September Wrap Up

Why is this year going so quickly? How are we already at October?! This month flew by in a blur but I did manage to read quite a lot and watch a lot as well despite going to a new college.  Read on to find out more about what I did this month.

Books I Read:

queen of shadowsThe first book I read this month was Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas which is the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series. I love this series and Queen of Shadows was no exception. I loved the progression of the characters and the plot and Sarah’s writing was as beautiful as ever. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars and if you want to see more of my opinion on it, click here for my full review.

I then read Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. This book took me ages to MAEATDGread and I have no idea why. I just didn’t rally connect to the story or the characters and I found it incredibly boring. Greg tried to hard to be funny and it just didn’t work for me. I may still end up watching the film but I only gave the book 3 out of 5 stars.

bitter of tongueI then read the next novella in the Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy series by Cassandra Clare which was Bitter of Tongue. This one was okay but it definitely wasn’t my favourite in the series so far. It was just a bit meh really. I didn’t love it but I didn’t dislike it so I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

Then I FINALLY read all the books in the Night School series by CJ Daugherty: Night School, Night SchoolLegacy, Fracture, Resistance and Endgame. I got addicted to this series really easily and quickly, as everyone told me that I would. I can’t believe that I put off this series for so long. I gave each one 5 out of 5 stars except for Resistance which I gave 4 out of 5 stars.

Posts I Posted:

This month has been quite slow for posts as most have them have been previously scheduled posts but I will get into a routine soon so that I can learn how to balance college, reading and blogging. The posts that I did post were:

Books I Got:

This month I got sent The Blackthorn Key by Kevin Sands for review from Penguin. I also got sent Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas from Bloomsbury so thanks a lot to them. The lovely Melinda Salisbury a.k.a. Mel sent me a US hardback copy of her book,The Sin Eater’s Daughter  as a congratulations prize for doing well on my GCSEs. I also won a competition held by LaChouett on Twitter in which I won True Fire and True Dark by Gary Meehan, the first two books in a trilogy that I have wanted to read for a while so thanks to her as well. Midas PR then sent me the artists edition of the Secret Garden colouring book by Johanna Basford. I love to colour as it is relaxing and this one intrigued me because it is big and you can pull out your colourings after you’ve finished them and frame them if you want to. I also got sent an unsolicited copy of Catlantis by Anna Starobinets from EDPR this month so thanks to them! I also got sent a copy of Monster by CJ Skuse from Mira Ink this month which is a book that I am very excited to read. I then got sent a copy of Truthwitch by Susan Dennard which is a book that EVERYONE is already talking about even though it isn’t out until January so I cannot wait to finally get around to reading it. I also got sent a new beautiful illustrated copy of The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Anderson from Pushkin Press.

IMG_0987

 

On the first day of September, I went shopping with my mum around the town in which my new college is and in that town there were a lot of charity shops so of course having no control over myself in a charity shop, I bought quite a few books. Sophie Kinsella is an author that both me and my mum love so whenever we see her books in a charity shop(which is all the time), we buy them. This time around, we bought: Mini Shopaholic, Shopaholic and Sister, Can You Keep A Secret? and A Desirable Residence. I also found Checkmate by Malorie Blackman which is the last book I needed to complete my Noughts and Crosses collection. Now that I have them all, I should probably read them. I also found a beautiful floppy American paperback of My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick which is a book that I read and enjoyed last year so I of course picked up a physical copy of it. And then I found a lot of Rick Riordan books. I love Rick Riordan but I don’t own most of his books as I couldn’t find the original Percy Jackson covers(the new ones in the UK are ugly) however I found a lot in the charity shops. The ones that I bought were: The Titan’s Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, The Lost Hero, The Son of Neptune(hardback) and The Mark of Athena(also a hardback). Now I just need to buy the Blood of Olympus and I have most/all of his work. I then went shopping again with my mum and we found three more Sophie Kinsella(written as Madeliene Wickham) books so my mum picked them up; Cocktails for Three, The Wedding Girl and Swimming Pool Sunday. Then in order to get an offer we needed to pick up one more book from this shop so due to the limited selection, I decided to pick up the normal height version of City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare as I already own the trade paperback version but it is taller than the rest of the series so I thought why not just buy the book that is the same height. I then picked up another charity shop find and that was a hardback copy of And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini. I found this book for 99p! 99p!! What a steal.

IMG_0988

This month I attended the Book Blogger Bonanza at Waterstones Birmingham New Street and I got a lot of books there. First there was a raffle in which I won the whole of the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare in the new stunning covers. If you know me at all, you would know that I am obsessed with Cassandra Clare’s work so I was incredibly happy to win this series. I then also won a proof copy of Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray which is the sequel to A Thousand Pieces of You, which is a book that I already own but I have yet to pick it up. We all received copies of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows by Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton, Sophie Someone by Hayey Long and Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick. There was then a book swap table that I took some books for and in return I picked up Paper Towns by John Green and a proof copy of Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini. There was then a lucky dip in which I got two books which were Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer and Boys Don’t Knit by Tom Easton. Jim from YAYeahYeah then gave me a copy of Stonebird by Mike Revel. And then there came the book table. Originally we could all pick up two books from this table but then after everyone had got at least 2, we could pick up as many as we wanted. I picked up quite a few. The ones that I picked up were: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, Red Rising by Pierce Brown, Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout, World After by Susan Ee, End of Days by Susan Ee and My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga.

IMG_0917

Watching/Listening To:

IshaqzaadeThe first film I watched this month was another Bollywood movie which is called Ishaqzaade(which I believe translates to Love Crazy but I don’t know if that’s true). The story is basically a more intense Romeo and Juliet but I much preferred it to Romeo and Juliet because there was no love at first sight in this film. It was incredibly intense but I loved it. The songs were great and I love both of the main actors(Arjun Kapoor and Parineeti Chopra).

Next I watched a well-loved Bollywood film called Kaho Naa.. Pyaar Hai(Say That It Is Love) which was the first Kaho Naa Pyaar Haifilm of a very popular Bollywood actor called Hrithik Roshan. It is a confusing and weird romantic thriller film that was okay but I was expecting a lot more from it since everyone loved it. It was a little bit underwhelming. Also there were way too many songs and the main actress wasn’t very good. It was okay but I didn’t love it as much as I expected to.

shuddh desi romanceThen I watched another Bollywood film called Shuddh Desi Romance(Pure Indian Romance) which is about a guy who falls in love easily but hides from commitment. I really didn’t like this film. The main guy was so confused and annoying. The love stories were ridiculous and the whole story was all over the place. It wasn’t very good which makes me sad as I love Parineeti Chopra as an actress and the director’s debut film, Band Baaja Baarat, is one of my favourite films.

The next film I watched was another disappointment and that was Kill/Dil(Dil means heart in kill dilHindi) which is about a gangster who falls in love so then tries to change his world around. I really didn’t like it. The story was stupid as were the characters and the songs. The main two characters are played by Ranveer Singh and Parineeti Chopra who are two actors that I really love however, their acting was mediocre in this film. The only reason I kept watching it was because now that I’ve finished it, I have seen all of Parineeti Chopra’s films.

the maze runnerI then went to the cinema to watch The Scorch Trials. I am not a big fan of the Maze Runner book series however I absolutely adore the films. The Scorch Trials in particular is so completely different from the book but I loved it a lot more. The film was intense and it was filmed perfectly. I found myself constantly staring at awe at how beautifully everything was shot and how fabulously everyone acted. A++++ film. Absolutely brilliant.

we love youI then went back to watching Bollywood movies and I watched Gunday(Outlaws) which is about two boys who have been forced to become outlaws and go into crime due to their troubled life. I enjoyed this film for a few reasons. I love the two main actors, Ranveer Singh and Arjun Kapoor, so I think they were brilliant in this film. I loved the friendship between the two main characters as well. However, the rest of it was just okay I guess. It wasn’t a brilliant film but it wasn’t bad.

eating muffins because I'm unhappyThen I watched The Importance of Being Earnest in school as I am studying it for my English Literature A Level. I have yet to read the play but our teacher made us watch the movie first. I really liked the film as I found it really funny. It was amusing and it was shot and acted beautifully. I think I’m going to love studying this play.

I then went on to watch another highly loved Bollywood film called Aashiqui aashiqui 22(Lover 2). This film follows a successful singer who has lost all of his success due to his drinking problem. He then sees a small town singer and decides that he wants to make her famous. This film is incredibly depressing for a Bollywood film but it is very beautiful. Everything about it was just beautiful. It isn’t what you would normally expect for a Bollywood film but I loved it a lot.

Events I Attended:

This month was jam packed with events! The first event that I went to this month was an evening with Patrick Ness. Admittedly, I have yet to even read one Patrick Ness book but I went along anyway because I thought that it would be really interesting and it was. Patrick Ness is hilarious and at that moment, he was in the middle of raising money for Syrian refugees along with loads of other YA authors. He was lovely but my photo with him kinda sucks because I look half dead after a whole day at college.

I then went to an amazing event which was the Book Blogger Bonanza at Waterstones Birmingham New Street. This event was amazing! There was a panel first of bloggers and vloggers which was really interesting and it really inspired me to focus on my blog a lot more and it taught me a lot about blogging. There was then a lot of free books as well as cake and mingling. It was a perfect evening, except for the fact that I did not once take any photos because I’m a silly little person who did not use her front seat to full advantage.

I then went to a more chilled out event and that was a drinkyamidlands meet up. This is usually done in a pub/bar but this month they decided to do it in a cafe and make it suitable for under 18s. I went along to it, along with a lot of other bookish friends, some of whom I’ve been friends with for ages and some of whom, I’ve only recently made friends with. We sat around for about 4 hours and talked non-stop about anything and everything. It was brilliant! It was so great to get to see everyone and talk to them in a more chilled and relaxed setting.

The last event that I went to this month was an evening with Jandy Nelson. This was a small intimate event with only about 20 people in attendance. I really like these small intimate events because you get to spend more time with the author and hear her talk more. Jandy was so nice and lovely. I’ve only read The Sky is Everywhere by her but after hearing her talk about I’ll Give You The Sun, I now want to read it. Her next book sounds amazing too!

Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge:

Yeah, nope.

Next Month’s TBR Pick:

Well basically, I completely forgot that I started this last month so I’m starting completely anew and ignoring that I started last month. So the book that I HAVE to read in October that I picked at random from my TBR jar is:

Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella

I have owned this book for so long and my mum has even read it but I haven’t yet! I am actually excited to read it because it will tick off one of my Popsugar challenges and it will also be a fun and light hearted read so I can’t wait.

Favourites of the Month:

Favourite Book:

The whole Night School series by CJ Daugherty(I can’t pick just one)

Favourite TV show:

Most of my TV shows returned this month but my new favourite Fall 2015 TV show was definitely Quantico. There has only been one episode so far but I’m hooked and I want to know more!

quantico

Favourite Song:

Chahun Main Ya Naa – Aashiqui 2 because I just love the sound of it and how relaxing it is.

Favourite Movie:

Probably Ishaqzaade because I watched it at the start of the month but I am still thinking about it!

Ishaqzaade

Favourite GIF:

eating muffins because I'm unhappy

Favourite Thing That Happened:

Probably going to DrinkYAMidlands because it was just so much fun!

 

That’s it for September. I had a very busy month because on top of this all, I started a new college. Tell me how your month was!

One thought on “September Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

