Sophie Reviews Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge

It’s no secret that I love Bollywood and I’ve been trying to get my Twitter friends to watch Bollywood movies for months now with no success. So I thought I’d make it into a blog post series. I contacted a bunch of my Twitter friends and I asked them to watch a Bollywood film that I specified and review it for me, in any way, shape or form. For the Bollywood movie, I picked Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge(The Lover Will Take Away His Bride) as for my generation it is probably THE classic Bollywood movie. This year it is 20 years old but it is still shown in Indian cinemas. It is also on Netflix so it was easy to access for most people. So here I am with the first review which is from Sophie Houghton who is a blogger at Sophie Reads YA. Without further ado, I’ll pass onto Sophie.

Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge is the first Bollywood film I have ever watched, and I don’t think it’ll be my last. It’s a love story about two young Indians, living in London, who meet during a trip to Europe. As they slowly fall in love, they know that they have obstacles to face, mainly the fact that Simran is engaged to a man she has never met, and is due to marry and move to India after her trip. Not to let this get in the way of his love for Simran, Raj follows her to India, in the hopes of stopping the wedding, and marrying her himself – but only with the blessing of her parents.

Though the film is 20 years old this year, it is timeless. Honestly, I could have imagined it happening today, if not for the somewhat simply special effects – though the fight scenes were amazing, even with it being obviously staged. Raj and Simran’s story is not just one of romance; the familial relationships between them and their respective families were truly wonderful. I don’t know much about Indian customs and traditions, but I do know that respect for your elders plays a big role, and this was shown throughout the entire film. Though the main characters could’ve done some things easier (i.e. eloping, etc.), they were very respectful of their customs, and would not go against any of these.

For a movie that is over three hours long, I thought I would’ve had areas of it that I disliked, or thought were a tad boring – this was not the case. Rather, it seemed like the story progressed at a natural rate, and nothing was rushed. It was also split into two parts, with an intermission between them. The beginning was the slow build up of their love, with Simran and Raj meeting, going on their European tour, and falling in love. The second part, by far my favourite, was of them in India, knowing they love each other, but can’t do anything about it, just yet. I really felt like the audience was immersed in the story, as if we were also present during all of events.

I’m really glad that Sofia introduced me to this movie, and can’t wait to see more of her expert recommendations of Bollywood films!

 

Isn’t that great?! I’m so happy that Sophie loved this film because it is one of my absolute favourites! I can’t wait to see what she thinks of some of my other favourites! Do you want to be a part of this blog series, let me know down below!

One thought on “Sophie Reviews Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge

Leave a Reply

