Top Ten Unfinished Series

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Topic was top ten books if you like this super popular book/author but after attempting to write it, I realised that I could not come up with 1 book/author that I have enough recommendations for so I again decided to change the topic to my top ten unfinished series because I have quite a few. These books are in no order because I could never order it.

IlluminaeThe first series on this list is the Illuminae trilogy by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. The first book this series isn’t out yet but I was lucky enough to receive a proof copy of it in July. I read it in August and fell head over heels in love with the series. I can’t believe that I now have to wait for the next book. That fact kills me deeply as it will probably be at least a year. Everyone should look out for this book when it comes out because it is bloody fantastic.

Next on the list I have The Land of Stories series by Chris Colfer which is a brilliant series for 9-12 year olds about fairy tales and them all coming into one wishing spellworld. It is bloody fantastic. Chris Colfer is one of the most talented people on this earth. He acts, sings, dances and writes amazing books. As this series goes on, it gets better and better. The characters grow older, the story becomes more complex and the writing becomes even better. I believe that there is only one more book in this series that is yet to be released and I cannot wait.

sword of summerThe next series on this list is the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series by Rick Riordan. This is a new series by Rick and the first book, The Sword of Summer isn’t actually out yet but I was lucky enough to receive a proof copy for review. I fell in love with this book. It was perfect in the sense that it was everything I could have wanted in a book. Rick Riordan is a brilliant story teller who also perfectly includes diversity in his novels which is just brilliant. Go Rick.

My next series is the The Winners trilogy by Marie Rutkoski. I read the first two books in this series earlier this year and I fell in love with it. It is a brilliant winner's cursefantasy series that follows two badass lead characters. I can’t wait for the final installment in this trilogy though I am incredibly scared for what is going to happen in it.

ToGNext I have a series that most people love and that is the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas. Woah this series. Each installment gets better and more complex. It is weird to compare how the story started in book 1 to what it is like now at the end of book four. The characters have evolved and changed completely which I love. I am so incredibly excited for the last two books in this series.

Going off of that series, I have the Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy also by Sarah J Maas. The first book in this trilogy came out in May and since I was a ACOTARmassive fan of Sarah’s other work, I obviously picked it up and fell in love with it. I read the whole book in a day. This series has the potential to beat the Throne of Glass series in my opinion, depending on where it goes in the future books. A Beauty and the Beast retelling with Fae? Yes please!

alienatedNext I have a series that was only just confirmed to be having a third book and that is the Alienated series by Melissa Landers. I love this series because it is so easy to just get lost in the book and forget about everything else. It is one of those series that just takes over your whole life whilst you’re reading it and all you can think about is that book. It’s brilliant. Melissa Landers draws you in perfectly.

Next I have another new series and that is The Next Together series by Lauren James. I think this is a companion novel series but I’m not entirely sure but all the next togetherI know is that I will read whatever else Lauren James decides to write in this world because I love it. The Next Together is one of my favourite books of the year so far and the world was so unique that I had to fall in love with it. The two main characters, Katherine and Matthew, are just absolutely brilliant.

TSEDNext I have another new series and that is The Sin Eater’s Daughter trilogy by Melinda Salisbury. TSED is my favourite book of the year so far so obviously I loved it a lot. The world that Mel has created is brilliant as it kept me hooked from page 1 onwards. Perfect.

The final series on this list is The Selection by Kiera Cass. The original trilogy in this series is complete however Kiera Cass has released a companion novel to the selectionthe series and plans to release another one as well. Most people did not like The Heir however I loved it and I cannot wait for the final book so that I can see where it goes.

So those are my top ten unfinished series. Any of these your favourites too?

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Unfinished Series

  1. I just finished “Illuminae” over the weekend, and was floored by how much I enjoyed it. I’m excited about a sequel, but also hesitant, because I think the first book is fantastic just as-is. But mostly I just want more gorgeous word-art in my books!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the Selection! I still haven’t read the next book but I really need to get to that soon. I adore all of Rick Riordans work and I think I will be purchasing Magnus Chase the moment it is released!! (I might even pre-order it).
    Great picks! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

