Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame

 

I received this book in exchange for an honest review but this did not affect my review at all.

DIMILYGenre: YA Romance
Pages: 421
Publisher: Black and White
Format: Paperback
Source: Review Copy
Rating: 4 stars
Buy the book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

When sixteen-year-old Eden Munro agrees to spend the summer with her estranged father in the beachfront city of Santa Monica, California, she has no idea what she’s letting herself in for. Eden’s parents are divorced and have gone their separate ways, and now her father has a brand new family. For Eden, this means she’s about to meet three new step-brothers. The eldest of the three is Tyler Bruce, a troubled teenager with a short temper and a huge ego. Complete polar opposites, Eden quickly finds herself thrust into a world full of new experiences as Tyler’s group of friends take her under their wing. But the one thing she just can’t understand is Tyler, and the more she presses to figure out the truth about him, the more she finds herself falling for the one person she shouldn’t – her step-brother.

Throw in Tyler’s clingy girlfriend and a guy who has his eyes set on Eden, and there’s secrets, lies and a whole lot of drama. But how can Eden keep her feelings under control? And can she ever work out the truth about Tyler?

Did I Mention I Love You is the first book in the phenomenal DIMILY trilogy, following the lives of Eden Munro and Tyler Bruce as they try to find their way in an increasingly confusing world.

Review:

If you know me at all then you would know that I’m a sucker for YA romances. I could read them all year around but recently, I’ve fallen into another one of my reading moods in which all I want to do is read romance books(this happens every few months). Recently all I’ve heard about on Twitter is this book. Everyone has been fangirling and raving about DIMILY and saying how amazing it is so I requested it for review because it sounded like the perfect book for me and I loved it.

I always find it incredibly hard to review romance books because I go into them just for fun so I don’t look at them from a review perspective. With DIMILY, I read the whole book in one day so it’s also very hard to review because of that. But I’ll try…

Eden was a great main character to follow. I loved how she was flawed. She wasn’t this perfect girl that changed everyone’s lives. She had issues so she seemed even more realistic. I do wish that we had explored her problems more as I felt like the book focused a lot on Tyler’s problems but not hers but maybe the other two books in this series will deal more with hers. Tyler was a character that I occasionally liked but I did have problems with him from the get go. I didn’t agree with his attitude and the way he acted but I understood why. Together, they were cute and I did ship them but not a lot. To be perfectly honest, I really shipped Eden with Dean because that whole 5 dollar thing was frikkin adorable.

It was so easy to get completely immersed in this world as Estelle Maskame’s writing was very easy to follow meaning that the story flowed perfectly. I cared a lot about what was happening and I couldn’t put the book down. I am now eagerly anticipating getting my hands on the second book in this trilogy because I just want to know what happens next. By the time the third one comes out, I may have lost all interest in these two characters simply because unless the second book ends on a massive cliffhanger, I won’t want to wait AGES for the next book but I guess I’ll have to see once I read the second one.

I recommend this book for any fans of cute YA romances. It’s not my favourite YA romance book out there but it is a very good one.

One thought on “Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame

Leave a Reply

