October Wrap Up

So another month is over. I was kind of out of it this month. I had no idea what was happening in my life and I have no idea where the time went. I’m sitting here right now but I’m still struggling to think about what I actually did this month besides college work! Well, let’s find out what I did do..

Books I Read:

The Fiery TrialThe first book that I read this month was a novella in the Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy series and this one was The Fiery Trial by Cassandra Clare. This one is one of my favourites in the series because it was really interesting. It was full of action and you also learnt a lot more about the Shadowhunter world. I gave this one 5 out of 5 stars.

Next I read my most anticipated release of the year and that was Carry On by Rainbow Rowell.  I was very scaredCarry On to read this book but it turned out to be absolutely amazing! I loved everything single thing about it! I could talk about it for ages but I won’t because I did a whole review on it so if you want to find out more, click here to go to my review. I definitely gave the book 5 out of 5 stars!

A Monster CallsI then read my first ever Patrick Ness novel and that was A Monster Calls. This is his shortest book and he wrote it from Siobhan Dowd’s idea. I loved this novel. It was short yet gripping. I was interested to know what would happen next and despite having monsters and the supernatural, it made me very emotional and it dealt with a lot of big realistic issues. I think every child especially should read this. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

The next book that I read this month was my TBR Jar pick for September and that was RememberRemember Me Me? by Sophie Kinsella. I have enjoyed every book of Kinsella’s that I have read so far and this book was no exception. I love her witty writing style because it means that you can’t stop smiling throughout her novels. Remember Me? had less of a romantic feeling to it which I did miss but the book still gripped me and kept me interested throughout so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

DIMILYThen yesterday,  I read the whole of Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame in one sitting. This is a YA romance that everyone has been talking about recently so I just had to get it and read it. I ended up really enjoying it and I became completely enthralled in the whole story, I couldn’t put it down. I won’t say much because a whole review will be up soon but for now, just know that I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Posts I Posted:

This month I posted a lot less than I usually do but I managed to get a few up. I uploaded:

Books I Got:

This month I got three books for review. The first book that I got this month was from My Kinda Book and that was Carry On by Rainbow Rowell which was my most anticipated book of the year. I loved everything about this book so I’m very grateful that they sent me a copy. Next I got sent a copy of Horrorgami by Paper Dandy. I’ve never done Origami before but I accepted it for review because I’ve always wanted to try it out. I haven’t had a chance yet but I’ll get around to it soon. I also requested a book for review this month and that was Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame. This book has been all over my Twitter for the last month or so and I love YA Romance so I asked for it for review and I’m hoping that I’ll love it.

IMG_1305

The first book that I bought this month was Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by JK Rowling, the illustrated edition. I spent a long time debating whether or not to buy it but in the end, I caved and bought it because it’s beautiful. I then bought a book at YAShot which was Panther by David Owen. I have wanted to read this book for ages so when I saw him there, I decided to finally buy it and get it signed and now I can’t wait to read it.

IMG_1307

Watching/Listening To:

we are familyThe first film I watched was a Bollywood movie called We Are Family which is about a divorced mother of three children who runs a happy household – until her former husband brings his new career-oriented girlfriend into the picture.  This film is brilliant. It made me very very sad. I had to sit in bed and cry for a while because it is that depressing. However, it’s amazing. The actors are superb and just the whole film was brilliant.

I then watched another Bollywood film called Mary Kom which is a real life Mary Komreenactment film about an Indian boxer and her struggles in life. I enjoyed this film but I did find it to be slightly boring. The acting was good and the story was also interesting but it didn’t keep me interested throughout. Priyanka Chopra was great in it though.

salaam namaste oohhNext I watched a film called Salaam Namaste(Salute Hello) which is another film that I watched when I was young. It is basically a love story between two Indians in Melbourne but it gets a lot more complicated than that. I really like this film. The two main actors, Saif Ali Khan and Preity Zinta, are two of my favourites and they were brilliant in this. It wasn’t your typical love story and that’s what I loved. The songs are also amazing!

I then went to the cinema with my friends to watch The Martian. I wasn’t very excited to watch this film however Ithe martian actually really enjoyed it. It turned out to be really interesting and quite funny. I haven’t read the book and I probably won’t now but it was a really good film.

Events I Attended:

The only event I went to this month was YAShot in London. This was a scary event for me because I went into London for the first time without my family but it was really worth it. This event was absolutely amazing. 71 YA and MG authors all together with a lot of amazing panels and signings. I absolutely adored this event, it was tiring but amazing. I may or may not do a full wrap up, I’m still deciding.

Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge:

I actually ticked one off this month! I read a book that my mum loves which was Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella. I’m one step closer to ticking them all off but I probably won’t get there.

Next Month’s TBR Pick:

I actually read and finished my book for this month so I’m incredibly proud of myself! My TBR Jar pick for November is:

IMG_1303

I am incredibly excited to pick up this book! I have heard nothing but good things about it ever since it came out in February and I have no idea why I haven’t picked it up yet. I have yet to read a V.E. Schwab book but she is a very well loved author, so I’m sure I’ll love this book too.

Favourites of the Month:

Favourite Book:

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell for sure!

Favourite TV show:

The Flash came back so of course, it’s the Flash.

Favourite Song:

What’s Goin On? from Salaam Namaste

Favourite Movie:

We Are Family

Favourite GIF:

salaam namaste oohh

Favourite Thing That Happened:

Definitely going to YAShot!

So that was my October! I’m going to try get back into a schedule soon so that I can read and blog more so bare with me guys!

3 thoughts on “October Wrap Up

  1. Oooh I loved this post so much! I think your TBR jar idea is so brilliant (I could definitely do with making a start on my TBR pile…) and I’m so jealous that you’ve got a copy of HP – those pictures are SO beautiful! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

