2015 Bookish Academy Awards

For the last two years, I have done the Bookish Academy Awards Tag(created by Bookadoodles on Youtube) for my 2013 and 2014 reads so I thought I’d do it again this year for my 2015 reads because it’s a great way to narrow down the best books of the year.

Best Actor (Best Male Protagonist)

I have to give this to Baz from Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I loved reading from Baz’s perspective because it was unlike anything that I had ever read before. I loved his sass and also how broken he was inside. Baz was just fantastic.

Best Actress (Best Female Protagonist)

This will have to go to Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas simply because I adored this book and how Feyre was similar to Celaena but she held her own. I may even like Feyre more than I like Celaena which is shocking.

Best Cinematography (Best Plot Twist)

This has to go to Melinda Salisbury for The Sin Eater’s Daughter simply because of the sheer amount of plot twists in that book. The amount of times that my jaw dropped in that short book was unreal. You just cannot predict anything that happens in there.

Best Costume Design (Best Book Cover)

This would have to go to The Next Together by Lauren James because just look at that cover! It’s absolutely stunning and I can’t wait to see what the other books in this series look like.

the next together

Best Supporting Actress and Actor (Best Male and Female Sidekick)

The best male sidekick would have to go to George Lovelace from the Tales of Shadowhunter Academy series by Cassandra Clare. I loved how he was always there for the main character and he provided humour as well. The best female sidekick would have to go to Sam from Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan because she was just so kickass.

Best Original Screenplay (Most Unique Plot/World)

I would have to give this to Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff because it was so unique. The whole book was incredibly unique; the way it was set out, the storyline and the characters are just a few examples of how it was unique.

Best Adapted Screenplay (Best Book-to-Movie Adaptation)

I didn’t watch many this year but one that I did obviously watch was The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2 which I loved. My problems with it were the same problems that I had with the book so I think it was a great adaptation.

Best Animated Feature (A book that would work well in animated format)

I would definitely give this to Beyond The Kingdoms by Chris Colfer which is the fourth book in the series. I love this series A LOT. Nobody has read this series and it makes me sad because it’s just bloody fantastic and the series just gets better and better with each book.

Best Director (A writer you discovered for the first time)

I discovered a lot of new authors this year!  A LOT. But I’m going to pick Khaled Hosseini because I read A Thousand Splendid Suns this year and fell in love with it completely. I loved his writing so I had to pick him.

Best Visual Effects (Best Action in a Book)

For this, I picked Acid by Emma Pass because it was so dramatic and action packed, I couldn’t not pick it for this category.

Best Musical Score (Best Music in a book-to-movie adaptation)

Yeah, I didn’t really pay attention to any so let’s quickly skip over this category.

Best Short Film (Best Novella or Short Book)

I will have to give this to the Tales of Shadowhunter Academy novella series by Cassandra Clare. I loved this series as a whole because I loved the characters and getting to see the characters that we love again. I will definitely miss this series because it was so fun reading a new one every month.

Best Picture (Best Stand-Alone)

This has to go to Carry On by Rainbow Rowell because it’s Rainbow Rowell and it’s also a bloody fantastic book that you all must read.

Best Documentary (Best Historical Fiction or Non-Fiction)

Yeah no, I read none….

So those are my picks for the 2015 Bookish Academy Awards. What are your answers? Let me know!

One thought on “2015 Bookish Academy Awards

Leave a Reply

