Q&A with the Characters of Crow Mountain

Today I am here to present you with a post for the How Do You Like Your Romance? blog tour which is being used to promote Crow Mountain by Lucy Inglis and Darkmere by Helen Maslin which are two amazing books published by Chicken House.

YA ROMANCE Blog tour lowres

Today I have TWO Q&A’s with the characters from both books and I decided to split them into two posts. In this first post, I will be sharing a Q&A with the main character in Crow Mountain by Lucy Inglis. If you’re interested in Crow Mountain, click here for the goodreads page. Here is the blurb:

crow mountainWhile on holiday in Montana, Hope meets local boy Cal Crow, a ranch hand. Caught in a freak accident, the two of them take shelter in a mountain cabin where Hope makes a strange discovery. More than a hundred years earlier, another English girl met a similar fate. Her rescuer: a horse-trader called Nate.

In this wild place, both girls learn what it means to survive and to fall in love, neither knowing that their fates are intimately entwined.

Interview with Emily from Crow Mountain in 1867 just after she’s arrived in the US

 

  1. What is the most important thing to you in your life at the moment?

Getting to Portland. I have to get to Portland to meet my fiancé, Mr Anthony Stanton. He’s building a railway there. I’m nervous because we’ve never met, but we’ve written a lot and I almost feel I know him.

  1. How do you see your future? 

We are to live on Larkin Street in San Francisco. Mr Stanton has built a house for us and I’m to be allowed to decorate it myself. I think Mr Stanton’s father (my Mr Stanton is 22) hope’s Anthony will go into politics after we’ve settled together. I hope I can be a good wife, and that I won’t disappoint him and that he will love me.

  1. What does being in love mean to you? 

Mama tells me that love is mostly about duty and being good. I try very hard to be good, and I always do my duty. Mama has a lot of headaches, and she says Papa’s voice makes it worse, so they do not spend much time together. I hope that never happens to me. I should like, very much, to spend more time with my husband than they do. Sometimes I am so lonely I could cry, and I hope that after I’m married I won’t feel like that anymore.

  1. Where do you feel happiest?

Inside a book, always.

  1. Have you ever felt the need to run away from anything and what did you do?

Every time Mama has Liza my maid put on my steel-boned corset, I wish very much that I could run away. It breaks my skin sometimes and leaves horrid bruises on my ribs and hips, but Mama is insistent I do not cut a sloppy figure. I say nothing, because that would change matters not at all. 

  1. What kind of person do you think you are? 

I like reading. And animals. I try to be good. So, I think, on reflection, that I’m a kind one.

  1. What kind of person would you like to be?

I wish, very much, that I were brave.

  1. What do you dislike in other people and why?

Unkindness. Dishonesty. Cruelty. And since arriving in America, I dislike chewing tobacco and people not cleaning their teeth with sufficient regularity.

  1. How have your surroundings influenced you?

America is the most extraordinary place! It’s so big, and so full of life and at the same time so empty. I cannot stand the crowded towns which are only half finished and everything is muddy and the people are so rude, but I love seeing the landscape and the huge buffalo and the Indians sitting on their painted horses. That I love very much, and I think the American West must be full of adventure.

  1. Have you ever overcome any fears?

No. I am frightened of everything. But I am determined to become brave, to find my courage. But perhaps I will have an adventure here in America, and courage will find me, instead.

I don’t know about you but I loved that Q&A! It has definitely convinced me to finally pick up the book because I’m a bad blogger who has not yet read it.

Darkmere by Helen Maslin and Crow Mountain by Lucy Inglis are out now and published by Chicken House. For more information visit chickenhousebooks.com 

 

One thought on “Q&A with the Characters of Crow Mountain

Leave a Reply

