Top 15 Movies of 2015

This year, I’ve been loving watching movies. Specifically Bollywood movies so today I thought I’d share with you my top 15 that I watched in 2015. I didn’t really plan for them all to be Bollywood movies but they all turned out to be Bollywood anyway. This list does include films that I rewatched this year because I rewatched a lot of films this year that I hadn’t seen in ages.

15. Cocktail

cocktailThis is a film that is about three friends and it’s just really the story of their friendship through their arguments and also how they help each other out. It’s a great film that really explains the need for good friends. I loved it a lot because it was a lot of fun to watch and it had a great storyline as well as an amazing set of actors. I would definitely recommend this film to a lot of people.

14. Ishaqzaade(Love Crazy)

This was a random Bollywood film that I watched on a whim because I loved the two actors. I would describe it as a Ishaqzaademore intense Romeo and Juliet because it has a lot of similarities to Romeo and Juliet but it isn’t exactly the same. I didn’t think that I would really like this film at first but I really got into it and then after I finished it, I couldn’t stop thinking about it. The acting was just superb. I also really quite liked the songs even though they weren’t really the sort of songs that I’d like normally.

13. Hum Tum(Me and You)Hum Tum walk off

This is a film that I loved a lot when I was younger. I went through a period of just watching this film again and again. It is loosely based on When Harry Met Sally and it’s absolutely amazing. The acting, the songs and the story all just add up to a fantastic film.

Ainvayi Ainvayi12. Band Baaja Baarat (Bands, Horns and Revelry)

This was another film that I watched during my exams and I absolutely fell in love with it. It’s about two people who start a wedding planning business but then love gets in the way of their business. It’s your typical Bollywood film and I loved it because of that. It came out in 2010 and most of the recent Bollywood films haven’t been like the old ones that I love so much but this one was. Ace songs, acting and love story.

11. Dil Dhadakne Do(Let the Heart Beat)dil dhadakne do

This film came out this year in June and when I finally got around to watching it, I really liked it. It was different but a good different. It’s about a dysfunctional family who go on a cruise together and try to solve their problems. Despite being about a really rich family and the whole premise being a bit unbelievable, it was relatable. The issues that they faced were so real and true.

taare zameen par10. Taare Zameen Par(Like Stars on Earth)

This film was just fantastic. It’s about a dyslexic kid who struggles with school but everyone treats him like he’s stupid because no one knows what dyslexia is. It’s a heartbreaking film because he goes through a lot throughout the whole film but the end really warms your heart and makes it worth it.

9. Bajrangi Bhaijaan(Brother Bajrangi)bajrangi bhaijaan

This was the first Bollywood film that I ever watched in cinema and it was fantastic. The cinema was packed full of people and I was sitting right at the front but it was all worth it in the end because it was amazing. It’s about a mute Pakistani girl who gets lost in India and can’t find her way back until an Indian man helps her out. It’s a heartwarming film that restores your faith in humanity.YJHD holi

8. Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani(This Youth is Crazy)

This is another one of those modern Bollywood films that is exactly like the films from the 90s and early 00s. Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani is the story of the relationship between two characters, Bunny  & Naina at two separate but defining times in their lives. It’s fantastic and it’s another film with amazing songs.

7. Mohabbatein(Love Stories)mohabbatein all couples

This was the first Bollywood film that I watched this year and it started off my Bollywood trend. I loved this film when I was younger(it was my favourite Bollywood film until I rewatched my favourite this year and fell in love again). It’s the story of three boys in a strict school who break the rules to fall in love, following instruction from their music teacher. It’s such a great film that has an amazing moral.

Veer Zaara lodi6. Veer Zaara

This film broke me. It’s about Veer, an Indian, who falls in love with Zaara, a Pakistani and the troubles they experience. It’s a very depressing film. Very depressing but it’s so worth the pain. When you get to the end, it’s so worth it. It’s amazing.

5.  Kuch Kuch Hota Hai(Something Happens)KKHH shake

This was Karan Johar’s first film(my favourite director) and it is one of my favourites of his. It’s about a guy who falls in love with a girl but his best friend falls in love with him. It sounds really cliche but it’s fantastic. The direction in which Karan goes is just superb. I absolutely love this film.

MNIK4. My Name is Khan

THIS FILM MADE ME BAWL. I watched it for the first time straight after my final GCSE exam and that was a big mistake because I broke down into tiny pieces. It’s about a Muslim man with Asperger’s Syndrome and it’s set in America after 9/11 so you can imagine just how much he goes through. It’s amazing. Just frikkin amazing.

3. Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge(The Lover Will Take His Bride Away)DDLJ train scene ending

This is the classic Bollywood film for me. It’s such an amazing film with a fantastic love story. It is basically about two Indians that fall in love but they experience quite a few problems in their love story. It’s FANTASTIC. The songs, the acting, the EVERYTHING.

maahi ve2. Kal Ho Naa Ho(There May or May Not Be Tomorrow)

This is another film that is incredibly depressing but it’s amazing. It’s about a guy who teaches a family how to live to the fullest. It’s amazing. I don’t know what else to say. I’m running out of different things to say about each film.

1. Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham(Sometimes Happiness, Sometimes Sadness)SRK Kajol KKKG

Did you really think it would be anything else at number 1? Of course it was going to be KKKG. I won’t talk a lot about my love for this film because I’ve talked about it A LOT. I even wrote a whole post on it but just know that it’s blooming fantastic so you all need to watch it. It’s even on Netflix now so you have no excuse.

So those are my top 15 films of 2015. Any that you’ve actually seen?

One thought on “Top 15 Movies of 2015

Leave a Reply

