Keris Reviews Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge

It’s no secret that I love Bollywood and I’ve been trying to get my Twitter friends to watch Bollywood movies for months now with no success. So I thought I’d make it into a blog post series. I contacted a bunch of my Twitter friends and I asked them to watch a Bollywood film that I specified and review it for me, in any way, shape or form. For the Bollywood movie, I picked Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge(The Lover Will Take Away His Bride) as for my generation it is probably THE classic Bollywood movie. This year it is 20 years old but it is still shown in Indian cinemas. It is also on Netflix so it was easy to access for most people. So here I am with the next review which is by Keris Stainton, author of countless YA and MG novels. Without further ado, I shall pass onto Keris.

When Sofia chose Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge for me to watch, I admit I was a bit nervous. I’d never watched a Bollywood movie before and this one is twenty years old and 3 hours and 10 minutes long! But Sofia felt it was the perfect movie to introduce me to Bollywood and I trusted her judgement.

I sat down to watch one Sunday afternoon with a cup of tea, a packet of Chocolate Digestives, and a big yellow notepad to record my thoughts. After three hours I’d written three notes (three useless notes). I’d had another couple of cups of tea (there was an Intermission!) and I’d eaten most of the biscuits. But I was SO HAPPY.
Sofia was absolutely right that Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge was up my street. I just loved it. Sweet and funny and sad and a bit cheesy, but just so charming. And with songs! And dancing! What’s not to love? The female lead, Kajol, is absolutely gorgeous, completely natural and so easy to watch. I was rooting for her character, Simran (love that name too), right from the start. It took me slightly longer to warm to Raj, Simran’s love interest. He’s played by Shah Rukh Khan, who I’d actually heard of because he’s one of the world’s most successful film stars. In Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge, I’m afraid to say he’s a bit of a twit. To begin with. And also later. But I didn’t care – he totally won me over with his cheekyness.
The film doesn’t feel twenty years old to me – apart from some amazing 90s fashion – and even though it is a pretty standard romcom, I found myself thinking about it for days afterwards and wanting to watch it again. In fact, I’m sure I will watch it again at some point. A couple of weeks after watching, I went to the cinema and was faced with a huge poster for a new film starring both Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol and it was like bumping into friends. I was so excited to see them! And if anything they look better than they did twenty years ago.
I love it when you’re introduced to something you probably would never have discovered on your own, and Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge is absolutely that for me. Thank you, Sofia!
Isn’t that great? A new fan of DDLJ! I love how people are wary but once they’ve watched it, they’ve loved it! Do you want to be part of this series? Let me know down below!
5 thoughts on “Keris Reviews Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge

      1. I’ve actually done a whole page of Bollywood recommends( I plan on updating it again this week) and I’ve indicated after every film which ones are on Netflix. Quite a few of them are. My favourite film EVER, Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham, is on Netflix as well as some of my other absolute favourites such as Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, Mohabbatein and Band Baaja Baarat. Here’s the link to my full list of recommendations so far: https://thereadingfangirl.wordpress.com/bollywood-romance-recomends/

        Like

Leave a Reply

