Never Evers by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

Never EversGenre: UKYA Contemporary
Pages: 268
Publisher: Chicken House
Format: Paperback
Source: Chicken House
Rating: 4 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

Kicked out of ballet academy and straight into a school ski trip, Mouse knows certain classmates can’t wait to see her fall flat on her face. Meanwhile, Jack looks forward to danger and girls, but hasn’t a clue about either. That’s until French teen sensation Roland arrives in the resort – who Jack’s a dead ringer for. When Roland persuades Jack to be his stand-in for a day, Jack, in disguise, declares his feelings for Mouse. But what happens when he’s no longer a pop star – will it be music and magic on the slopes?


Review:

Last year everyone was raving about the debut book from these two authors, Lobsters. Whilst I still have yet to get around to reading that book, I did accept the review copy of this book because it sounded like a lot of fun and boy am I happy that I did!

We alternate between the POV of Mouse and the POV of Jack and I loved this style! Mouse is a great character who represents a 14 year old girl perfectly. Whilst most people probably won’t like her because she lies about her life to impress people, I completely identified with her as a character because many times in my teenage years, I have lied to some people to try and be friends with them(and then realised what an idiot I am!). I loved hearing about her story and everything that she had been through.

Originally, I didn’t like Jack and his friends. Their view of women was horrible to me but when I thought about it more, they accurately represented teenage boys and as time went on, I really liked Jack as he opened up more and became more confident.

This review is short and sweet just like the book! It is the type of novel that you read in a day and it will entertain you greatly. The two authors work amazingly together to produce a fun and entertaining novel and I can’t wait to see what else they do together.

 

3 thoughts on “Never Evers by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

  1. This sounds pretty good and I get what you mean about the pretending to be someone else in the hope certain people would like you. I mean, at some point, we must have all bent the truth a little 🙂 I definitely have and I was still really uncool. Haha!
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

