Q&A With The Characters of Darkmere

Today I am here to present you with a post for the How Do You Like Your Romance? blog tour which is being used to promote Crow Mountain by Lucy Inglis and Darkmere by Helen Maslin which are two amazing books published by Chicken House.

YA ROMANCE Blog tour lowres

Today I have TWO Q&A’s with the characters from both books and I decided to split them into two posts. In this post, I will be sharing a Q&A with Leo and his gang from Darkmere by Helen Maslin. If you’re interested in Darkmere, click here for the goodreads page. Here is the blurb:

Darkmere jacket lowresA castle. A curse. A dangerous summer.

Leo has invited Kate and a few friends to spend the summer at his inheritance, Darkmere Castle: as wild and remote as it is beautiful. Kate thinks it will be the perfect place for her and Leo to get together – but instead, she’s drawn into the dark story of a young nineteenth-century bride who haunts the tunnels and towers of the house. And whose curse now hangs over them all.

  1. What is the most important thing to you in your life at the moment?

Leo:        ‘Doing whatever I want.’

Beano:   ‘Yeah, me too. I’m happy being with the boys.’

Dan:       ‘Same. Hanging with the gang.’

Lucie:    ‘Ahem.’

Dan:       ‘And my girlfriend. My girlfriend is also very important.’

Jackson:  ‘I just want a proper cup of coffee.’

  1. How do you see your future?

Leo:        ‘I’m going to carry on doing whatever I want.’

Beano:               ‘Me too.’

Dan:       ‘I’m going to move to London and start up my own graphic design company and – ’

Lucie:     ‘Wait – we need to talk about this. I’m not sure I want to live that far from my mum.’

Jackson:  ‘Well, there’s this girl I like…’

Dan:        ‘Humph. Make sure you check how she feels about London before you take it any further.’

  1. What does being in love mean to you?

Leo :        ‘Huh?’

Beano:                ‘What kind of question is this? We’re boys! This is a girl’s question, that’s what this is.’

Dan:        ‘And it’s probably a trap. Nobody answer it!’

Lucie:      ‘What does being in love mean to me? It’s an almost continuous feeling of disappointment.’

Jackson:   ‘Seriously – can we have an easier question?’

  1. Tea or coffee?

Jackson:  ‘Cool – I know this one. It’s coffee.’

Beano:               ‘I’d rather have a protein shake because I’m working on my muscles.’

Leo:        ‘Muscles? Is it a magic protein shake?’

Dan:       ‘I’ll have a spicy chai latte.’

Jackson:  ‘If you mean tea, Dan, you should say tea. Because what you just said sounds ridiculous.’

Leo:        ‘Stop arguing and give me another beer.’

  1. Have you ever felt the need to run away from anything and what did you do?

Leo:        ‘We’re all running away for the summer. We going to camp out in a deserted castle and do whatever we want. No parents, no teachers and no rules. I’m going to build a bonfire on the beach every night because I like to set stuff on fire and watch it burn.’

  1. What kind of person do you think you are?

Leo:       ‘I am the Master of Darkmere.’ 

  1. What kind of person would you like to be?

Leo:          ‘Like I said – I’m the Master of Darkmere. What could be better than that?’

Beano:     ‘I’d like to be the kind of person who has bigger muscles. And a girlfriend.’

Dan:         ‘I need new trainers.’

Jackson:  ‘I think you’ve all completely misunderstood this question.’

  1. Who do you consider your best friend?

Leo:         ‘Jackson.’

Beano:     ‘Leo.’

Dan:         ‘Lucie.’

Lucie:        ‘My mum.’

Jackson:   ‘I love you all equally. Apart from Beano.’

Beano:     ‘What? Why? God, I hate you all.’

  1. What do you dislike in other people and why?

Leo:         ‘I hate weaklings and cowards and – ’

Jackson: ‘And control freaks.’

Leo:         ‘Oh God – yeah!’

Jackson:  ‘I was talking about you, Leo.’

  1. Who do you think would play you in the film of your life?

Leo:       ‘I’m going to be played by that guy who was in the biker film – and the film about giant robots.’

Lucie:   ‘Charlie Hunnam? But you don’t look anything like him.’

Leo:        ‘Well, he’d have to bulk up a lot obviously.

Dan:       ‘I want to be played by –’

Lucie:    ‘Nicholas Hoult.’

Dan:       ‘No, I –’

Lucie:   ‘You’ll be played by Nicholas Hoult and I’ll be played by Larissa Wilson! They were in Skins together – it’s cute.’

Dan:       ‘But –’

Lucie:   ‘Nicholas Hoult! And Beano should be played by Rupert Grint.’

Dan:      ‘Oh yeah – I can totally see that. Rupert Grint.’

Leo:        ‘Personally, I don’t think he’s good-looking enough to be played by Rupert Grint.’

Beano:     *splutters*

Jackson:  ‘I want to be played by Shah Rukh Khan.’

Lucie:       ‘God, Jackson – you’re not that cool even in your dreams. It’s just a pitiful attempt to ingratiate yourself with Sofia.’

 

Ahh I just loved that Q&A, especially at the end with that reference to Shah Rukh Khan 😉

shah rukh khan kiss

Darkmere by Helen Maslin and Crow Mountain by Lucy Inglis are out now and published by Chicken House. For more information visit chickenhousebooks.com 

 

One thought on “Q&A With The Characters of Darkmere

Leave a Reply

