that it’s 600 pages. It’s such a unique and different book. I really haven’t read anything like it before. I cannot wait for the sequels. If you want to see my whole review, click here to go see it.

8. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

I was made to read this earlier this year for college and I wasn’t really looking forward to it because it’s not my usual read but I was absolutely blown away by it. Usually, when I study a book in school, I begin to like it a lot less but the opposite occured with ATSS; I fell even more in love! I definitely need to pick up Hosseini’s other books soon because I adored ATSS.

7. The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

I love Rick Riordan but he really outdid himself this year with Magnus Chase. The Sword of Summer was everything that anyone could possibly want in a book. It was humourous, action-packed, beautiful and also incredibly diverse. I don’t know how Riordan does it, I really don’t. I wrote a whole review on it here.

6. Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

I love Sophie Kinsellas’ books so when I heard that she was writing a YA book, I was incredibly excited because who wouldn’t want a YA book from Sophie Kinsella? It was her best book yet in my opinion(I haven’t read all of her books by the way). I loved the way that she dealt with anxiety and I think that the main character was a very realistic portrayal of a teenage girl with anxiety. I wrote more coherent thoughts on it in my review, so click here to go see that.

5. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

I love Sarah J Maas and whilst the latest book in her Throne of Glass series isn’t on this list(I was slightly disappointed with it) ACOTAR definitely is. I love ACOTAR for many reasons. I know that a lot of people don’t like it or her Throne of Glass series but I am a massive fan of her work. I love fantasy, I love YA and I love Beauty and the Beast. What’s not to love about ACOTAR? I wrote a more organised review of it so you may want to check that out.

4. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I read this book in January yet I am still thinking about it so that’s how I knew that it had to be on this list. This book broke me apart. The pure beauty of the words was enough for me to fall in love with this book. Jennifer Niven really does take you on an emotional roller coaster with this book so if you want to know more about how much it affected me, check out my review.

3. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I love Rainbow Rowell, it’s no secret. There is no denying that she is my number one favourite author. I absolutely adore all of her books and Carry On was no exception. OF COURSE I LOVED IT. In fact, it may even be my second favourite of her books(behind Fangirl because of course, nothing can beat Fangirl) because it was a true Rainbow Rowell book but with more fantasy and LGBT so what is not to love?! I again wrote a whole review on this book so click here to go see that.

2. The Next Together by Lauren James

The second book on my favourites list of 2015 has to be The Next Together by Lauren James. The plot of TNT intrigued me from the start because it is nothing like anything I have read before. A reincarnation romance that has basically every single genre in it? Yes please. I obviously needed it in my life and I’m so happy I read it because it was bloody amazing. I also wrote a somewhat coherent review of this book so click here to go see it.

1. The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

Did anyone ever really think any different? I’ve been shouting about this book all year long and I’m always forcing people to read it. It’s bloody fantastic for many reasons but I won’t repeat them all again for you now. If you really want to see all those reasons again, click here to go see my review.

So those are my top 15 books of 2015. Any that you love too?

2 thoughts on “Top 15 Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

